RESEARCH

TIGF II Direct Strategies Series 9 SEC Review: $20M Raise, Capricorn and Fervo Links

TIGF II Direct Strategies Series 9 SEC Review: $20M Raise, Capricorn and Fervo Links

TIGF II Direct Strategies Series 9 SEC Review: A $20 Million Investment Vehicle With Two Investors and a Documented Institutional Control Chain

TIGF II Direct Strategies LLC - Series 9 reported a completed $20 million securities offering in its September 25, 2026 Form D, with the entire disclosed amount sold to just two investors. The Delaware investment vehicle belongs to the TIGF II Direct Strategies structure, with TIGF Partners II, LLC identified as its manager and Ion Yadigaroglu and Dipender Saluja named in management-related capacities. These relationships connect the issuer to an established investment organization rather than an unidentified private placement sponsor. Historical SEC ownership filings also reveal that other TIGF II Direct Strategies vehicles have held significant positions in Fervo Energy, providing an unusually concrete record of the broader investment platform's underlying assets. However, Series 9 has its own legal and economic identity, and the September filing does not identify its investment recipient. The central issue is therefore whether the new $20 million vehicle represents another concentrated technology investment, how its capital is allocated, and what economic rights the two participating investors hold independently of earlier TIGF funds.

A Fully Reported $20 Million Offering, But No Public Investment Allocation

Series 9's original filing identifies September 15, 2026 as its first-sale date, preceding the September 25 filing by ten days. The issuer reports $20 million as its total offering amount, $20 million sold and no remaining securities available under the disclosed offering. Two investors participated. This is materially different from an initial notice showing an indefinite offering or no completed subscriptions: the filing establishes that the reported securities sales had already occurred when the notice was submitted. It does not establish that the entire amount had been transferred into a portfolio company, invested at a particular valuation or converted into an asset with an independently verified fair value.

The two-investor structure is especially relevant. Form D does not identify the investors, their individual subscription amounts or whether their economic rights differ under side letters. It would be incorrect to assume that each investor contributed exactly $10 million. Their commitments could be unequal, and the public notice does not establish whether either investor has negotiated additional reporting rights, transfer provisions or other contractual arrangements. The filing reports a zero-dollar minimum investment field, but that entry does not establish that the partnership accepts subscriptions without capital. The actual eligibility and subscription requirements must be determined from the investment documents.

Series 9 also claims Rule 506(b) and checks both Section 3(c)(1) and Section 3(c)(7) in its Investment Company Act disclosure. Those are the issuer's reported regulatory selections. The precise legal basis and applicable investor-qualification requirements should be reconciled with the subscription materials rather than inferred solely from the number of investors. The offering's completion and regulatory classification establish a financing event, not an independent valuation or investment-performance record.

Who Controls the Investment: TIGF Partners II and Capricorn's Technology Platform

The Form D identifies TIGF Partners II, LLC as manager of Series 9. Ion Yadigaroglu and Dipender Saluja are listed as managing members of the manager, while Saluja signed the September notice in that capacity. The issuer's principal business address is 300 El Camino Real, Suite 2200, Menlo Park, California. These details establish a specific management chain that can be compared with other filings in the TIGF II structure.

Capricorn Investment Group's official Technology Impact Funds materials identify Yadigaroglu and Saluja among the investment team and describe the Technology Impact Growth Fund strategy as investing in deep technology businesses addressing climate-related challenges. The public portfolio includes energy storage, advanced manufacturing, geothermal energy, transportation and other capital-intensive technologies. The sponsor also operates broader investment activities that should not be confused with assets belonging to this particular series.

A relevant historical comparison is TIGF II Direct Strategies Series 7. Its December 2025 Form D reported a $20 million offering, $19 million sold and four investors. That filing also identified TIGF Partners II as manager and Yadigaroglu and Saluja in management-related capacities. The similarity in management provides evidence of organizational continuity, while the different issuer identities establish separate securities offerings. Series 9's two investors, completed $20 million financing and later filing date distinguish it from the earlier vehicle. Neither offering amount should be interpreted as the current net asset value of the other series.

The historical records also show why management fees require attention. Series 7 reported zero sales commissions and zero disclosed proceeds allocated to named related persons, but its explanatory disclosure stated that its manager or designee was entitled to a management fee. Series 9 contains the same economically important distinction: zero reported sales commissions and finders' fees, alongside an explicit management-fee entitlement. The filing does not disclose the complete fee calculation, expense allocation or any performance-based compensation that may apply under the governing agreements.

