RESEARCH

Mastermind Multifamily Investments SEC Form D Review 2026: $13.89M Raised After a Prior $20M Offering Was Fully Sold

Mastermind Multifamily Investments SEC Form D Review 2026: $13.89M Raised After a Prior $20M Offering Was Fully Sold

INDEPENDENT VERDICT

Mastermind Multifamily Investments LLC is a Missouri residential real estate issuer with a more substantial fundraising history than the latest Form D alone reveals. The company was formed in 2024 and lists 1664 E Sunshine Street in Springfield, Missouri as its principal business address. Its September 18, 2026 Form D/A identifies Stephen Chavez, Cameron G. Jones and Cody Mooneyham as executive officers and classifies the business specifically as Residential real estate. The current offering is an equity offering under Regulation D Rule 506(b), has a $20 million target, a $25,000 minimum investment and a July 9, 2026 first-sale date. By September 18, the issuer reported $13,885,000 sold to 19 investors, leaving $6,115,000 still available. No sales commissions or finder fees were reported. Those figures establish an active capital raise, but the more interesting finding is that this is not Mastermind Multifamily's first $20 million fundraising cycle.

The SEC chronology shows two distinct offering sequences that should not be merged. Mastermind Multifamily first filed a $20 million offering on January 24, 2025, reporting a December 23, 2024 first sale and $9.55 million already sold. By December 19, 2025, that same offering had reached the entire $20 million target. A second offering then began with a December 29, 2025 first sale: its January 12, 2026 Form D reported $1.805 million of a $10 million offering, the January 20 amendment increased that to $1.93 million, and the June 4 amendment showed the full $10 million sold. Rather than simply continuing that notice, however, Mastermind filed another New Notice on July 16, 2026 with a July 9 first sale and a fresh $20 million target, initially reporting $3.45 million sold. The August 4 amendment increased the new round to $5.7 million and 10 investors, and the September 18 amendment pushed it to $13.885 million and 19 investors. The filing sequence therefore shows at least $20 million fully sold in the earlier offering, another $10 million offering reported fully sold in June 2026, and a new $20 million offering that was already almost 70% subscribed by September. These are securities-sale disclosures from separate notices and should not simply be added together and labeled current assets under management, current property value or NAV.

THE FUNDRAISING VELOCITY IS STRONGER THAN THE PUBLIC ASSET TRANSPARENCY

The capital-raising trajectory is the most distinctive evidence in this case. In the current July-to-September 2026 offering alone, reported subscriptions moved from $3.45 million to $5.7 million and then to $13.885 million in roughly two months. The September amendment therefore reflects an $8.185 million increase from the August filing and more than a fourfold increase from the original July notice. The investor count rose from 10 in August to 19 in September. The $25,000 minimum stayed constant, and the issuer continued using Rule 506(b), with no broker or dealer identified as a sales-compensation recipient. That combination suggests that Mastermind Multifamily is repeatedly able to raise private equity capital through its own network or affiliated relationships, but Form D does not reveal whether the 19 investors are new investors, investors from earlier Mastermind offerings, related parties, institutional allocators or repeat high-net-worth participants.

What is far less visible is what investors actually own economically. The SEC filings classify Mastermind Multifamily Investments as Residential and offer equity rather than pooled-investment-fund interests, but they do not identify apartment communities, unit counts, purchase prices, geographic allocation, occupancy, rent growth, property-level debt, lender relationships, interest rates, loan maturities, renovation budgets or exit assumptions. They also do not disclose current revenue or aggregate NAV because the issuer elected to decline that information. This matters especially because "amount sold" is sometimes misinterpreted as fund size or property value. A $13.885 million securities raise does not reveal whether properties are additionally financed with debt, whether all investor capital has been deployed, whether properties have appreciated or declined, or whether any distributions have already been returned. Without a property schedule and financial statements, investors cannot reconstruct portfolio value from EDGAR alone.

MANAGEMENT IS IDENTIFIABLE, BUT THE PUBLIC CORPORATE FOOTPRINT IS THINNER THAN THE SEC TRAIL

Stephen Chavez is the central person in the filing history and has repeatedly signed Mastermind Multifamily's Form D submissions as manager. Cameron G. Jones and Cody Mooneyham also appear as executive officers in the later filings, while Adlai Groves signed the August and September amendments under power of attorney from Chavez. The repetition of the same Springfield address, telephone number and principals provides useful continuity across the 2025 and 2026 notices. The issuer itself can therefore be identified with relatively high confidence from SEC records. What FilingDossier did not find with the same degree of confidence is a dedicated official Mastermind Multifamily Investments website that publicly maps the legal entity, management biographies, properties and offering documents in one place. That distinction is important: the absence of a prominently indexed website does not mean the SEC issuer is fictitious, but it does reduce the amount of independently accessible information available for investors trying to verify the portfolio outside subscription materials.

