RESEARCH

Morrison Street Preferred Equity Opportunities Fund SEC Review 2026: $177M Commitments, $27.1M Form D Sales & Northmarq Preferred Equity Strategy

Morrison Street Preferred Equity Opportunities Fund SEC Review 2026: $177M Commitments, $27.1M Form D Sales & Northmarq Preferred Equity Strategy

MORRISON STREET PREFERRED EQUITY OPPORTUNITIES FUND SEC REVIEW 2026

INDEPENDENT VERDICT

Morrison Street Preferred Equity Opportunities Fund, L.P. is a 2024-formed Delaware real-estate investment partnership whose public identity is unusually well supported by both SEC filings and Northmarq Fund Management's own fund materials. The latest Form D/A, filed September 18, 2026 under CIK 0002038409, reports an indefinite Rule 506(c) offering, a January 1, 2025 first sale, $27,139,000 cumulatively sold and 51 investors. The filing also reports a $250,000 minimum investment, while noting that lesser amounts may be accepted at the General Partner's discretion. MSPE Funding, LLC is identified as General Partner, Northmarq Fund Management, LLC as Manager, Rance S. Gregory as President and CEO of the Manager, and Marcus Parker as Managing Director and CCO. The fund claims Investment Company Act Section 3(c)(5), a structure commonly associated with qualifying real-estate investment activity rather than a conventional 3(c)(1) or 3(c)(7) hedge-fund exemption. The manager's official website separately reports that MSPE was launched in January 2025, has $177 million of capital commitments and has invested into a commercial real-estate portfolio with approximately $395 million of total property cost. Those three numbers—$27.139 million Form D sales, $177 million commitments and $395 million portfolio cost—measure different things and should not be collapsed into one AUM figure.

The manager lineage is equally important because the Morrison Street name now sits inside a larger Northmarq organization. Northmarq announced in May 2024 that it had merged with Morrison Street Capital, a Lake Oswego-based investment manager with a 22-year operating history, and that the registered investment adviser previously known as Morrison Street Capital would be renamed Northmarq Fund Management. The fund retained the Morrison Street branding even after the manager name changed, which explains why the 2026 Form D identifies Northmarq Fund Management while the issuer remains Morrison Street Preferred Equity Opportunities Fund. Rance Gregory founded Morrison Street Capital in 2002 and now serves as President and CEO of Northmarq Fund Management. Northmarq's adviser data submitted March 30, 2026 reports approximately $541.3 million of regulatory AUM across eight client accounts, while the manager's own investor page says the platform has invested nearly $900 million across fully realized and ongoing funds since 2002. Neither number should be assigned to MSPE itself: $541 million is adviser-level regulatory AUM and nearly $900 million is historical manager deployment across multiple vehicles.

MSPE's actual investment strategy is also much more specific than the generic "pooled investment fund" classification in Form D. Northmarq says the fund targets multifamily, industrial, retail, hotels and office properties nationwide through preferred equity and participating preferred equity investments. Its sponsor-facing criteria currently describe preferred / participating preferred equity investments generally in the $5 million to $10 million range, with typical detachment loan-to-value around 80% to 85%, target pricing around 13% to 15% accrual, and three- to seven-year terms. Northmarq emphasizes existing income-producing properties and specifically says it does not provide ground-up construction financing under these general guidelines. That places MSPE in the middle of the real-estate capital stack: behind senior mortgage debt but ahead of common equity. The structure can offer higher contractual or accrued returns than senior lending, but loss protection is thinner because senior lenders are paid first if a property underperforms or must be sold.

