INDEPENDENT ASSESSMENT
Shenkman Short Duration Insurance Fund Series Interests of the SALI Multi-Series Fund, L.P. is a verifiable Delaware pooled investment fund whose latest Form D/A was filed on September 15, 2026. The filing reports an indefinite Rule 506(b) offering with $282,422,623 sold to only two investors, a $1,000,000 minimum investment, a first sale on January 15, 2020, Section 3(c)(7) status, and estimated sales commissions of $280,234 with no finder's fees. The issuer's principal place of business is 6850 Austin Center Boulevard, Suite 300, Austin, Texas, while SALI Fund Partners, LLC is identified as General Partner and Cameron Vail as Managing Director of that GP. This structure immediately distinguishes the vehicle from a normal Shenkman commingled hedge fund: the legal issuer sits on SALI's insurance-dedicated fund platform, while the Shenkman name identifies the underlying investment manager/strategy relationship rather than the general partner or administrator. The key research question is therefore not simply whether Shenkman exists, but how a Shenkman-managed short-duration credit mandate is packaged inside an insurance-dedicated wrapper used by life-insurance separate accounts.
The SALI architecture is the defining feature of this fund. SALI Fund Services states that it provides turnkey creation and administration of Insurance Dedicated Funds, or IDFs, and currently administers more than 200 such funds across roughly 30 major life-insurance company PPVA and PPLI platforms. SALI explains that these vehicles are designed to receive allocations from insurance-company separate accounts connected to Private Placement Variable Annuity and Private Placement Life Insurance contracts, rather than operate like ordinary retail mutual funds or direct hedge-fund subscriptions. That makes the two-investor count much less surprising than it first appears: one "investor" on Form D may represent an insurance-company separate account that itself supports multiple policyholders, so two legal investors do not necessarily mean only two beneficial economic participants. Investors and researchers should therefore avoid interpreting the investor count in the same way they would for a conventional hedge fund. The structure is economically closer to an insurance access sleeve where SALI handles fund administration and compliance while the outside investment manager focuses on the portfolio.
SHENKMAN CAPITAL AND THE SHORT-DURATION CREDIT CONTEXT
Shenkman Capital Management is one of the longer-established specialist leveraged-finance firms in the U.S. credit market. The firm says it was founded in 1985 and has focused throughout its history on researching and investing across the capital structures of highly leveraged companies, including high-yield bonds and loans. SEC-filed mutual-fund disclosure states that the Shenkman Group managed approximately $37.8 billion as of December 31, 2025, including roughly $34.7 billion managed by Shenkman Capital Management and approximately $3.1 billion managed by Romark CLO Advisors. Shenkman's public platform includes short-duration high-income, floating-rate, multi-asset credit, opportunistic credit, tactical credit, private credit and CLO-related strategies, and its founder Mark Shenkman is widely associated with the development of the institutional high-yield market. Those firmwide facts verify the scale and specialization of the manager, but they should not be treated as the current NAV or exact portfolio composition of this SALI insurance-dedicated vehicle.
The term "Short Duration" strongly suggests that the mandate is intended to reduce interest-rate duration relative to broader high-yield strategies, but the public Form D does not disclose portfolio duration, yield, ratings mix, leverage, issuer count, sector allocation, liquidity or whether the vehicle invests primarily in bonds, loans, structured credit or a combination. Shenkman's registered Short Duration mutual-fund product provides useful context around the firm's capability in short-duration leveraged finance, but FilingDossier should not assume the insurance fund is economically identical to the mutual fund without the insurance fund's own PPM and investment guidelines. The same caution applies to performance: any public Shenkman mutual-fund returns, CLO performance or other strategy data cannot automatically be attributed to this IDF. The fund's real economic profile has to be reconstructed from the insurance-dedicated offering memorandum, current portfolio report, duration statistics, credit-quality breakdown and policy-platform documents.
