INDEPENDENT VERDICT
Scale Social AI-2, a series of Jason's Syndicate, LLC is a real and fully subscribed 2026 pooled investment vehicle, but it should not be mistaken for Scale Social AI, Inc. raising another $491,528 directly. The August 31 Form D identifies a Delaware series issuer based at 50 W Broadway in Salt Lake City, classifies it as an Other Investment Fund, relies on Rule 506(b) and Section 3(c)(1), and reports a fixed $491,528 offering that was completely sold to 52 investors after first sale on August 19. Katherine A. Marsh is listed as Managing Member and Daniel Roberts signed as Chief Compliance Officer. The filing reports $0 remaining, $0 sales commissions and $0 finder fees.
The operating company is different. Scale Social AI, Inc. is a Delaware corporation headquartered in Raleigh, North Carolina, led by CEO and co-founder Runbin Dong. Its own Form D, filed in March 2026, reported $1,261,900 sold to 16 investors through Simple Agreements for Equity, with a first sale dating back to January 31, 2025. Separately, the company announced a $1.3 million pre-seed round in November 2025 led by LAUNCH and The Syndicate, both associated publicly with Jason Calacanis, with additional participation from RTP Angel Fund, Primordial Ventures, Charlotte Fund, Triangle Tweener Fund, Blue Valley Capital and individual investors.
That sequence is the distinctive part of this case. Scale Social AI first raised money at the operating-company level, and a later Jason's Syndicate series then aggregated another 52 investors around a Scale Social-branded opportunity. The new $491,528 should therefore be treated as SPV-level securities sold, not automatically added to the company's historical financing total as though Scale Social itself directly received every dollar.
THE "-2" SERIES SUGGESTS REPEAT EXPOSURE, NOT A NEW COMPANY
The legal name matters. `Scale Social AI-2` strongly suggests that this is not the first Jason's Syndicate vehicle associated with the company, and Jason's Syndicate has a long history of using separately named series to aggregate accredited-investor capital into specific startup opportunities. SEC records show similar entities such as Braintrust, Vast, Sourcerer, Deep Sentinel-3, Micro1AI-2, Abacus-2 and numerous other company-specific series under Jason's Syndicate, each filing its own Form D and carrying its own investor count, offering size and CIK.
That architecture is important because it means Jason's Syndicate is not functioning like one blind-pool venture fund in these filings. Instead, investors can be aggregated into dedicated legal sleeves tied by name to individual startup opportunities. Jason Calacanis has publicly described Jason's Syndicate as a large accredited-investor network, and third-party descriptions of the platform similarly identify Jason's Syndicate as one of the syndicates operated within the broader LAUNCH ecosystem.
The `-2` suffix therefore has real analytical value, but it should still be handled carefully. It strongly indicates a second or later vehicle around Scale Social AI, yet the Form D does not disclose the legal identity, economics or timing of any earlier Scale Social series. FilingDossier does not infer that `Scale Social AI-2` automatically purchased the same security class or entered at the same valuation as the earlier company financing. It may represent a follow-on allocation, additional SPV capacity, a later closing or a new round, but only the transaction documents can establish which.
COMPANY FINANCING AND SPV FINANCING HAVE TO STAY SEPARATE
Scale Social AI's own SEC filing and the Jason's Syndicate filing describe two different layers of capital. The operating company Form D shows a $1.2619 million offering of Simple Agreements for Equity, first sold in January 2025, with 16 investors. That amount closely aligns with the company's later public announcement of a $1.3 million pre-seed financing led by LAUNCH and The Syndicate.
The 2026 SPV filing, by contrast, shows pooled investment fund interests sold by a separate series of Jason's Syndicate. Investors in that vehicle own interests in the SPV, not necessarily direct Scale Social shares or SAFEs in their own names. The SPV may in turn hold Scale Social securities directly or through another intermediary, but the Form D does not disclose the underlying instrument. This distinction affects voting rights, information rights, transferability, fees, distributions and exit mechanics.