The strategy also sits inside a long Morrison Street track record across multiple vintages and capital structures. Northmarq's current fund history shows Morrison Street Fund I beginning in 2003 with $26.05 million of commitments and a $176 million property portfolio; Fund II with $56.675 million of commitments and more than $270 million of assets; Fund III with $59.1 million and $338 million of portfolio cost; Fund IV and Debt Fund I with $74.115 million and $458 million of combined portfolio cost; Fund V and Debt Fund II with $70.715 million and $390 million of portfolio cost; Morrison Street Debt Opportunities Fund with approximately $200 million of commitments and $2.04 billion of portfolio cost; MSDO II with $142.1 million and $1.2 billion of portfolio cost; Fund VI with $54.55 million and $371 million of portfolio cost; and Fund VII with $37.865 million and $237 million of portfolio cost. These historical figures demonstrate that Morrison Street / Northmarq has repeatedly used relatively modest fund equity commitments to participate in much larger property capitalizations through structured equity and debt positions. They should not be added together as current AUM, but they provide a useful operating pattern for understanding why MSPE can report $177 million of commitments while being exposed to a portfolio whose total property cost is much larger.

The central diligence question is therefore capital-stack risk rather than manager identity. Preferred equity can absorb losses before senior lenders but generally has contractual priority over common equity. If a property experiences falling occupancy, weak net operating income, higher refinancing costs or declining values, the preferred investor can face payment deferrals, accrued-return capitalization, forced restructuring or loss of principal if the common-equity cushion is insufficient. Northmarq's underwriting guidelines suggest it typically seeks a meaningful common-equity layer beneath preferred positions, but the actual protection depends on each property's valuation, senior-loan balance, cash-flow durability and intercreditor rights. Investors should therefore examine portfolio-level debt, weighted-average attachment and detachment LTV, property types, geographic concentration, sponsor quality, current-pay versus accrued return, modification rights, foreclosure or control remedies, realized loss history and how the fund values impaired preferred interests. The SEC record strongly verifies the fund and its management chain; the remaining investment analysis depends on property-level economics.

SEC SNAPSHOT

SEC FILE NUMBER: 021-525162 LATEST FORM D/A: September 18, 2026 YEAR FORMED: 2024 FORM D SUBCLASSIFICATION: Other Investment Fund FEDERAL EXEMPTION: Rule 506(c) OFFERING DURATION: Not intended to last more than one year according to current amendment LATEST CUMULATIVE AMOUNT SOLD: $27,139,000 LATEST REPORTED INVESTORS: 51 MINIMUM INVESTMENT FLEXIBILITY: Lesser amounts may be accepted at GP discretion SALES COMMISSIONS: $0 FINDERS' FEES: $0 CURRENT NAV: Declined to disclose FORM D SIGNER: Marcus Parker SIGNER TITLE: Designated Officer

MANAGEMENT STRUCTURE

MANAGER: Northmarq Fund Management, LLC PRESIDENT / CEO OF MANAGER: Rance S. Gregory MANAGING DIRECTOR / CCO OF MANAGER: Marcus Parker PRINCIPAL FUND OFFICE: Lake Oswego, Oregon COMMON ADDRESS BETWEEN FUND / GP / MANAGER: CONFIRMED OPERATING BRAND HISTORY: Morrison Street Capital → Northmarq Fund Management MERGER / RENAMING YEAR: 2024

OFFICIAL FUND SIZE AND PORTFOLIO

OFFICIAL FUND NAME: Morrison Street Preferred Equity Opportunities Fund, L.P. COMMON ABBREVIATION: MSPE LAUNCH: January 2025 MANAGER-REPORTED CAPITAL COMMITMENTS: $177 million SEC FORM D CUMULATIVE SALES: $27.139 million MANAGER-REPORTED PORTFOLIO TOTAL COST: $395 million STATUS: Ongoing PRIMARY PROPERTY TYPES: Multifamily; Industrial; Retail; Hotels; Office GEOGRAPHY: Nationwide PRIMARY SECURITY: Preferred Equity ADDITIONAL SECURITY: Participating Preferred Equity IMPORTANT: $177M commitments are not the same metric as $27.139M Form D sales IMPORTANT: $395M portfolio total cost is not Fund NAV or Fund equity IMPORTANT: Property cost can include senior debt, sponsor equity and other capital sources

