KOHLBERG INVESTORS VIII CV SEC REVIEW 2026
INDEPENDENT VERDICT
Kohlberg Investors VIII CV, L.P. is a particularly useful example of why a new Form D with $0 reported sold should not automatically be interpreted as an untested sponsor or insignificant vehicle. Public Form D indexes show a new Rule 506(b) filing on September 21, 2026 for the New York-based private fund, with no securities reported sold as of the filing. The "CV" designation, however, sits inside Kohlberg & Company's much older private-equity franchise and is consistent with a continuation-vehicle structure rather than a conventional first-time blind-pool raise. Contemporary secondary-market reporting identifies Kohlberg Investors VIII CV as a continuation vehicle connected to Kohlberg's 2016-vintage Fund VIII and says Lazard is acting as placement agent. Kohlberg itself currently reports approximately $18 billion of assets under management, 10 private-equity funds since inception, more than 95 platform investments and more than 290 add-on acquisitions. The correct interpretation is therefore narrow: the September Form D confirms the launch of a new exempt offering that had not yet recorded sales at filing; it does not mean Kohlberg had only $0 of assets or that the underlying portfolio had no value.
The fund lineage is unusually important. Kohlberg's official history says Kohlberg Investors VIII closed with approximately $2.2 billion and was part of the firm's middle-market private-equity strategy, while later Fund IX closed with $3.4 billion and Fund X with $4.3 billion plus roughly $1 billion of dedicated co-investment vehicles. Kohlberg's investment focus has also become more concentrated over time around healthcare and services businesses with recurring revenue, defensible market positions and opportunities for operational improvement and add-on acquisitions. A continuation vehicle generally allows a sponsor to transfer one or more assets from an older fund into a newly capitalized vehicle, potentially giving existing LPs the choice to sell or roll while allowing the sponsor additional time to own and develop the assets. That context is especially relevant here because Kohlberg already completed a major precedent transaction in 2021: a $1.1 billion continuation vehicle for the remaining assets of Kohlberg Investors VII, co-led by BlackRock, GIC and Lexington Partners. That earlier deal covered four portfolio companies and explicitly offered Fund VII investors liquidity, rollover and reinvestment alternatives. The 2026 VIII CV therefore appears within an established Kohlberg continuation-fund playbook rather than as an unfamiliar structure appearing for the first time.
The most distinctive current evidence concerns Cadence. Competition filings in Europe identify The Goldman Sachs Group as seeking a majority interest in Kohlberg Investors VIII CV and state that the vehicle indirectly controls KCAD Holdings and Cadence Inc. Cadence is a precision-manufacturing company focused heavily on medical-device and pharmaceutical applications, including complex machining, precision metal stamping, laser processing, injection molding, custom sharps and finished-device manufacturing. Kohlberg continues to list Cadence as a current portfolio investment, and historical Kohlberg materials show Cadence pursuing bolt-on acquisitions such as Arcor Laser in 2019. Cadence's own 2026 materials describe capabilities serving sophisticated MedTech and Pharma OEMs and applications including cardiovascular devices, robotic-assisted surgery, ophthalmology, diagnostics and sports medicine. These facts provide unusually concrete asset-level evidence for the continuation-vehicle story. They do not establish that Cadence is the only VIII CV asset, however. Public merger-control materials establish a Cadence control connection, while the full continuation-vehicle portfolio, transaction valuation and allocation among assets still require definitive transaction documents.
The reported Goldman Sachs involvement adds another layer that should be described carefully. German and Austrian merger-control disclosures in August 2026 identify Goldman Sachs in connection with an acquisition of majority control involving Kohlberg Investors VIII CV and the indirect control of KCAD Holdings/Cadence. This is meaningful independent corroboration that a real institutional transaction is being assembled around the vehicle, but merger filings are not the same thing as evidence that the transaction has fully closed, that Goldman Sachs owns a fixed economic percentage today, or that the continuation vehicle has already received subscription proceeds. That distinction is reinforced by the September 21 Form D indexes showing $0 reported sold at the time of the new filing. The timing can be entirely consistent with a transaction whose regulatory approvals, subscriptions, transfers and closing mechanics are still being completed. Investors should therefore distinguish among the date the continuation vehicle was legally formed, the Form D filing date, investor subscription dates, antitrust clearance dates and the actual transaction closing date.