It also means the $491,528 should not simply be added to the $1.2619 million company offering to produce a supposed $1.75 million Scale Social raise. Some or all of the SPV capital may have purchased secondary interests, participated in a follow-on round, acquired company securities indirectly or entered through another structure. Without the SPV investment documents and cap-table evidence, the only defensible statement is that the Jason's Syndicate vehicle sold $491,528 of its own fund interests to 52 investors.
WHY SCALE SOCIAL ATTRACTED A SECOND SYNDICATE VEHICLE
Scale Social's operating story helps explain why a follow-on syndicate vehicle may have been created. The company describes itself as an AI-native content infrastructure platform that helps enterprise brands capture authentic customer-generated content, secure rights, apply brand governance and deploy that material across social, paid advertising, ecommerce and AI-discovery channels. Its public strategy is explicitly positioned against synthetic-content saturation: the company argues that authentic customer signal becomes more valuable as AI-generated marketing content proliferates.
The company also continued to show operating momentum after its initial pre-seed. Scale Social's newsroom records Runbin Dong appearing on This Week in Startups with Jason Calacanis in September 2025, the $1.3 million financing announcement in November 2025, Primordial adding the company to its portfolio in February 2026 and additional press activity during 2026. A July 2026 company announcement described new financing to scale enterprise content infrastructure, which places the August Scale Social AI-2 SPV in a plausible follow-on financing window.
That timing is notable but should not be overstated. The July announcement confirms new financing activity but does not publicly identify Scale Social AI-2 as the financing vehicle, nor does it say that all $491,528 from the SPV went directly into that round. The strongest conclusion is that Jason's Syndicate created a second Scale Social-branded series shortly after the company announced additional financing, making a follow-on relationship plausible and worthy of transaction-document verification.
52 INVESTORS CHANGES THE RISK PROFILE
The investor base is materially broader than Scale Social's direct company Form D. The operating company filing reported 16 investors, while Scale Social AI-2 reports 52. If $491,528 were divided equally, the mathematical average would be roughly $9,450 per investor, although actual subscriptions are not disclosed and equal allocation should not be assumed. That distribution is consistent with a syndicate model designed to aggregate many accredited investors into one cap-table position rather than putting dozens of individual names directly onto the startup's shareholder register.
This structure can simplify company administration, but it adds another layer for investors. SPV participants need to know whether Jason's Syndicate or an affiliate charges carry, management or administrative fees; whether the vehicle has pro rata rights; whether it can participate in future Scale Social rounds; what happens if Scale Social raises through preferred stock rather than SAFEs; and how proceeds are distributed after an acquisition, IPO, secondary sale or tender offer. The Form D reports no sales commissions or finder fees, but that does not mean the SPV is fee-free.
The 3(c)(1) election also fits a concentrated private vehicle rather than a broad public product. Investors should verify beneficial-owner limits, transfer restrictions and any allocation rules that determine who could participate in the 52-investor pool. The Form D's $0 minimum field should not be interpreted as evidence that investors could subscribe with no meaningful minimum commitment.
FINAL ASSESSMENT
Scale Social AI-2 is a good example of how a startup and the investment vehicle around it can produce two different SEC stories. Scale Social AI, Inc. is the operating technology company in Raleigh; its own Form D reports a $1.2619 million SAFE-style financing, and its public announcement describes a $1.3 million pre-seed led by LAUNCH and The Syndicate. The later Scale Social AI-2 filing belongs instead to a Delaware series of Jason's Syndicate and reports $491,528 fully sold to 52 investors.
The strongest independent finding is therefore repeat exposure. Jason's broader syndicate ecosystem was already publicly tied to Scale Social in the 2025 pre-seed, and by August 2026 a second Scale Social-branded syndicate series had reached full subscription. That is more informative than simply saying the company "raised another $491K," because the SEC record does not support that wording. Investors in the SPV need to understand what security the vehicle actually owns, what valuation it entered at, whether its investment was primary or secondary, what fees apply and how its economics differ from earlier LAUNCH or The Syndicate exposure.