WHY THE THREE CAPITAL FIGURES DIFFER

$27.139M FORM D SALES: Securities cumulatively reported sold under the Regulation D notice $177M CAPITAL COMMITMENTS: Manager-reported commitments to the fund $395M PORTFOLIO COST: Aggregate cost of real-estate assets in which the fund has invested $541.3M REGULATORY AUM: Northmarq Fund Management adviser-level figure NEARLY $900M HISTORICAL INVESTMENT: Manager-level cumulative investments across current and realized funds since 2002 NONE OF THESE FIGURES: Should automatically be substituted for current MSPE NAV CURRENT MSPE NAV: NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED UNFUNDED COMMITMENTS: NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED CALLED CAPITAL: NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED DISTRIBUTED CAPITAL: NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED

FORM D CAPITAL HISTORY

2024 INITIAL FILING: $0 sold 2025 AMENDMENT INCREMENTAL SALES: Approximately $18.4 million 2026 AMENDMENT INCREMENTAL SALES: Approximately $8.739 million 2026 CUMULATIVE SALES: $27.139 million CURRENT INVESTORS: 51 IMPORTANT: Incremental Form D amounts should not be added to the current cumulative amount twice IMPORTANT: Manager-reported commitments may include capital not yet called or reflected in Form D sales

NORTHMARQ FUND MANAGEMENT ADVISER CONTEXT

CURRENT LEGAL NAME: Northmarq Fund Management, LLC FORMER NAME: Morrison Street Capital, LLC EARLIER RELATED NAME: NBS Real Estate Capital, LLC SEC REGISTRATION: Registered investment adviser LATEST ADV DATE LOCATED: March 30, 2026 REGULATORY AUM: Approximately $541,267,495 DISCRETIONARY REGULATORY AUM: Approximately $534,467,495 CLIENT ACCOUNTS: 8 EMPLOYEES: 18 INVESTMENT-ADVISORY PERSONNEL: 7 HEADQUARTERS: Lake Oswego, Oregon IMPORTANT: Adviser RAUM is not MSPE fund size

MANAGER HISTORY

MORRISON STREET CAPITAL FOUNDED: 2002 FOUNDER: Rance Gregory NORTHMARQ MERGER ANNOUNCED: May 21, 2024 POST-MERGER NAME: Northmarq Fund Management INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT OPERATING HISTORY: More than two decades MANAGER HISTORICAL CAPITAL INVESTED: Nearly $900 million across realized and ongoing funds according to Northmarq CORE INVESTMENT TYPES: Private debt; preferred equity; structured equity; direct equity; CMBS; mortgage loans INSTITUTIONAL CLIENT TYPES HISTORICALLY SERVED: Pension plans; foundations; endowments; corporations; high-net-worth families

CURRENT PREFERRED EQUITY UNDERWRITING FRAMEWORK

TARGET INVESTMENT SIZE: Generally $5 million to $10 million TARGET PROPERTY TYPES: Most commercial property categories PRIMARY PROPERTY PROFILE: Existing, income-producing assets GROUND-UP DEVELOPMENT: Generally not targeted under current criteria GEOGRAPHY: Nationwide TYPICAL DETACHMENT LTV: Approximately 80% to 85% TARGET PRICING / ACCRUAL: Approximately 13% to 15% TYPICAL TERM: 3 to 7 years CURRENT PAY / ACCRUAL STRUCTURE: Pay + accrue commonly used MINIMUM DSCR GUIDELINE: Approximately 1.00x to 1.10x for preferred-equity bucket IMPORTANT: Sponsor-facing criteria are general guidelines and do not establish every MSPE investment's exact terms

CAPITAL STACK POSITION

SENIOR MORTGAGE: Paid ahead of preferred equity MEZZANINE / B-NOTE: Position depends on transaction structure MSPE PREFERRED EQUITY: Generally subordinate to mortgage debt and senior to common equity COMMON EQUITY: Typically absorbs losses before preferred equity MAIN PROTECTION: Common-equity cushion beneath preferred investment MAIN RISK: Property value can fall through common-equity cushion and impair preferred capital CONTROL RIGHTS: Transaction-specific FORECLOSURE RIGHTS: Often indirect compared with mortgage lender INTERCREDITOR RIGHTS: Transaction-specific and critical to diligence CURRENT-PAY REQUIREMENTS: Transaction-specific ACCRUAL RIGHTS: Transaction-specific

