RESEARCH

Is Sage Partners Onshore Fund Legit? SEC Form D Review of Its $152.75M Hedge Fund, Hong Kong Manager and Cayman Onshore-Offshore Structure 2026

Is Sage Partners Onshore Fund Legit? SEC Form D Review of Its $152.75M Hedge Fund, Hong Kong Manager and Cayman Onshore-Offshore Structure 2026

INDEPENDENT VERDICT

Sage Partners Onshore Fund is a relatively concentrated hedge-fund vehicle with a much deeper cross-border regulatory footprint than its generic name suggests. The March 2026 Form D amendment reports $152.75 million sold to only 15 investors, implying about $10.18 million per investor if commitments were equal, with a $500,000 minimum, Rule 506(b), Section 3(c)(7), an indefinite offering and no broker-dealer or placement compensation disclosed. But the unusual part is structural: despite being called the "Onshore Fund," the issuer is itself a Cayman Islands exempted company domiciled at Ugland House, while the investment manager, Sage Partners Limited, operates from Hong Kong and appears separately in U.S. adviser records as an active Exempt Reporting Adviser and in Hong Kong regulatory records as a Type 9 asset-management licensee. The same manager also appears behind Sage Partners Offshore Fund and Sage Partners Alpha 1 L.P., creating a multi-vehicle Cayman/Hong Kong architecture rather than a standalone U.S.-style onshore fund.

The SEC filing gives a clear picture of who controls the structure. Sage Partners Onshore Fund, CIK 0001810361 and SEC File No. 021-365951, reports its legal home at Ugland House, 121 South Church Street, Grand Cayman, while Fei Wang, Yolanda Banks McCoy and Christopher Alan Day are all listed as directors using the manager's Hong Kong office at Room 4331, Level 43, AIA Tower, 183 Electric Road, North Point. Sage Partners Limited is separately listed as promoter with the clarification "Investment Manager to the Issuer." The vehicle is explicitly categorized as a Hedge Fund, offers both equity and pooled investment fund interests, began selling on April 15, 2020 and had reached $152.75 million sold by the March 23, 2026 amendment. It declined to disclose aggregate net asset value and reported 15 total investors. No sales agent, CRD, broker-dealer, commissions or finder fees appear in the Form D. Those details make the investor base and manager relationship far more informative than the name of the fund itself.

The "Onshore" label deserves special attention because it can easily be misunderstood. The issuer is not a Delaware, New York or other U.S.-domiciled fund; its SEC filing expressly identifies it as a Cayman Islands exempted company. A related Sage Partners Offshore Fund, CIK 0001810549, is also Cayman-domiciled and uses the same 852-3992-1370 telephone number, the same Ugland House corporate-services ecosystem and the same Hong Kong management connection. The existence of both "Onshore" and "Offshore" names inside a Cayman structure suggests the labels are likely investor- or tax-structuring designations rather than simple descriptions of legal domicile. Without the offering memoranda, it would be unsafe to assume the Onshore Fund is a U.S. taxable feeder, the Offshore Fund is its non-U.S. feeder, or that both feed a common master vehicle. The names point toward a familiar hedge-fund architecture, but the public Form D record does not by itself establish the master-feeder mechanics.

There is, however, additional evidence that Sage operates multiple private-fund vehicles under a common investment-management platform. Sage Partners Alpha 1 L.P., CIK 0001887191, was formed in the Cayman Islands in 2020 and filed Form D in 2021. Its filing explicitly says Fei Wang is a director of Sage Partners Private Fund, the general partner of Alpha 1. Alpha 1 uses the same Cayman address and the same 852-3992-1370 phone number as the Onshore and Offshore funds. This is a particularly useful governance clue because it introduces another legal layer—Sage Partners Private Fund as GP—while preserving the same Fei Wang / Sage Partners management ecosystem. The repetition across three separate issuers shows a durable private-fund complex rather than a one-off entity.

The regulatory-manager layer also lines up across jurisdictions. U.S. adviser data identifies Sage Partners Limited under CRD 309639 / SEC file 802-119091 as an active Exempt Reporting Adviser. As of March 6, 2026, adviser-derived data showed approximately $131.3 million in private-fund gross asset value across four private funds and no separately managed accounts. That figure is not directly comparable with the Onshore Fund's $152.75 million Form D amount sold: Form D "amount sold" measures securities subscriptions over an offering, while ADV private-fund GAV is a point-in-time asset measure and may cover multiple funds. The numerical mismatch is therefore not necessarily an error, but it is an important reminder not to equate offering proceeds, fund NAV and adviser-level gross private-fund assets.