Fervo Energy: A Documented Portfolio Connection That Must Not Be Assigned to Series 9

The strongest independent evidence concerning the broader TIGF investment structure comes from Fervo Energy's SEC ownership disclosures. In May 2026, Fervo-related Form 4 records identified multiple investment vehicles associated with the same management organization. Technology Impact Fund held 12,055,467 shares of Fervo Class A common stock, while Technology Impact Growth Fund II held 14,962,430 shares. TIGF II Direct Strategies Series 5 held another 5,448,761 shares and Series 7 held 1,760,732 shares.

These holdings provide a rare opportunity to move beyond general descriptions of a private equity sponsor. The historical filings identify actual securities, separate investment vehicles and the management relationships through which voting and investment authority may be exercised. They also document the conversion of several preferred-stock classes into common stock in connection with Fervo's public-market transition. The distinction between preferred securities and common equity matters because liquidation preferences, conversion terms and public-market pricing can affect economic exposure.

An August 2026 Schedule 13G further identified Series 5 and Series 7 as reporting persons in relation to Fervo. It disclosed shared voting and dispositive power associated with their respective holdings and connected those entities to TIGF Partners II, Yadigaroglu and Saluja. The filing provides evidence of both the underlying securities and the institutional control structure.

However, Series 9 does not appear among the identified Fervo investment vehicles in those historical ownership records. That absence should not be interpreted as proof that it can never acquire Fervo securities, but it prevents the earlier holdings from being presented as assets owned by the new fund. The September Form D also does not disclose that Series 9 participated in Fervo's financing, purchased shares from another TIGF vehicle or acquired a public-market position.

This distinction is essential because a newly formed investment series could have a substantially different acquisition price, security class, liquidity position and investment objective from earlier vehicles managed by the same organization. A $20 million subscription does not demonstrate exposure to Fervo or any other named portfolio company without a transaction confirmation.

Capital Allocation, Manager Compensation and the Risk of Confusing Sponsor Performance With Fund Returns

The most consequential unresolved question is the destination of Series 9's reported $20 million. Capricorn's investment strategy encompasses businesses at different stages of technical and commercial development. Investments in advanced energy, industrial technology and infrastructure can involve substantial capital requirements, long development periods, additional financing rounds and valuation assumptions that differ from those of conventional software businesses.

Capricorn's own historical portfolio disclosures illustrate the need to evaluate underlying companies separately. Its Technology Impact Funds materials identify businesses that have progressed through public-market transactions and others that have ceased operations. The official portfolio, for example, states that Halio ceased operations in 2024. That historical outcome belongs to the broader sponsor portfolio and does not establish a loss, impairment or exposure involving Series 9. It does demonstrate why a sponsor's aggregate portfolio description cannot substitute for a vehicle-specific asset schedule.

The manager's compensation arrangements introduce a second financial distinction. Series 9 reports zero sales commissions, zero finders' fees and zero proceeds allocated through the relevant Form D related-person payment field, but its explanatory disclosure expressly states that the manager or its designee is entitled to a management fee. Investors therefore cannot equate a zero entry in those fields with an absence of management compensation. The management agreement must establish the fee base, payment frequency, expense reimbursements and whether compensation continues after an underlying investment is acquired or becomes publicly traded.

A third unresolved matter is investment allocation across vehicles. Historical filings establish that multiple TIGF entities have participated in the same underlying company. Where related funds hold securities in one business, investors need to distinguish each vehicle's entry price, security class, voting authority, follow-on obligations and eventual distribution arrangements. Differences in those terms can produce different investor outcomes even where the underlying company is identical. The existence of overlapping management does not establish misconduct, but it makes the actual allocation policy and transaction documentation particularly important.

Series 9's $20 million financing, identifiable manager and two-investor structure provide a substantial public regulatory trail. They do not establish the underlying asset, acquisition valuation, complete fee burden, investor-level net return or conditions under which capital may be distributed. The historical Fervo disclosures offer valuable evidence of how the broader TIGF structure has operated, but the new vehicle must be evaluated using its own transactions and financial records.

PRIMARY SOURCES

SEC EDGAR - TIGF II Direct Strategies Series 9: https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/2151481/000215148126000001/0002151481-26-000001.txt

SEC EDGAR - Fervo Energy Schedule 13G: https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1853868/000189037526000003/xslSCHEDULE_13G_X02/primary_doc.xml

SEC EDGAR - Fervo Energy Form 4: https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1853868/000162828026035968/xslF345X06/wk-form4_1779136247.xml

Capricorn Investment Group - Technology Impact Funds: https://capricornllc.com/technology-impact-funds/

SEC EDGAR - Series 7: https://www.sec.gov/edgar/browse/?CIK=2099140

Important Form D notice: A Form D filing is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission has approved, licensed, endorsed, or verified the issuer or the offering. Readers should verify information through official SEC sources and conduct their own due diligence.
Verification note: SEC.gov and the relevant regulator's official records remain authoritative. This site's research is independent editorial content.