RESEARCH

Third Light KSPVI SEC Review: $46.09M From Nine Investors but the Underlying Investment Remains Hidden

Third Light KSPVI SEC Review: $46.09M From Nine Investors but the Underlying Investment Remains Hidden

Third Light KSPVI SEC Review: $46 Million Went Into a Vehicle Whose Most Important Investment Is Still Not Publicly Identified

$46.09 MILLION FROM ONLY NINE INVESTORS IS A STRONG CAPITAL SIGNAL — BUT AN EXTREMELY WEAK PUBLIC-DISCLOSURE SIGNAL

Third light KSPVI a Series of CGF2021 LLC filed its initial Form D on October 5, 2026 and reported the entire $46,092,001 offering sold to only nine investors following an October 2 first sale. That works out to an average subscription of roughly $5.12 million per investor, although Form D does not disclose individual commitment sizes and investors may have contributed very different amounts. The vehicle relies on Rule 506(b) and Section 3(c)(1), reports no non-accredited investors, no commissions, no finder's fees and only $14,500 of proceeds used or proposed to be used for payments to related persons. Third Light Holdings LLC is the only investment-related organization specifically identified as an executive officer, while Lucas Fox signed the filing as manager. Those numbers suggest that this was not a small angel syndicate collecting $25,000 checks; a concentrated group committed institutional-scale amounts almost immediately. Yet the public transparency is remarkably thin for a vehicle of this size. The Form D does not identify what "KSPVI" stands for, does not name an underlying private-equity manager, portfolio company or partnership, and does not disclose whether investors bought access to another fund, a secondary interest, a co-investment or some other private asset. Current public Form D aggregators also report no matching detailed fund disclosure in the latest imported ADV filings. That absence does not prove the structure lacks an adviser, but it means outsiders cannot independently verify the underlying manager, assets, gross NAV, auditor, administrator, custodian or investment strategy through the normal Form ADV private-fund trail. The unusual risk here is therefore the contrast between very large commitments and very little public information explaining what those commitments actually purchased.

"KSPVI" LOOKS LIKE A FUND OR MANAGER CODE, BUT GUESSING ITS IDENTITY WOULD BE A SERIOUS DUE-DILIGENCE ERROR

A sophisticated investor may be tempted to reverse-engineer the name "KSPVI" and decide that it refers to a recognizable sixth-generation private-equity or venture fund. FilingDossier did not find sufficient primary evidence to make that leap. Broad searches for KSP VI/KSPVI produce no reliable public record that can be conclusively linked to CIK 0002156342, and the Form D itself does not spell out an underlying fund name. This is important because access vehicles frequently use abbreviations, internal deal codes or shortened sponsor names that are obvious to the subscribing LPs but meaningless to the public. If Third Light is aggregating capital for access to another private fund, the actual economics may be determined largely by an investment manager whose name never appears on this Form D. That would introduce a second layer of diligence: investors would need to evaluate not only Third Light Holdings and the Series vehicle, but the underlying GP's prior funds, realized performance, carry, management fees, key-person provisions, valuation policy, clawback structure, subscription credit lines, portfolio concentration and liquidity. There is also a potential fee-on-fee issue if Third Light or the Series charges administration, management, access or carried-interest economics on top of the underlying fund's own fee and carry structure. Form D showing $0 sales commissions does not answer that question. Nor does the reported $14,500 payment to related persons represent the full cost of ownership; management fees, performance allocations, legal expenses and underlying-fund expenses can all exist outside the narrow Form D sales-compensation fields. Until the offering memorandum identifies what KSPVI actually is, investors should resist using the acronym itself as proof that the underlying manager is a well-known institutional sponsor.

THE CGF2021 STRUCTURE MAKES FORMATION EASY, BUT IT ALSO MEANS THE DELAWARE ADDRESS TELLS INVESTORS ALMOST NOTHING ABOUT WHO IS ACTUALLY MANAGING $46 MILLION

The issuer uses 2093 Philadelphia Pike, 5885, Claymont, Delaware and telephone number (360) 946-0604, the same administrative identity seen across a very large number of unrelated CGF2021 Series vehicles. Public filing databases now group thousands of CGF2021 Series formed since 2021, spanning startup SPVs, venture syndicates, access vehicles and funds sponsored by unrelated managers. That history strongly indicates that CGF2021 is a scalable Series infrastructure rather than the investment manager responsible for underwriting every asset. This matters much more in B25 than in a $100,000 SPV because the Series reports more than $46 million of investor money. Investors need to know exactly which entity controls the bank account, signs the underlying subscription agreement, maintains capital accounts, approves transfers, performs AML/KYC, values the position, prepares tax reporting and controls distributions. The Form D names Third Light Holdings but provides almost no public operating history for it; targeted searches did not surface a clearly matching institutional website, established Form ADV profile or detailed fund family attributable to Third Light Holdings itself. That does not mean the organization lacks substantial private investment experience—a family office or private investment entity may intentionally maintain a minimal public footprint—but it makes independent verification harder. It also makes identity matching important: unrelated businesses using "Third Light" exist, including a UK software company acquired by PhotoShelter, and those entities should not be conflated with Third Light Holdings merely because the names are similar. The correct conclusion is therefore not that the Claymont address or limited online presence makes the investment fraudulent; it is that neither provides meaningful evidence about the competence, capitalization or regulatory status of the investment decision-maker behind a $46 million vehicle.

FINAL RISK ASSESSMENT — THE CAPITAL IS VERIFIABLE, BUT THE INVESTMENT THESIS IS ALMOST ENTIRELY BEHIND CLOSED DOORS

Third Light KSPVI has one of the strangest disclosure profiles in this B-group batch. The fundraising itself looks substantial: $46.092 million was reported completely sold to nine investors within days of the first sale, making it one of the larger new 3(c)(1) private-fund filings in the relevant week. The SEC filing names Third Light Holdings LLC, reports no broker compensation and identifies only a modest $14,500 related-person payment. FilingDossier also found no public enforcement action naming this specific issuer in the records reviewed. But those positives do not resolve the central problem. The public filing does not identify the underlying KSPVI asset or manager, Third Light Holdings has a very limited independently visible regulatory footprint, no detailed matching ADV private-fund disclosure was identified, and the CGF2021 Series infrastructure separates the administrative shell from the investment sponsor. With only nine investors, concentration exists not only at the portfolio level but potentially at the LP level: one or two large holders could represent a substantial percentage of capital, which can matter if the Series permits transfers, withdrawals, capital adjustments or investor-specific side-letter rights. Before treating the $46 million total as evidence of safety, an investor should obtain the full legal name of the underlying investment, identify the ultimate GP and adviser, compare the Series' purchase price with the underlying fund or transaction price, calculate every layer of management fee and carried interest, identify the auditor and administrator, determine whether assets are independently valued, review cash-control and custody arrangements, and understand whether the position can be transferred or redeemed before the underlying asset exits. Our conclusion is therefore strong evidence that substantial capital was committed, but unusually weak public evidence explaining what was actually purchased and who ultimately exercises investment discretion. A fully subscribed Form D can demonstrate investor demand; it cannot substitute for disclosure of the asset behind the acronym.

Important Form D notice: A Form D filing is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission has approved, licensed, endorsed, or verified the issuer or the offering. Readers should verify information through official SEC sources and conduct their own due diligence.
Verification note: SEC.gov and the relevant regulator's official records remain authoritative. This site's research is independent editorial content.