INDEPENDENT ASSESSMENT
Sequence Multi Asset IDF Series Interests of the SALI Multi-Series Fund, LP is a verifiable Delaware insurance-dedicated investment fund with a much longer operating history than its recent SEC filing sequence initially suggests. The latest Form D/A was filed September 15, 2026 and reports an indefinite Rule 506(b) offering with $227,011,779 sold to 10 investors, a $500,000 minimum investment and Section 3(c)(7) status. The issuer lists 6850 Austin Center Boulevard, Suite 300 in Austin, the core SALI Fund Services location, while Cameron J. Vail is identified as Managing Director of the General Partner and SALI Fund Partners, LLC serves as General Partner. The filing history is particularly striking: the March 2025 Form D reported $60,864,588 sold, while the 2026 amendment increased the cumulative amount to $227.012 million, an increase of approximately $166.147 million in roughly eighteen months. The first sale date, however, is August 1, 2009, showing that this is not a newly launched 2025–2026 fund; rather, an older insurance-dedicated structure entered the modern Form D record with substantial existing capital and then expanded sharply.
The most distinctive story is the wrapper around the assets. Sequence Multi Asset IDF is not simply a hedge fund with ten ordinary LPs. It sits inside SALI Multi-Series Fund, an open-architecture insurance-dedicated fund platform that SALI Fund Services says allows external investment managers to create tax-compliant IDFs connected to Private Placement Life Insurance and Private Placement Variable Annuity accounts. SALI says it administers more than 200 IDFs across approximately 30 major life-insurance PPVA and PPLI platforms, while current JTC recruiting material describes the broader SALI business as administering more than 250 IDFs and separately managed accounts representing more than $30 billion of assets. SALI was acquired by JTC in 2021 after JTC reported approximately $15.8 billion of SALI assets under management at acquisition. Those platform numbers are not Sequence Multi Asset IDF NAV, but they explain why a fund with only 10 direct Form D investors can nevertheless report more than $227 million sold: the direct investors can be insurance-company separate accounts or other institutional structures representing economic exposure for multiple policyholders rather than ten ordinary individuals.
The distribution chain makes this structure even more distinctive. Earlier Sequence filings identified M Holdings Securities, Corebridge Financial through VALIC Financial Advisors and Stern Capital as sales-compensation recipients, while the September 2026 amendment continues to identify broker-dealer distribution and reports approximately $783,977 of estimated sales commissions. This is a fundamentally different capital-formation model from a conventional private fund raised directly from pensions, endowments or family offices. In an insurance-dedicated structure, capital may reach the fund through life-insurance carriers, registered broker-dealers, wealth advisers and policy platforms before reaching the underlying investment manager. That creates a multi-layer diligence problem: investors should separate investment-management fees from SALI administration costs, insurance-carrier charges, mortality or policy expenses, broker-dealer economics and any additional wealth-adviser fees rather than focusing only on the fund-level management fee. The Form D confirms the offering and distribution participants but does not disclose the complete policy-level cost stack.
The name "Multi Asset" creates another layer of uncertainty because public Form D information does not identify the underlying investment manager or current portfolio allocation with enough precision to reconstruct the strategy. The vehicle is classified as a pooled investment fund and is commonly indexed as a hedge-fund-type structure, but the filing does not publish current equity, fixed-income, credit, hedge-fund, private-market or alternative-asset weights, nor does it disclose leverage, derivatives, duration, liquidity buckets, performance or current NAV. The enormous increase from $60.9 million to $227.0 million therefore proves capital formation, not investment performance. Investors should determine whether the growth came primarily from new policyholder allocations, insurance-carrier platform additions, appreciation of existing assets, transfers from related insurance accounts or another capital event. Because Form D reports cumulative securities sold rather than current fair value, the $227 million figure should never be presented as automatically equivalent to current NAV.
FINAL ASSESSMENT
Sequence Multi Asset IDF has a strong SEC and platform-verification profile, but the most important conclusion is structural rather than performance-related. Its September 2026 amendment confirms $227.012 million sold to 10 investors after a dramatic $166.147 million increase from the prior filing, while the 2009 first-sale date proves that the vehicle has a much longer history than the recent Form D record alone would imply. SALI's official materials independently verify a large insurance-dedicated fund infrastructure connected to dozens of PPLI and PPVA platforms, and JTC's ownership provides another institutional layer around the administration business. The central diligence questions are therefore who actually manages the underlying Multi Asset portfolio, what assets and risk exposures it contains, which insurance carriers provide access, what all-in fees policyholders bear, and how liquidity works when a policyholder wants to reallocate or exit. SEC filing history and SALI infrastructure establish a real institutional structure; they do not establish current NAV, investment quality, tax outcome or future performance.
SEC SNAPSHOT
LEGAL ISSUER: Sequence Multi Asset IDF Series Interests of the SALI Multi-Series Fund, LP | CIK: 0002059837 | SEC FILE NO.: 021-540652 | ENTITY: Delaware Limited Partnership | LATEST FORM D/A: September 15, 2026 | ADDRESS: 6850 Austin Center Blvd., Suite 300, Austin, TX 78731 | PHONE: 512-735-7254.
SEC CLASSIFICATION: Pooled Investment Fund | EXEMPTION: Rule 506(b) | ICA EXCLUSION: Section 3(c)(7) | FIRST SALE: August 1, 2009 | OFFERING: Indefinite | MINIMUM INVESTMENT: $500,000.