MORRISON STREET FUND HISTORY

FUND I COMMITMENTS: $26.05 million FUND I PORTFOLIO COST: $176 million FUND I START: 2003 FUND I STATUS: Fully realized

FUND II COMMITMENTS: $56.675 million FUND II PORTFOLIO SIZE: More than $270 million FUND II START: 2006 FUND II STATUS: Fully realized

FUND III COMMITMENTS: $59.1 million FUND III PORTFOLIO COST: $338 million FUND III START: 2008 FUND III STATUS: Fully realized

FUND IV / DEBT FUND I COMMITMENTS: $74.115 million FUND IV / DFI PORTFOLIO COST: $458 million FUND IV START: 2011 STATUS: Fully realized

FUND V / DEBT FUND II COMMITMENTS: $70.715 million FUND V / DFII PORTFOLIO COST: $390 million FUND V START: 2014 STATUS: Fully realized

MORRISON STREET DEBT OPPORTUNITIES FUND COMMITMENTS: $199.995 million MSDO PORTFOLIO COST: $2.04 billion START: 2015 STATUS: Fully realized

MSDO FUND II COMMITMENTS: $142.1 million MSDO II PORTFOLIO COST: $1.2 billion START: 2018 STATUS: Fully realized

FUND VI COMMITMENTS: $54.55 million FUND VI PORTFOLIO COST: $371 million START: 2019 STATUS: Ongoing

FUND VII COMMITMENTS: $37.865 million FUND VII PORTFOLIO COST: $237 million START: 2021 STATUS: Ongoing

MSPE COMMITMENTS: $177 million MSPE PORTFOLIO COST: $395 million START: 2025 STATUS: Ongoing

NORTHMARQ EQUITY OPPORTUNITIES FUND COMMITMENTS: $14 million NEOF PORTFOLIO COST: $27.3 million START: 2025 STATUS: Ongoing

NORTHMARQ MORTGAGE PROGRAM COMMITMENTS: $25 million MORTGAGE PROGRAM PORTFOLIO COST: $52 million START: 2025 STATUS: Ongoing

HISTORICAL STRATEGY CONTINUITY

PREFERRED EQUITY IN EARLIER FUNDS: CONFIRMED MEZZANINE DEBT IN EARLIER FUNDS: CONFIRMED B-NOTES IN EARLIER FUNDS: CONFIRMED CMBS EXPERIENCE: CONFIRMED DIRECT EQUITY EXPERIENCE: CONFIRMED STRUCTURED EQUITY EXPERIENCE: CONFIRMED NATIONWIDE COMMERCIAL REAL ESTATE EXPERIENCE: CONFIRMED MSPE AS FIRST MORRISON STREET PREFERRED-EQUITY EXPOSURE: NO MSPE AS DEDICATED PREFERRED-EQUITY VEHICLE: YES, BASED ON CURRENT MANAGER DESCRIPTION

TEAM / OPERATING DEPTH

RANCE GREGORY: President & CEO, Northmarq Fund Management RANCE GREGORY HISTORY: Founder and former CEO of Morrison Street Capital RANCE PRIOR EXPERIENCE: Donaldson Lufkin & Jenrette; Credit Suisse First Boston; LaSalle Partners MARCUS PARKER: Managing Director / CCO DAVE TINDALL: Director - Investments DAVE TINDALL MORRISON STREET TENURE: Since 2005 DAVE TINDALL REPORTED FUND EQUITY INVESTED: More than $750 million across 200+ real estate investments DAVE TINDALL REPORTED UNDERLYING PROPERTY VALUE: More than $5 billion DAVE DEWEY: Director - Asset Management DAVE DEWEY PORTFOLIO EXPERIENCE: More than $5.2 billion of gross real-estate value according to Northmarq PETER SHERMAN: Director - Investments PETER SHERMAN FOCUS: Mezzanine debt; B-notes; preferred equity; JV equity IMPORTANT: Team transaction history is manager-level experience and not MSPE performance