INSURANCE WRAPPER ECONOMICS, DISTRIBUTION AND THE TWO-INVESTOR QUESTION
The 2026 Form D also reveals a distribution relationship that is important to the structure. FAS Corp., CRD 43536, is listed as sales-compensation recipient and associated broker-dealer for solicitation across all U.S. states, and the filing estimates $280,234 of sales commissions. That amount is small relative to the $282.4 million cumulative securities sold, but it confirms that the insurance-fund distribution chain includes a broker-dealer component rather than relying solely on direct manager subscriptions. SALI's own materials explain that IDFs can be attached to major insurance-company PPVA and PPLI platforms and are distributed through insurance carriers, brokers and wealth-planning channels. This helps explain why the legal fund can have very large assets while maintaining an extremely small direct investor count. The practical diligence issue is therefore whether investors are paying only Shenkman management fees or also bearing SALI administration expenses, insurance-policy charges, broker-dealer expenses and carrier-level costs through the broader wrapper. Form D discloses the estimated sales commission but not the complete all-in cost stack.
FINAL ASSESSMENT
Shenkman Short Duration Insurance Fund has a strong verification profile because the SEC filing, SALI platform and Shenkman operating history all line up, but its legal architecture is more important than the headline $282.4 million figure. This is not simply a two-investor private fund managed directly from Shenkman's New York office. It is an insurance-dedicated series inside SALI Multi-Series Fund, with SALI Fund Partners serving as GP, FAS Corp. involved in distribution, and Shenkman providing the investment-management identity behind the strategy. The two-investor count should therefore be understood in the context of insurance-company separate accounts rather than interpreted as ordinary LP concentration. Investors and policyholders should focus diligence on the exact insurance carriers, current NAV, underlying credit portfolio, duration, default exposure, liquidity, leverage, management fee, SALI administration fee, policy-level charges and whether total economics differ materially across PPVA and PPLI platforms. The SEC Form D verifies the exempt offering; it does not establish the current fair value, portfolio quality or tax outcome of any individual insurance contract.
SEC SNAPSHOT
SEC CLASSIFICATION: Pooled Investment Fund / Other Investment Fund | SECURITY: Pooled Investment Fund Interests | EXEMPTION: Rule 506(b) | ICA EXCLUSION: Section 3(c)(7) | FIRST SALE: January 15, 2020 | OFFERING: Indefinite | DURATION: More than one year.
TOTAL SOLD: $282,422,623 | INVESTORS: 2 | MINIMUM INVESTMENT: $1,000,000 | ESTIMATED SALES COMMISSIONS: $280,234 | FINDER'S FEES: $0 | AGGREGATE NAV: Declined to disclose.
SALES COMPENSATION RECIPIENT: FAS Corp. | CRD 43536 | solicitation: all U.S. states.
IMPORTANT CAPITAL DISTINCTION: $282.423M is cumulative securities sold under Form D. It is not automatically current NAV, Shenkman strategy AUM or total assets held inside related PPLI / PPVA contracts.
WEBSITE / ENTITY PENETRATION
SHENKMAN CAPITAL MANAGEMENT: Founded 1985 | specialist leveraged-finance manager | New York headquarters | official platform includes high-yield, floating-rate, short-duration, multi-asset credit, tactical credit, opportunistic credit, private credit and CLO strategies.
SHENKMAN GROUP SCALE: approximately $37.8B AUM as of December 31, 2025 according to SEC-filed Shenkman fund disclosure | approximately $34.7B Shenkman Capital Management + approximately $3.1B Romark CLO Advisors. This is firm/group-level AUM, not this insurance fund's NAV.
SALI FUND SERVICES: JTC Group company | founded 2002 | 200+ IDFs administered | approximately 30 major life-insurance company PPVA / PPLI platforms | ongoing IDF fund administration.
IDF PURPOSE: insurance-dedicated pooled vehicles designed for allocations from insurance-company separate accounts attached to Private Placement Variable Annuity and Private Placement Life Insurance products.
SALI INSURANCE PLATFORM EXAMPLES: AIG Life of Bermuda | John Hancock | Lincoln National | MassMutual | Nationwide | New York Life | Pacific Life | Pruco | Transamerica | Voya | Zurich and other carriers. Presence on SALI's general carrier list does not establish that each carrier offers this specific Shenkman fund.