The central diligence issue is not Kohlberg's existence or institutional history but the economics of the continuation transaction. Investors should establish which Fund VIII assets are transferring, the valuation assigned to Cadence and any other portfolio companies, the price paid relative to the older fund's carrying value, whether an independent fairness opinion or competitive auction was obtained, how existing Fund VIII LPs were offered liquidity or rollover options, how Goldman Sachs and other secondary buyers are capitalized, what new money is reserved for acquisitions or growth, and whether Kohlberg receives crystallized carried interest when assets move into the CV. Continuation vehicles can solve a genuine duration problem and give portfolio companies additional time and capital, but they also create sponsor conflicts because the same manager can effectively participate on both sides of the transfer. Kohlberg's prior $1.1 billion Fund VII continuation transaction provides evidence that the firm has executed this structure before; it does not eliminate valuation, conflict, concentration, leverage or exit risk in the new Fund VIII CV.
SEC SNAPSHOT
LATEST FORM D: September 21, 2026 PRINCIPAL BUSINESS LOCATION: Mount Kisco, New York platform SPONSOR: Kohlberg & Company / Kohlberg & Co., L.L.C. FEDERAL EXEMPTION: Rule 506(b) LATEST REPORTED AMOUNT SOLD: $0 OFFERING STATUS AT FILING: No reported sales TOTAL OFFERING SIZE: Not publicly established in the current Form D index reviewed CURRENT INVESTOR COUNT: 0 reported / no completed subscriptions reflected in current filing index CURRENT NAV: NOT DISCLOSED BY FORM D CURRENT TOTAL COMMITMENTS: NOT PUBLICLY ESTABLISHED PLACEMENT AGENT REPORTED BY SECONDARY-MARKET SOURCE: Lazard EXACT PLACEMENT FEES: NOT PUBLICLY ESTABLISHED CURRENT AUDITOR: REQUIRES FUND DOCUMENTS CURRENT ADMINISTRATOR: REQUIRES FUND DOCUMENTS
KOHLBERG PLATFORM
SPONSOR: Kohlberg HEADQUARTERS: 111 Radio Circle, Mount Kisco, NY 10549 FOUNDED: 1987 FOUNDERS: Jerome Kohlberg Jr. and James Kohlberg CURRENT AUM: Approximately $18 billion according to Kohlberg PRIVATE EQUITY FUNDS SINCE INCEPTION: 10 PLATFORM INVESTMENTS: 95+ ADD-ON ACQUISITIONS: 290+ CREDIT INVESTMENTS: 170+ PROFESSIONALS: 100+ CORE SECTORS: Healthcare; Services INVESTMENT ENTERPRISE VALUE RANGE: Approximately $500 million to $5 billion TARGET EBITDA RANGE: Approximately $50 million to $250 million CORE SOURCING MODEL: White Paper Program MANAGING PARTNER: Samuel P. Frieder CIO: Gordon H. Woodward
FUND VIII LINEAGE
ORIGINAL FUND: Kohlberg Investors VIII / parallel Fund VIII vehicles VINTAGE: Approximately 2016 ORIGINAL FUND SIZE: Approximately $2.2 billion according to Kohlberg STRATEGY: Middle-market private equity SUCCESSOR FUND IX: $3.4 billion commitments SUCCESSOR FUND X: $4.3 billion commitments FUND X DEDICATED CO-INVESTMENT VEHICLES: Approximately $1.0 billion IMPORTANT: Original Fund VIII commitments are not the size of the 2026 continuation vehicle IMPORTANT: Fund VIII historical NAV is not the current VIII CV NAV
CONTINUATION VEHICLE PRECEDENT
PRIOR VEHICLE: Kohlberg Investors VII CV TRANSACTION YEAR: 2021 TRANSACTION SIZE: $1.1 billion ORIGINAL FUND: Kohlberg Investors VII ORIGINAL FUND VII SIZE: $1.6 billion ASSETS TRANSFERRED: Four remaining platform investments CO-LEAD INVESTORS: BlackRock affiliates; GIC; Lexington Partners FINANCIAL ADVISER: Lazard LEGAL COUNSEL: Ropes & Gray LP OPTIONS DISCLOSED: Full liquidity; status-quo rollover; reinvestment into new capital PURPOSE DISCLOSED BY KOHLBERG: Additional time and resources to continue value-creation strategies SIGNIFICANCE: Establishes prior Kohlberg experience with GP-led continuation vehicles IMPORTANT: Terms of Fund VII CV should not automatically be assumed to apply to Fund VIII CV
CADENCE CONNECTION
