RESEARCH

Is Rotunda Capital Partners Legit? SEC Review, $735M Fund IV, $1.7B AUM & Industrial Private Equity Analysis 2026

Is Rotunda Capital Partners Legit? SEC Review, $735M Fund IV, $1.7B AUM & Industrial Private Equity Analysis 2026

The risks instead center on economics. Rotunda invests in lower-middle-market industrial and service companies that can be sensitive to manufacturing activity, construction, housing, capital expenditure, labor availability, interest rates and customer concentration. Distributor margins can be relatively thin, making operating leverage important. Industrial-service companies can be exposed to skilled-labor shortages, safety issues and cyclical demand. Residential-service platforms can be sensitive to housing turnover and consumer financing. Logistics investments may face freight-cycle volatility and customer concentration.

Leverage is another critical variable. Private-equity buyouts often combine equity with acquisition debt, and add-on acquisitions can increase leverage further. Rotunda's operating improvements may support debt reduction, but higher interest rates or weaker EBITDA can constrain distributions and refinancing. LPs should request portfolio-company debt/EBITDA, interest-coverage ratios, covenant headroom, maturities and the proportion of floating-rate versus fixed-rate financing.

Fund-size growth also deserves scrutiny. Moving from $195 million in Fund II to $405 million in Fund III and $735 million in Fund IV within roughly five years dramatically increases the amount of capital Rotunda must deploy. A larger fund can support larger platforms and follow-on acquisitions, but it may also pressure the firm to pursue bigger transactions or deploy capital faster. Investors should compare Fund IV's target company size, acquisition multiples and ownership strategy with those of earlier vintages rather than assuming returns will scale automatically with fund size.

Valuation and unrealized-value risk remain important because portfolio companies are private. A manager may mark businesses using EBITDA multiples, discounted cash flows, transaction comparables or other valuation methodologies. LPs should examine how much of historical and current fund value is realized versus unrealized and whether portfolio marks rely on multiple expansion. A business can increase EBITDA but still decline in value if comparable-company multiples contract.

Fees should also be reviewed at multiple levels. Fund IV's Form D explicitly states that the investment manager receives a management fee and the general partner receives carried interest, but the percentages are not disclosed publicly. Rotunda may also earn portfolio-company advisory fees according to adviser data. LPs should determine the management fee, carry, preferred return if applicable, GP commitment, transaction-fee and monitoring-fee arrangements, broken-deal expenses and fee offsets. The fact that management economics are standard in private equity does not make them immaterial to net returns.

The firm's SEC adviser record currently reports approximately $1.607 billion of regulatory AUM, while Rotunda's own September 2026 website reports $1.7 billion. This should be presented as a timing/calculation difference rather than an error. Likewise, Fund IV's original SEC filing stated $550 million because that was the initial offering amount in January 2025; its eventual $735 million close should not be retroactively substituted into the original filing. Maintaining those distinctions makes the article more accurate than simply copying whichever number is largest.

Rotunda's latest Form ADV-derived data reports no disciplinary disclosure against the adviser. That is useful but narrow evidence; it should not be interpreted as a claim that no portfolio company, affiliate or investment has ever been involved in litigation. For example, public federal litigation involving FreshEdge-related entities identifies a Rotunda affiliate within an ownership chain, illustrating how ordinary portfolio-company litigation can surface without constituting an SEC enforcement action against the fund manager. A complete institutional review should distinguish portfolio-company commercial litigation, manager disciplinary history and securities enforcement rather than grouping every court record into a generic "negative news" category.

The final assessment is therefore strong on regulatory identity and operating history. Rotunda Capital Partners has operated since 2009, is an SEC-registered investment adviser, manages approximately $1.6-$1.7 billion based on recent regulatory and company data, closed Fund IV at $735 million, reports $146 million of aggregate GP commitments and has completed more than 100 acquisitions. Its management team, current holdings, add-on acquisitions and exits can all be independently traced.

For an LP, however, institutional legitimacy is only the first layer. The decisive questions are Fund IV's acquisition valuations, leverage, portfolio concentration, realized versus unrealized performance and whether the firm's larger capital base can reproduce earlier results. Investors should obtain fund-by-fund gross and net IRR, TVPI, DPI and RVPI; complete write-off and loss ratios; current portfolio valuation schedules; debt levels; subscription-line usage; management and portfolio-company fees; carried interest; GP commitment; LPAC arrangements; key-person provisions; continuation-fund policy; and fund-extension rights.

SEC registration establishes Rotunda Capital Partners, LLC as a regulated investment adviser. Form D establishes exempt private securities offerings by its funds. Neither represents SEC approval of Fund IV, Rotunda's portfolio companies, valuations or future returns.