WEBSITE / ENTITY PENETRATION

SEC issuer — CONFIRMED CIK 0002038409 — CONFIRMED September 18, 2026 Form D/A — CONFIRMED January 1, 2025 first sale — CONFIRMED Rule 506(c) — CONFIRMED Section 3(c)(5) — CONFIRMED $27.139M cumulative Form D sales — CONFIRMED 51 investors — CONFIRMED $250K Form D minimum — CONFIRMED MSPE Funding LLC GP — CONFIRMED Northmarq Fund Management Manager — CONFIRMED Rance Gregory leadership — CONFIRMED Marcus Parker compliance / executive role — CONFIRMED Official $177M commitments — COMPANY REPORTED Official $395M portfolio cost — COMPANY REPORTED Preferred equity strategy — CONFIRMED Participating preferred strategy — CONFIRMED Nationwide mandate — CONFIRMED Multifamily exposure — CONFIRMED Industrial exposure — CONFIRMED Retail exposure — CONFIRMED Hotel exposure — CONFIRMED Office exposure — CONFIRMED Morrison Street / Northmarq merger — CONFIRMED Current MSPE NAV — NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED Current called capital — NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED Current DPI — NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED Current TVPI — NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED Current net IRR — NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED Current property-level leverage — NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED Current impaired-investment count — NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED Current realized-loss ratio — NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED Current management fee — REQUIRES PPM Current incentive allocation — REQUIRES PPM Current auditor — REQUIRES FUND DOCUMENTS Current administrator — REQUIRES FUND DOCUMENTS

SECTION 3(c)(5) SIGNIFICANCE

CLAIMED EXCLUSION: Investment Company Act Section 3(c)(5) COMMON REAL-ESTATE USE: Mortgage and qualifying real-estate asset structures may rely on this exclusion DISTINCTION FROM 3(c)(1): MSPE does not claim the conventional 100-beneficial-owner private-fund exclusion in the current filing DISTINCTION FROM 3(c)(7): MSPE does not claim the qualified-purchaser private-fund exclusion in the current filing INVESTMENT-ELIGIBILITY CONCLUSION: Exact asset-composition compliance requires fund counsel / portfolio documentation IMPORTANT: FilingDossier should not assume Section 3(c)(5) automatically proves every asset is a mortgage or direct property interest

CORE INVESTOR QUESTIONS

Why are manager-reported commitments $177 million while Form D cumulative sales are only $27.139 million How much of the $177 million has actually been called How much remains unfunded What is current NAV What is current investor capital What is current DPI What is current TVPI What is net IRR since January 2025 How many investments are currently in the portfolio How many properties underlie those investments What is the weighted-average investment size What is the weighted-average attachment LTV What is the weighted-average detachment LTV What is the weighted-average senior-loan balance What is the weighted-average property DSCR What is the weighted-average preferred return What portion of return is current-pay What portion accrues What portion participates in property upside What percentage of NAV is multifamily What percentage is industrial What percentage is retail What percentage is hotels What percentage is office What geographic concentrations exist What is the largest single investment What percentage of NAV is represented by the five largest investments How much sponsor common equity sits beneath each preferred position Can senior debt be refinanced without MSPE approval What intercreditor rights does MSPE receive Can MSPE replace the property sponsor after default Can MSPE take control of the property-owning entity Can distributions to common equity occur before preferred obligations are satisfied How are accrued preferred returns treated during distress Can preferred returns be deferred What happens when a senior lender accelerates Can MSPE cure senior-loan defaults How much additional capital can MSPE be required to contribute What reserves are maintained What property-value decline would eliminate the common-equity cushion How are properties valued each quarter Are third-party appraisals obtained How frequently are impaired investments written down How many investments are currently on watchlist How many have modified terms How many have missed preferred payments What realized losses have occurred What recovery rate has been achieved on distressed investments What management fee applies What incentive fee or carried interest applies What acquisition, origination or monitoring fees apply Does Northmarq receive fees from property sponsors Are those fees offset against fund management fees Who is the auditor Who is the administrator What quarterly reporting do LPs receive What is the fund term What extension rights exist Can investors redeem before liquidation What distributions are expected during the holding period

CORE RISKS

Preferred-equity subordination to senior debt; property-value decline; interest-rate risk; refinancing risk; weak DSCR; sponsor default; payment deferral; accrued-return compounding; office-sector weakness; hotel cyclicality; retail tenant risk; multifamily operating-cost pressure; industrial valuation compression; geographic concentration; high detachment LTV; limited foreclosure rights compared with mortgage lenders; intercreditor restrictions; sponsor-control disputes; valuation uncertainty; illiquidity; long holding periods; workout and restructuring risk; property carrying costs; senior-lender enforcement risk; investment concentration; fee drag; potential conflicts with other Northmarq funds; $177M commitments do not equal current NAV; $27.139M Form D sales do not equal total fund commitments; $395M property cost does not equal fund equity.