PORTFOLIO COMPANY: Cadence Inc. INDIRECT HOLDING ENTITY REFERENCED IN MERGER MATERIALS: KCAD Holdings HEADQUARTERS: Staunton, Virginia KOHLBERG CURRENT PORTFOLIO STATUS: Current investment on Kohlberg website CORE CAPABILITIES: Complex machining; precision metal stamping; laser processing; custom sharps; injection molding; automation; finished-device manufacturing CORE END MARKETS: Medical devices; pharmaceutical products; selected commercial and industrial applications MEDTECH APPLICATIONS INCLUDE: Cardiovascular; drug delivery; diagnostics; ophthalmology; robotic-assisted surgery; sports medicine HISTORICAL ADD-ON: Arcor Laser acquisition announced in 2019 EXACT CADENCE VALUE IN VIII CV: NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED EXACT OWNERSHIP PERCENTAGE: NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED EXACT VIII CV ASSET COUNT: NOT PUBLICLY CONFIRMED CADENCE AS SOLE VIII CV ASSET: NOT ESTABLISHED
GOLDMAN SACHS TRANSACTION EVIDENCE
PARTY: The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc. GERMAN MERGER NOTIFICATION DATE: August 17, 2026 GERMAN CASE REFERENCE: B3-93/26 TRANSACTION DESCRIPTION: Acquisition of a majority interest involving Kohlberg Investors VIII CV INDIRECT CONTROL REFERENCED: KCAD Holdings and Cadence Inc. AUSTRIAN MERGER MATERIAL: Also identifies Goldman Sachs, KCAD Holdings and Kohlberg Investors VIII CV TRANSACTION COMPLETION AS OF FORM D DATE: REQUIRES CONFIRMATION EXACT GOLDMAN ECONOMIC OWNERSHIP: NOT PUBLICLY ESTABLISHED IN SOURCES REVIEWED EXACT PURCHASE PRICE: NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED IMPORTANT: Merger-control notification should not be described as proof that the transaction had already closed
WEBSITE / ENTITY PENETRATION
Kohlberg operating website — CONFIRMED Kohlberg Mount Kisco headquarters — CONFIRMED 1987 founding — CONFIRMED $18B AUM — COMPANY REPORTED 10 private-equity funds — COMPANY REPORTED 95+ platform investments — COMPANY REPORTED 290+ add-on acquisitions — COMPANY REPORTED Fund VIII $2.2B scale — COMPANY REPORTED Fund IX $3.4B — COMPANY REPORTED Fund X $4.3B — COMPANY REPORTED 2021 $1.1B continuation vehicle — CONFIRMED BlackRock / GIC / Lexington Fund VII CV participation — CONFIRMED Lazard prior CV advisory role — CONFIRMED Kohlberg Investors VIII CV September 2026 filing — CONFIRMED Rule 506(b) — CONFIRMED $0 sold at new filing — CONFIRMED IN CURRENT FORM D INDEXES Cadence current Kohlberg portfolio status — CONFIRMED Cadence / VIII CV control connection — CORROBORATED BY MERGER-CONTROL MATERIALS Goldman Sachs transaction involvement — CORROBORATED BY OFFICIAL MERGER-CONTROL MATERIALS Exact VIII CV portfolio — NOT FULLY PUBLIC Exact continuation-vehicle size — NOT PUBLICLY CONFIRMED Exact transfer valuation — NOT PUBLICLY CONFIRMED Exact rollover percentage — NOT PUBLICLY CONFIRMED Exact new-money commitment — NOT PUBLICLY CONFIRMED Exact carried-interest treatment — NOT PUBLICLY CONFIRMED Transaction closing status — REQUIRES CURRENT DEAL DOCUMENTATION
CAPITAL INTERPRETATION
$0 FORM D SALES: Amount reported sold when the new September 2026 offering was filed $0 DOES NOT MEAN: Zero underlying asset value; zero Cadence enterprise value; zero Kohlberg AUM; zero expected continuation-vehicle capital $2.2B FUND VIII: Historical size of the original Fund VIII family, not the VIII CV offering size $18B KOHLBERG AUM: Sponsor-level figure, not VIII CV NAV $1.1B FUND VII CV: Separate 2021 continuation vehicle and not current VIII CV capital CADENCE VALUE: Requires transaction and valuation documents
CORE INVESTOR QUESTIONS
Which specific Fund VIII assets are transferring into VIII CV Is Cadence the only asset or one of several assets What percentage of VIII CV NAV will Cadence represent What valuation was assigned to Cadence What valuation methodology was used Was there a third-party fairness opinion Was a competitive secondary process conducted How many secondary buyers submitted bids What price was offered to existing Fund VIII LPs Could existing LPs sell for cash Could existing LPs roll at the same economics Could LPs elect partial liquidity Were rolling LPs required to make additional commitments How much new capital is available for Cadence Will new capital finance acquisitions Will new capital reduce debt Will the CV make distributions to the selling Fund VIII vehicles Does Kohlberg crystallize carried interest at transfer Is carry rolled into the continuation vehicle What management fee applies to VIII CV What carried-interest percentage applies Is there a new preferred return or hurdle How long is