Hong Kong records add another independent verification layer. Sage Partners Limited, Chinese name 銳智資本有限公司, CE reference BOT987, is shown as an active Hong Kong licensed corporation for Type 9 asset management, with licensing history beginning March 31, 2020. Its registered address is the same Room 4331, Level 43, AIA Tower, 183 Electric Road address that appears in the latest U.S. Form D for the fund's directors and investment manager. That exact address overlap materially strengthens the entity match. It also separates this Sage Partners from several unrelated firms using the same generic "Sage Partners" name in the United States, including Pacific Sage Partners and advisory businesses at sagepartners.net. The fund reviewed here is the Hong Kong/Cayman investment-management platform, not those unrelated U.S. firms.

SEC SNAPSHOT

Legal Name: Sage Partners Onshore Fund

CIK: 0001810361

SEC File No.: 021-365951

Latest Form D/A: March 24, 2026

Accepted: March 23, 2026

First Sale: April 15, 2020

Legal Form: Cayman Islands Exempted Company

Jurisdiction: Cayman Islands

Principal Address: Ugland House 121 South Church Street Grand Cayman KY1-1104

Phone: +852 3992 1370

Industry: Pooled Investment Fund

Fund Type: Hedge Fund

Federal Exemption: Rule 506(b)

Investment Company Act Exclusion: Section 3(c)(7)

Security Types: Equity Pooled Investment Fund Interests

Offering Amount: Indefinite

Amount Sold: $152,750,000

Investors: 15

Minimum Investment: $500,000

Average Capital Per Investor if Equal: Approximately $10.18 million

Aggregate NAV: Declined to disclose

Offering Duration: More than one year

Sales Commissions: $0

Finders' Fees: $0

Broker-Dealer / Placement Agent: None disclosed

CONTROL AND MANAGEMENT CHAIN

Investment Manager / Promoter: Sage Partners Limited

Hong Kong Office: Room 4331, Level 43 AIA Tower 183 Electric Road North Point Hong Kong

Directors Named in 2026 Form D: Fei Wang Yolanda Banks McCoy Christopher Alan Day

2026 Form D Signer: Tan Qiaowei

Signer Capacity: Authorised Signatory of the Investment Manager

Research Significance: The SEC filing ties the fund directly to a specific Hong Kong investment manager and named directors rather than a generic offshore administrator.

U.S. ADVISER REGULATORY LAYER

Adviser: Sage Partners Limited

CRD: 309639

SEC File: 802-119091

Status: Active Exempt Reporting Adviser

ERA Basis: Private-fund adviser exemption

Reported Private Funds: 4

Private Fund GAV as of March 6, 2026: Approximately $131.3 million

Separately Managed Accounts: None reported in the adviser-derived data reviewed

Important Qualification: $131.3 million private-fund GAV is a point-in-time adviser metric and should not be compared directly with $152.75 million of cumulative Form D securities sold.

HONG KONG REGULATORY LAYER

Legal Name: Sage Partners Limited

Chinese Name: 銳智資本有限公司

SFC CE Number: BOT987

Regulated Activity: Type 9 - Asset Management

License Status: Active

Earliest Current License Date: March 31, 2020

Registered Address: Room 4331, Level 43 AIA Tower 183 Electric Road North Point Hong Kong

Research Significance: The Hong Kong regulatory address matches the investment-manager and director address in the SEC Form D.

RELATED FUND COMPLEX

Sage Partners Offshore Fund

CIK: 0001810549

Jurisdiction: Cayman Islands

Legal Form: Cayman Islands Exempted Company

Corporate Address: Ugland House Grand Cayman

Phone: +852 3992 1370

Manager Connection: Sage Partners Limited / same Hong Kong management ecosystem

Research Interpretation: Strong evidence of parallel fund architecture.

Important Limitation: Public filings do not by themselves establish whether Onshore and Offshore are feeder funds into a shared master vehicle.

Sage Partners Alpha 1 L.P.

CIK: 0001887191

Jurisdiction: Cayman Islands

Year Organized: 2020

Legal Form: Limited Partnership

Address: C/O Maples Corporate Services Limited Ugland House Grand Cayman

Phone: +852 3992 1370

General Partner: Sage Partners Private Fund

Manager / Control Person: Fei Wang identified as director of the GP

Research Significance: Adds a GP-level entity to the wider Sage private-fund complex.

WHY THE "ONSHORE" NAME IS UNUSUAL

Fund Name: Sage Partners Onshore Fund

Actual Legal Domicile: Cayman Islands

Related Vehicle: Sage Partners Offshore Fund

Likely Interpretation: "Onshore" and "Offshore" may describe investor eligibility, tax treatment or economic class rather than legal jurisdiction.

Not Publicly Confirmed: U.S. taxable feeder status Non-U.S. feeder status Master fund identity Tax-blocker structure Portfolio overlap NAV allocation between the vehicles

FilingDossier Treatment: Do not label the Cayman Onshore Fund as a U.S.-domiciled fund.