The address and legal continuity are stronger evidence than generic web searches for the phrase "Mastermind Multifamily," because unrelated real estate podcasts, educational programs and multifamily mastermind groups also use very similar terminology. Investors should therefore avoid matching this issuer to another website merely because it contains the words Mastermind and Multifamily. The reliable identity markers are CIK 0002051998, the Missouri entity, the 1664 E Sunshine Street address, telephone number 417-207-9934 and the named executives Stephen Chavez, Cameron G. Jones and Cody Mooneyham. A legitimate due-diligence process should require any website, investment portal or salesperson claiming to represent this offering to match those identifiers before money or personal documentation is transmitted.

THE REAL DILIGENCE GAP IS PROPERTY ECONOMICS

For a residential real estate issuer that has reported multiple large capital raises in a relatively short period, investors need considerably more than the Form D. The current filing does not disclose the management fee, acquisition fee, construction or renovation fee, property-management fee, financing fee, disposition fee, carried-interest or promote structure. It also does not identify an independent auditor, fund administrator, custodian, property manager or lender. No audited internal rate of return, equity multiple, cash-on-cash return, realized exit record or distribution history is contained in the notice. Because multifamily investments are frequently leveraged, debt terms are especially important: a property may perform well operationally but still face refinancing pressure if debt matures during a high-rate environment, while floating-rate loans can materially change investor cash flow even when rents remain stable.

The strongest conclusion that can be drawn from public records is therefore narrow but meaningful. Mastermind Multifamily Investments LLC is not a one-time shell that appeared for a single small capital raise; it has repeatedly filed with the SEC and reported progressively larger subscriptions, including one $20 million offering that reached its stated target, a subsequent $10 million offering reported fully sold, and a new $20 million offering that reached $13.885 million by September 18, 2026. That fundraising record deserves attention. At the same time, capital-raising success is not evidence of investment performance. Until property-level assets, debt, valuations, distributions, fees and audited financials are reconciled, the regulatory filings establish who is raising money and how much has been sold—not whether investors have earned the returns projected in private offering materials.

SEC SNAPSHOT

Issuer: Mastermind Multifamily Investments, LLC CIK: 0002051998 Entity Type: Missouri Limited Liability Company Formation Year: 2024 Principal Address: 1664 E Sunshine St, Springfield, Missouri 65804 Phone: 417-207-9934 Industry: Real Estate / Residential Latest Filing Reviewed: Form D/A Latest Filing Date: September 18, 2026 Federal Exemption: Regulation D Rule 506(b) Security Type: Equity Current Offering Amount: $20,000,000 Current Amount Sold: $13,885,000 Current Amount Remaining: $6,115,000 Current Investors: 19 Current Minimum Investment: $25,000 Current First Sale: July 9, 2026 Offering Duration: One year or less Sales Commissions: $0 Finder Fees: $0 Payments to Related Persons From Proceeds: $0 reported Issuer Revenue / NAV: Declined Executive Officer: Stephen Chavez Executive Officer: Cameron G. Jones Executive Officer: Cody Mooneyham Latest Filing Signatory: Adlai Groves, by power of attorney from Stephen Chavez Registered Broker Listed: None Dedicated Official Fund Website Verified: No Current Portfolio Value Publicly Disclosed: No Current Property Schedule Publicly Disclosed: No Audited Fund Performance Publicly Identified: No

OFFERING HISTORY

FIRST OFFERING CYCLE

January 24, 2025 Form D: Offering Amount: $20,000,000 Amount Sold: $9,550,000 First Sale: December 23, 2024 Security: Equity Industry: Residential

December 19, 2025 Form D/A: Offering Amount: $20,000,000 Amount Sold: $20,000,000 Remaining: $0

Result: The first publicly visible $20 million offering reached its stated target.

SECOND OFFERING CYCLE

January 12, 2026 Form D: Offering Amount: $10,000,000 Amount Sold: $1,805,000 First Sale: December 29, 2025 Minimum Investment: $25,000

January 20, 2026 Form D/A: Amount Sold: $1,930,000 Remaining: $8,070,000

June 4, 2026 Form D/A: Offering Amount: $10,000,000 Amount Sold: $10,000,000 Remaining: $0

Result: The second disclosed offering also reached its stated $10 million target.

THIRD / CURRENT OFFERING CYCLE

July 16, 2026 Form D: Offering Amount: $20,000,000 Amount Sold: $3,450,000 First Sale: July 9, 2026

August 4, 2026 Form D/A: Amount Sold: $5,700,000 Investors: 10 Remaining: $14,300,000

September 18, 2026 Form D/A: Amount Sold: $13,885,000 Investors: 19 Remaining: $6,115,000 Minimum Investment: $25,000

Increase From August 4 to September 18: $8,185,000

Percentage of Current $20M Offering Sold: Approximately 69.4%

IMPORTANT INTERPRETATION

The three offering cycles should not be summed and described as current AUM or NAV. Form D reports securities sold in particular exempt offerings. It does not disclose redemptions, distributions, property sales, debt, current fair value or whether capital from earlier offerings remains invested.