the new vehicle term What extension options exist What governance rights do secondary buyers receive Does Goldman Sachs control the vehicle economically or only for merger-control purposes Who sits on the LP advisory committee How are conflicts approved What leverage exists at Cadence What debt is placed at the continuation-vehicle level What is Cadence's revenue and EBITDA What are Cadence's customer concentrations How much exposure is to major medical-device OEMs What acquisition pipeline remains for Cadence What is the expected exit route Could Cadence be sold to a strategic buyer What happens if exit conditions remain weak at the end of the CV term Who is the fund auditor Who is the fund administrator What fees is Lazard receiving What transaction expenses are borne by selling LPs versus the new vehicle
CORE RISKS
Continuation-vehicle conflict risk; sponsor acting on both sides of asset transfer; valuation risk; concentrated single-asset risk if Cadence dominates the portfolio; medical-device customer concentration; healthcare regulatory risk; manufacturing execution risk; acquisition-integration risk; leverage; refinancing risk; longer-than-expected holding period; secondary pricing uncertainty; transaction-closing risk; antitrust and regulatory approvals; fee reset risk; carried-interest crystallization; limited LP liquidity; governance complexity; operating-company valuation uncertainty; $0 Form D sales do not indicate current asset value; Fund VIII's $2.2B size is not VIII CV NAV; prior Fund VII continuation success does not guarantee VIII CV returns.
PRIMARY EVIDENCE REVIEWED
U.S. SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION Kohlberg Investors VIII CV, L.P. Form D September 21, 2026
Kohlberg official website Firm history Assets under management Fund VIII, Fund IX and Fund X history Current investments Investment criteria Healthcare and Services strategy
Kohlberg official announcement Kohlberg Investors VII continuation vehicle July 2021 $1.1 billion transaction BlackRock GIC Lexington Partners Lazard Ropes & Gray
German Federal Cartel Office transaction notice The Goldman Sachs Group Kohlberg Investors VIII CV KCAD Holdings Cadence August 2026
Austrian merger-control materials Goldman Sachs Kohlberg Investors VIII CV KCAD Holdings
Cadence official website Medical-device manufacturing capabilities Precision machining Laser processing Automation MedTech markets
Kohlberg historical Cadence materials Arcor Laser acquisition Portfolio-company development history
IMPORTANT FORM D NOTICE
Form D is a notice of an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the SEC has approved Kohlberg, Kohlberg Investors VIII CV, Goldman Sachs, Cadence or the valuation assigned to any asset transferred into the continuation vehicle.
The September 2026 filing currently shows a new Rule 506(b) offering with no securities reported sold.
That is compatible with an early-stage continuation transaction.
It should not be interpreted as evidence that the underlying assets have no value.
INDEPENDENT ASSESSMENT
Kohlberg Investors VIII CV has one of the more distinctive structures in this batch because the meaningful evidence sits outside the headline Form D amount.
The filing itself currently shows $0 sold.
The surrounding evidence shows an $18 billion private-equity sponsor, a $2.2 billion predecessor Fund VIII, a prior $1.1 billion Kohlberg continuation transaction, a current medical-manufacturing portfolio company and regulatory filings connecting Goldman Sachs to a proposed majority-control transaction involving the new vehicle and Cadence.
That makes the central diligence question very different from a conventional new fund.
Investors do not primarily need to establish whether Kohlberg exists.
They need to establish whether the continuation-vehicle transfer price is fair, which assets are moving, how conflicts are managed, what economics rolling LPs receive, how much new capital enters Cadence and how Kohlberg's fees and carry reset after the transaction.
The Form D verifies the new offering.
The merger filings verify a real transaction process.
Neither, by itself, proves that the continuation-vehicle valuation is attractive.