WEBSITE / ENTITY PENETRATION

Official-Looking Domain Reviewed: sagepartners.io

Public Positioning: Multi-family office and strategic advisory firm

Public Services: Private equity advisory Real estate advisory Investment advisory Corporate strategy Business development Financial planning

Entity Match Strength: Moderate

Supporting Factors: Same Sage Partners brand Hong Kong-oriented investment/advisory positioning

Still Needing Stronger Direct Confirmation: CIK 0001810361 shown on website CRD 309639 shown on website SEC file 802-119091 shown on website SFC CE BOT987 shown directly on the reviewed public homepage Explicit naming of Sage Partners Onshore Fund Explicit naming of Sage Partners Offshore Fund Explicit naming of Sage Partners Alpha 1

Research Treatment: Use regulatory records, not website branding alone, as the primary entity-verification layer.

SAME-NAME CONFUSION

Unrelated or Not Yet Connected: Pacific Sage Partners, LLC CRD 315663 / SEC 801-122834 United States-based registered adviser

Unrelated Advisory Website: sagepartners.net U.S. strategic-growth advisory business

Fund Reviewed Here: Hong Kong / Cayman Sage Partners Limited ecosystem CRD 309639 SEC 802-119091 SFC BOT987

Research Significance: "Sage Partners" is generic enough that search results can easily import the wrong firm's people, AUM or strategy.

KEY ECONOMIC OBSERVATIONS

$152.75M Sold: Substantial offering volume

15 Investors: Highly concentrated LP base

$500K Minimum: Institutional / high-net-worth threshold

Equal-Weight Average: Approximately $10.18M per investor

506(b): No general solicitation based solely on this exemption

3(c)(7): Consistent with qualified-purchaser-oriented private-fund access

No Reported Placement Compensation: No Form D sales commissions or finder fees

Indefinite Offering: $152.75M should not be treated as final hard cap

WHAT REMAINS UNDISCLOSED

Investment Strategy: Not detailed in Form D

Long / Short Orientation: Not publicly established from Form D alone

Geographic Allocation: Not disclosed

China / Asia Concentration: Not confirmed from SEC filing alone

Gross / Net Exposure: Not disclosed

Leverage: Not disclosed

Portfolio Holdings: Not disclosed

Short Book: Not disclosed

Liquidity Terms: Not disclosed

Lock-Up: Not disclosed

Redemption Frequency: Not disclosed

Performance Fee: Not disclosed

Management Fee: Not disclosed

Auditor: Not identified in the reviewed Form D

Administrator: Maples appears in corporate-service addresses, but fund-administrator role is not established from the Form D alone

Custodian: Not identified

Prime Broker: Not identified

Current NAV: Not disclosed

INDEPENDENT ASSESSMENT

Sage Partners Onshore Fund has a strong legal and regulatory verification trail across three jurisdictions and multiple databases. The fund has filed with the SEC since 2020, its Hong Kong investment manager appears directly in the Form D, Sage Partners Limited maintains a U.S. exempt-reporting-adviser footprint, and the same manager is separately visible as a Hong Kong Type 9 asset-management licensee. Related Cayman entities—Sage Partners Offshore Fund and Sage Partners Alpha 1—share telephone numbers, corporate-service locations and management personnel, providing substantial evidence of a coherent private-fund complex.

The distinctive diligence issue is structural rather than existential. The "Onshore" fund is itself Cayman-domiciled, and the public record does not explain how it relates economically to the Offshore Fund or Alpha 1. With only 15 investors supporting $152.75 million of reported subscriptions, this is also a concentrated institutional-style capital base rather than a broad retail product. Investors evaluating the structure should obtain the current offering memorandum, audited financial statements, master-feeder chart, administrator and prime-broker confirmations, current NAV, portfolio-exposure report and fee schedule before assuming the legal names reveal the economic architecture.

The adviser-level numbers also require careful separation. Sage Partners Limited's approximately $131.3 million of reported private-fund GAV is not the same measurement as the Onshore Fund's $152.75 million of securities sold. Likewise, U.S. ERA status and Hong Kong Type 9 licensing verify regulatory presence but do not represent regulatory approval of performance, valuation or investment quality.

Form D is a notice of an exempt securities offering and does not constitute SEC approval or endorsement of Sage Partners Onshore Fund, Sage Partners Limited, Fei Wang, Yolanda Banks McCoy, Christopher Day or any investment strategy. The public evidence strongly verifies the fund-management structure; the portfolio, current NAV, fee terms and exact onshore/offshore economic relationship remain substantially private.

Important Form D notice: A Form D filing is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission has approved, licensed, endorsed, or verified the issuer or the offering. Readers should verify information through official SEC sources and conduct their own due diligence.
Verification note: SEC.gov and the relevant regulator's official records remain authoritative. This site's research is independent editorial content.