PRIMARY EVIDENCE REVIEWED

U.S. SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION Morrison Street Preferred Equity Opportunities Fund, L.P. CIK 0002038409 Form D/A September 18, 2026

U.S. SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION Morrison Street Preferred Equity Opportunities Fund, L.P. Original Form D September 2024

NORTHMARQ FUND MANAGEMENT OFFICIAL WEBSITE Fund Management For Investors For Sponsors Morrison Street Preferred Equity Opportunities Fund Historical Morrison Street funds Current underwriting criteria

NORTHMARQ May 21, 2024 merger announcement Morrison Street Capital merger Northmarq Fund Management renaming

NORTHMARQ TEAM MATERIALS Rance Gregory Dave Tindall Dave Dewey Peter Sherman Used for manager operating-history and transaction-experience context

INVESTMENT ADVISER RECORDS Northmarq Fund Management, LLC Formerly Morrison Street Capital, LLC March 30, 2026 adviser data Approximately $541.3M regulatory AUM

IMPORTANT FORM D NOTICE

Form D is a notice of an exempt securities offering.

It does not mean that the SEC has approved Morrison Street Preferred Equity Opportunities Fund, Northmarq Fund Management, MSPE Funding, any property, any preferred-equity position or any projected return.

The September 18, 2026 amendment reports $27,139,000 cumulatively sold to 51 investors.

Northmarq separately reports $177 million of capital commitments and approximately $395 million of underlying portfolio property cost.

These are different capital measures.

None should be represented as current fund NAV without supporting financial statements.

INDEPENDENT ASSESSMENT

Morrison Street Preferred Equity Opportunities Fund has an unusually strong manager and strategy verification trail.

The SEC filing directly connects the issuer to MSPE Funding and Northmarq Fund Management.

Northmarq's own website then identifies the same fund by name, reports its January 2025 launch, discloses $177 million of commitments and describes its preferred-equity mandate.

The manager history can be traced back through Morrison Street Capital to 2002, with multiple fully realized predecessor funds across equity, preferred equity, mezzanine debt, B-notes and CMBS.

That substantially reduces uncertainty about who is managing the fund and what type of real-estate capital strategy is being pursued.

The most important analytical point is the capital-stack position.

MSPE is not simply buying buildings with unlevered equity.

Its preferred positions generally sit above common equity but below senior mortgage debt, so the strategy earns a higher contractual return partly because it accepts a layer of subordination and workout complexity.

That can be attractive when property values and cash flows are stable and the sponsor has meaningful common equity beneath the preferred position.

It becomes materially riskier when asset values fall, refinancing proceeds shrink or a senior lender begins enforcement.

The second key point is measurement.

The SEC currently reports $27.139 million of cumulative securities sold.

Northmarq reports $177 million of fund commitments.

And the underlying portfolio has approximately $395 million of total property cost.

Those numbers can coexist without contradiction because they describe different levels of the investment structure.

For current investors, the decisive information is therefore not the largest headline number.

It is called capital, NAV, attachment LTV, property-level debt, current-pay versus accrued return, watchlist exposure, write-downs, realized losses and recovery history.

Form D verifies the offering.

Northmarq verifies the manager and strategy.

Neither, by itself, establishes future preferred-equity returns.

Important Form D notice: A Form D filing is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission has approved, licensed, endorsed, or verified the issuer or the offering. Readers should verify information through official SEC sources and conduct their own due diligence.
Verification note: SEC.gov and the relevant regulator's official records remain authoritative. This site's research is independent editorial content.