Until those documents are public, FilingDossier can verify the company, the prior financing, the Jason's Syndicate series and the 52-investor SPV. It cannot verify that the SPV's full $491,528 flowed directly onto Scale Social's balance sheet or that the new vehicle purchased the same instrument as the 2025 pre-seed investors.
Form D is an exempt-offering notice. It is not SEC approval of Scale Social AI, Jason's Syndicate, LAUNCH, The Syndicate or any investment return.
SEC SNAPSHOT
ISSUER: Scale Social AI-2, a series of Jason's Syndicate, LLC | CIK: 0002151611 | SEC FILE NO.: 021-595941 | FILM NO.: 261345630 | ACCESSION NO.: 0002151611-26-000001 | FILED / EFFECTIVE: August 31, 2026
ENTITY: Delaware LLC Series | FORMATION YEAR: 2026 | ADDRESS: 50 W Broadway, Suite 333 #84613, Salt Lake City, UT 84101 | PHONE: 801-400-0793
INDUSTRY: Pooled Investment Fund - Other Investment Fund | EXEMPTION: Regulation D Rule 506(b) | INVESTMENT COMPANY ACT: Section 3(c)(1)
SECURITY: Pooled Investment Fund Interests | FIRST SALE: August 19, 2026 | OFFERING DURATION: One year or less
TOTAL OFFERING: $491,528 | AMOUNT SOLD: $491,528 | REMAINING: $0 | INVESTORS: 52 | MINIMUM INVESTMENT FIELD: $0 | NAV: Declined to disclose | SALES COMMISSIONS: $0 | FINDER FEES: $0
MANAGING MEMBER: Katherine A. Marsh | FORM D SIGNATORY: Daniel Roberts — Chief Compliance Officer
OPERATING COMPANY: Scale Social AI, Inc. | CIK: 0002106485 | HEADQUARTERS: Raleigh, North Carolina | CEO / CO-FOUNDER: Runbin Dong | CTO / CO-FOUNDER: Paul Greenham
OPERATING COMPANY SEC FINANCING: Scale Social AI Inc.'s March 2026 Form D reports $1,261,900 sold to 16 investors through Simple Agreements for Equity, with first sale January 31, 2025.
PUBLIC PRE-SEED ANNOUNCEMENT: $1.3M financing announced November 18, 2025 | Lead investors: LAUNCH and The Syndicate | Other disclosed participants included RTP Angel Fund, Primordial Ventures, Charlotte Fund, Triangle Tweener Fund, Blue Valley Capital and individual investors.
JASON'S SYNDICATE CONTEXT: Jason Calacanis has publicly described Jason's Syndicate as a large accredited-investor syndicate, and LAUNCH-related public materials identify Jason's Syndicate as part of the broader startup-investment ecosystem.
IMPORTANT ENTITY DISTINCTION: Scale Social AI-2 is a pooled investment SPV. Scale Social AI, Inc. is the operating company. The SPV's $491,528 amount sold should not automatically be treated as direct corporate fundraising by Scale Social AI.
IMPORTANT FOLLOW-ON NOTE: The "-2" naming, prior public involvement of The Syndicate in Scale Social's pre-seed and the timing after 2026 additional financing strongly support a repeat-exposure interpretation, but the public Form D does not disclose the exact underlying security or prove that the SPV participated directly in a particular corporate round.
CORE INDEPENDENT FINDING: The SEC record shows a two-layer investment history: Scale Social first raised operating-company capital, then a separate Jason's Syndicate series aggregated 52 investors into a later Scale Social-branded SPV. The central diligence issue is the bridge between those two layers — security type, valuation, primary versus secondary ownership, fees and exit rights — rather than simply adding the two fundraising numbers together.
Form D is an exempt-offering notice and is not an SEC-issued certificate, approval or endorsement.