WEBSITE / ENTITY PENETRATION

Exact SEC issuer verified: Yes CIK verified: Yes — 0002051998 Missouri formation disclosed: Yes Formation year disclosed: Yes — 2024 Springfield headquarters consistently disclosed: Yes Stephen Chavez tied directly to issuer: Yes Cameron G. Jones tied directly to issuer: Yes Cody Mooneyham tied directly to issuer: Yes Adlai Groves POA filing role identified: Yes Repeated Form D history identified: Yes Residential classification consistent across filings: Yes Rule 506(b) consistent across reviewed offerings: Yes Dedicated official fund website independently verified: No Exact multifamily properties independently identified from SEC filing: No Property addresses publicly disclosed by Form D: No Unit count publicly disclosed: No Current portfolio NAV publicly disclosed: No Property-level leverage publicly disclosed: No Independent auditor publicly identified from reviewed SEC materials: No Fund administrator publicly identified: No Custodian publicly identified: No

WHAT MAKES THIS CASE DIFFERENT

Mastermind Multifamily's distinguishing characteristic is the speed and repetition of its fundraising rather than unusually detailed public portfolio disclosure.

2025 offering: $20 million target eventually reported fully sold.

Early 2026 offering: $10 million target eventually reported fully sold.

Current 2026 offering: $20 million target. $3.45 million reported July 16. $5.70 million reported August 4. $13.885 million reported September 18.

That chronology provides stronger evidence of repeated investor fundraising than a single Form D filing, but it does not demonstrate investment gains or property appreciation.

CORE RISKS

Property Transparency Risk: The Form D does not identify the underlying apartment communities or other residential assets.

Leverage Risk: Mortgage balances, loan-to-value ratios, fixed versus floating rates, maturity dates and lender covenants are not disclosed.

Offering-Combination Risk: Multiple Mastermind offerings exist under the same issuer. Adding all historical securities sales together and calling the total current fund size would be misleading.

NAV Risk: The issuer declines to disclose aggregate NAV, so current asset value cannot be inferred from capital raised.

Valuation Risk: Private residential assets do not have continuously observable market prices and may depend on appraisals or manager estimates.

Interest-Rate Risk: Multifamily acquisitions financed with debt may face refinancing or cash-flow pressure when borrowing costs rise.

Occupancy Risk: Rental income depends on tenant demand, occupancy, collections, concessions and local employment conditions.

Expense Risk: Insurance, taxes, utilities, repairs and payroll can rise faster than rents.

Geographic Concentration Risk: The public Form D does not provide enough property information to determine whether the portfolio is diversified across markets.

Fee Transparency Risk: Acquisition, management, construction, refinancing, disposition and promote economics are not disclosed in Form D.

Service-Provider Risk: Auditor, administrator, property manager, lender and custody arrangements are not identified in the reviewed public notice.

Performance Transparency Risk: Capital raised is visible; audited investor returns are not.

Website Verification Risk: A dedicated official website mapping the SEC issuer to its portfolio and management was not independently confirmed. Investors should rely on legal identifiers rather than similarly named "multifamily mastermind" businesses.

CORE INVESTOR QUESTIONS

Investors should request a complete schedule of every property currently owned or under contract; confirm each asset's legal ownership entity, purchase price, unit count, occupancy, trailing operating income and current valuation; obtain all property-level debt including lender, principal amount, interest rate, maturity and recourse terms; reconcile which properties and investors belong to the 2024-2025 $20 million offering, the December 2025 $10 million offering and the July 2026 $20 million offering; request audited financial statements and investor capital-account statements; obtain historical distributions, realized exits, IRR, equity multiple and cash-on-cash returns; identify every management, acquisition, property-management, construction, financing and disposition fee; confirm the exact ownership and operating roles of Stephen Chavez, Cameron Jones and Cody Mooneyham; and verify the auditor, tax preparer, property manager, bank and other independent service providers.

PRIMARY EVIDENCE REVIEWED

SEC EDGAR — Mastermind Multifamily Investments LLC Form D filed January 24, 2025 SEC EDGAR — Mastermind Multifamily Investments LLC Form D/A filed December 19, 2025 SEC EDGAR — Mastermind Multifamily Investments LLC Form D filed January 12, 2026 SEC EDGAR — Mastermind Multifamily Investments LLC Form D/A filed January 20, 2026 SEC EDGAR — Mastermind Multifamily Investments LLC Form D/A filed June 4, 2026 SEC EDGAR — Mastermind Multifamily Investments LLC Form D filed July 16, 2026 SEC EDGAR — Mastermind Multifamily Investments LLC Form D/A filed August 4, 2026 SEC filing copy — Mastermind Multifamily Investments LLC Form D/A filed September 18, 2026 Cross-checks of issuer filing chronology and cumulative securities-sale figures

IMPORTANT FORM D NOTICE

Form D is a notice of an offering relying on an exemption from Securities Act registration. It is not SEC approval, certification, endorsement or verification of investment performance. The SEC specifically warns that it has not necessarily reviewed the information contained in a Form D and has not determined whether the information is accurate and complete. Amount sold represents securities sold under the relevant offering and should not be treated as current NAV, property value, assets under management or investor profit.

Important Form D notice: A Form D filing is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission has approved, licensed, endorsed, or verified the issuer or the offering. Readers should verify information through official SEC sources and conduct their own due diligence.
Verification note: SEC.gov and the relevant regulator's official records remain authoritative. This site's research is independent editorial content.