MARCH 2025 AMOUNT SOLD: $60,864,588 | SEPTEMBER 2026 AMOUNT SOLD: $227,011,779 | INCREASE: $166,147,191 | INVESTORS: 10 | ESTIMATED SALES COMMISSIONS: $783,977 | FINDER'S FEES: $0.
HISTORICAL DISTRIBUTION PARTICIPANTS: M Holdings Securities, Inc. | Corebridge Financial / VALIC Financial Advisors | Stern Capital LLC.
IMPORTANT CAPITAL DISTINCTION: $227.012M is cumulative Form D securities sold. It is not automatically current NAV, investment gains, SALI platform AUM or total assets inside underlying PPLI / PPVA policies.
WEBSITE / ENTITY PENETRATION
PLATFORM: SALI Fund Services | PARENT: JTC Group | HEADQUARTERS: Austin, Texas.
SALI BUSINESS MODEL: creation and administration of Insurance Dedicated Funds and separately managed accounts for investment managers seeking access to PPVA and PPLI insurance platforms.
OFFICIAL SALI SCALE: 200+ IDFs | approximately 30 major life-insurance PPVA / PPLI platforms | open-architecture model serving investment managers, insurance companies and insurance brokers.
CURRENT JTC / SALI OPERATING DISCLOSURE: 250+ IDFs and SMAs | more than $30B of assets across the broader administered platform. These are platform figures, not Sequence Multi Asset IDF assets.
JTC ACQUISITION: SALI acquired by JTC in November 2021 | approximately $15.8B SALI AUM reported by JTC at acquisition.
UNDERLYING INVESTMENT MANAGER: REQUIRES CURRENT FUND DOCUMENTS | CURRENT ASSET ALLOCATION: NOT DISCLOSED IN FORM D | CURRENT NAV: NOT DISCLOSED | PERFORMANCE: NOT PUBLICLY VERIFIED | LEVERAGE / DERIVATIVES: NOT DISCLOSED | AUDITOR / CUSTODIAN: REQUIRES FUND DOCUMENTS | COMPLETE POLICY-LEVEL FEE STACK: REQUIRES INSURANCE CONTRACT AND FUND DOCUMENTS.
CORE INVESTOR QUESTIONS
Who is the underlying investment manager for Sequence Multi Asset IDF | What is current NAV rather than cumulative securities sold | Why did reported sales increase from $60.9M to $227.0M between 2025 and 2026 | Which insurance carriers currently offer the fund | Do the 10 direct investors represent insurance-company separate accounts | How many ultimate policyholders have economic exposure | What are current allocations to equities, credit, fixed income, alternatives and private markets | Does the fund use derivatives or leverage | What liquidity terms apply at fund level | Can policyholders reallocate daily, monthly or quarterly | What management fee does the underlying manager charge | What does SALI charge for administration | What insurance-carrier, broker and policy-level expenses apply | How much of the $783,977 commission estimate has actually been paid | Are M Holdings, Corebridge / VALIC and Stern Capital still active distribution participants | How are valuation and tax-compliance requirements monitored
CORE RISKS
Insurance-wrapper complexity | multiple layers of fees | underlying-manager opacity | asset-allocation opacity | liquidity mismatch | valuation risk | broker-dealer distribution expense | policy-level surrender and insurance charges | tax-compliance risk | diversification-rule risk | investor-control tax considerations | concentration among a small number of direct insurance accounts | leverage or derivative risk if used | cumulative Form D sales do not equal current NAV | SALI/JTC platform assets should not be confused with this fund's assets.
INDEPENDENT CONCLUSION
Sequence Multi Asset IDF is substantially more interesting than a conventional $227 million hedge-fund filing because the legal investor count tells only part of the story. The structure sits inside SALI's insurance-dedicated architecture, where insurance-company separate accounts can act as direct fund investors while multiple PPLI or PPVA policyholders ultimately receive economic exposure. That explains how a fund can report only 10 direct investors while cumulative Form D sales exceed $227 million.
The second distinctive feature is its chronology: first sale in 2009, only $60.865 million appearing in the March 2025 Form D record, then $227.012 million by September 2026. Investors should investigate what produced that sharp increase and should reconstruct the chain from policyholder → insurance contract → carrier separate account → SALI IDF → underlying investment manager → portfolio assets. Until that chain is documented, the SEC filing verifies the offering structure and SALI verifies the administration platform, but neither proves current NAV, tax benefits, liquidity or future investment returns.
PRIMARY EVIDENCE REVIEWED
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — Sequence Multi Asset IDF Series Interests of the SALI Multi-Series Fund, LP — CIK 0002059837 — Form D/A filed September 15, 2026 — $227,011,779 sold — 10 investors — $500K minimum — Rule 506(b) — Section 3(c)(7).
U.S. Form D filing history — March 12, 2025 filing — $60,864,588 sold — first sale August 1, 2009 — insurance-platform broker-dealer distribution participants.
SALI Fund Services official website — founded 2002 — turnkey IDF administration — 200+ IDFs — approximately 30 major PPLI / PPVA insurance platforms.
JTC Group — 2021 acquisition of SALI — approximately $15.8B SALI AUM at acquisition.
JTC / SALI current operating materials — 250+ IDFs and SMAs representing more than $30B across the broader platform.
IMPORTANT FORM D NOTICE:
Form D is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the SEC approved Sequence Multi Asset IDF, SALI Fund Services, SALI Fund Partners, JTC Group, any insurance carrier, broker-dealer, underlying investment manager, portfolio, tax treatment, valuation or future investment performance.