CURRENT SHENKMAN IDF NAV: NOT DISCLOSED IN FORM D | PORTFOLIO HOLDINGS: NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED IN FORM D | DURATION: NOT DISCLOSED | CREDIT-RATING MIX: NOT DISCLOSED | LEVERAGE: REQUIRES FUND DOCUMENTS | EXACT MANAGEMENT FEE: REQUIRES PPM | SALI ADMINISTRATION FEE: REQUIRES FUND / INSURANCE DOCUMENTS | POLICY-LEVEL INSURANCE CHARGES: DEPEND ON PPVA / PPLI CONTRACT.
CORE INVESTOR QUESTIONS
Which insurance carriers currently make the Shenkman IDF available | Do the two Form D investors represent insurance-company separate accounts | How many underlying policyholders ultimately access the fund | What is current NAV | What is portfolio effective duration | What percentage is high-yield bonds versus leveraged loans | What is the weighted-average credit rating | How much CCC-rated or distressed exposure exists | Does the fund use leverage or derivatives | What is current yield and spread duration | What percentage of assets can be redeemed within 30, 90 and 180 days | What management fee does Shenkman charge | What administration fee does SALI charge | What policy and mortality / expense charges apply at the PPVA or PPLI level | What does FAS Corp. receive beyond the Form D commission estimate | Does the insurance wrapper impose investment-control or diversification restrictions beyond normal fund guidelines
CORE RISKS
High-yield credit risk | default and downgrade risk | spread-widening risk | leveraged-loan liquidity risk | short-duration does not eliminate credit loss risk | insurance-wrapper complexity | policy-level fee layering | SALI administration expenses | broker-dealer distribution expense | limited public NAV disclosure | two legal investors may mask broader beneficial exposure | PPLI / PPVA tax treatment depends on compliance with insurance and tax rules | Shenkman firmwide AUM should not be confused with IDF assets | registered mutual-fund strategy data should not automatically be attributed to the insurance fund.
INDEPENDENT CONCLUSION
Shenkman Short Duration Insurance Fund is a particularly useful example of why an SEC Form D should not be interpreted without understanding the wrapper around the issuer. The filing shows $282.4 million sold to only two investors, but SALI's own business model explains how an insurance-dedicated fund can receive large allocations from insurance-company separate accounts while ultimately serving a broader group of PPVA and PPLI policyholders. SALI supplies the legal and administrative fund infrastructure, while Shenkman supplies the credit-investment expertise.
The central diligence issue is therefore total structure economics rather than basic legitimacy. Investors should verify the current portfolio, duration, credit-quality mix, liquidity, Shenkman management fee, SALI administration cost, carrier and insurance-policy charges, and the identity of the insurance platforms accessing the fund. The Form D, SALI relationship and Shenkman history establish a real institutional structure, but they do not constitute SEC approval of the portfolio, tax treatment, policy design or future investment performance.
PRIMARY EVIDENCE REVIEWED
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — Shenkman Short Duration Insurance Fund Series Interests of the SALI Multi-Series Fund, L.P. — CIK 0002051830 — Form D/A filed September 15, 2026 — $282,422,623 sold — 2 investors — $1M minimum — Rule 506(b) — Section 3(c)(7).
Shenkman Capital Management official website and SEC-filed fund disclosure — firm history, leveraged-finance specialization and approximately $37.8B Shenkman Group AUM as of December 31, 2025.
SALI Fund Services official website — insurance-dedicated fund structure, 200+ IDFs, 30 major life-insurance platforms and PPVA / PPLI access model.
SALI insurance-company and investment-manager disclosures — institutional carrier network and open-architecture IDF platform.
IMPORTANT FORM D NOTICE:
Form D is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the SEC approved Shenkman Short Duration Insurance Fund, Shenkman Capital Management, SALI Fund Services, FAS Corp., any PPLI or PPVA contract, credit portfolio, tax treatment, fee structure or future investment performance.