SEC SNAPSHOT

REVIEWED BRAND: Rotunda Capital Partners

FOUNDED: 2009

HEADQUARTERS: 4747 Bethesda Avenue Suite 1150 Bethesda, Maryland 20814

ADDITIONAL OFFICE: Evanston, Illinois

CURRENT COMPANY-REPORTED AUM: $1.7 billion As of September 14, 2026

LATEST FORM ADV-DERIVED REGULATORY AUM: Approximately $1.607 billion As of March 2026

IMPORTANT: These figures use different dates/reporting conventions and should not be treated as a contradiction.

AGGREGATE GP COMMITMENT: $146 million Company reported through September 14, 2026

ACQUISITIONS SINCE INCEPTION: 106 Company reported through September 14, 2026

SEC FILE: 801-117031

SEC STATUS: Registered Investment Adviser

SEC REGISTRATION: Since 2019

REGULATORY MANAGEMENT: 100% discretionary AUM in latest cited adviser data

LATEST FORM ADV DISCIPLINARY DISCLOSURE: None reported in the reviewed summary

PRIMARY STRATEGY: Lower-middle-market private equity

CORE TARGET: Family-owned Founder-owned Management-owned businesses

CORE SECTORS: Value-Added Distribution Asset-Light Logistics Industrial Services Business Services Residential Services

VALUE-CREATION MODEL: Thematic sourcing Data and analytics Operational improvement Lean processes Management-team development Systems infrastructure Add-on acquisitions Geographic expansion Professionalization

CURRENT FLAGSHIP:

Rotunda Capital Partners Fund IV, L.P.

YEAR ORGANIZED: 2024

ORIGINAL FORM D: January 30, 2025

SEC ORIGINAL OFFERING: $550,000,000

AMOUNT SOLD AT INITIAL FILING: $0

FIRST SALE: Yet to occur at original filing

EXEMPTION: Rule 506(b)

INVESTMENT COMPANY ACT: Sections 3(c)(1) and 3(c)(7)

SECURITIES: Equity Pooled Investment Fund Interests

SEC CLARIFICATION: General Partner reserved right to offer a greater or lesser amount.

FINAL CLOSE: May 6, 2025

FINAL CAPITAL COMMITMENTS: $735 million

ORIGINAL TARGET: $550 million

STATUS: Significantly oversubscribed Closed above original hard cap

GLOBAL PLACEMENT AGENT: Campbell Lutyens

FUND COUNSEL: Kirkland & Ellis LLP

FIRST FUND IV INVESTMENT: Capital Machine Technologies

PREDECESSOR:

Rotunda Capital Partners Fund III, L.P.

CIK: 0001916517

JURISDICTION: Delaware

YEAR ORGANIZED: 2022

FUND III CLOSE: June 2022

FINAL COMMITMENTS: Approximately $405 million+

ORIGINAL TARGET: $295 million

RELATED PERSONS IN ORIGINAL FORM D: John Fruehwirth Daniel Lipson

EARLIER FUND:

Rotunda Capital Partners Fund II, L.P.

CIK: 0001778221

JURISDICTION: Delaware

YEAR ORGANIZED: 2019

FINAL CLOSE: 2020

FINAL COMMITMENTS: $195 million

PLACEMENT AGENT: UBS Securities, LLC

FUND COUNSEL: Kirkland & Ellis LLP

CURRENT LEADERSHIP:

John Fruehwirth Managing Partner

Dan Lipson Managing Partner

Corey Whisner Managing Partner

Bob Wickham Managing Partner

Ryan Aprill Partner

Rohit Dhake Partner

Rona Kennedy Partner Chief Financial Officer Chief Compliance Officer

Margaux Valle Head of Business Development

Matthew Mitchell Operating Partner

Rich Spratt Operating Partner

SELECT ACTIVE PORTFOLIO:

Capital Machine Technologies AirPro Diagnostics RMH Systems Value Added Distributors Mama Lycha Foods Lehman Pipe & Supply Door Pro America Bron Tapes U.S. Waterproofing Canter Power Systems Siegel Ingredients Refrigeration Sales Corporation American Equipment

SELECT HISTORICAL / EXITED INVESTMENTS:

FreshEdge Amware Logistics MacQueen Equipment Munch's Supply Storm Smart Trafera StreetShares Microf Primary Integration Worldwide Express Financial Pacific Company

SELECT OPERATING EVIDENCE:

AMWARE: Rotunda invested in 2018. Revenue reported to have grown from approximately $47M to nearly $200M by 2022. Expanded through two acquisitions. 15 facilities. 2M+ square feet. Sold to Staci Group in 2023.

FRESHEDGE: Rotunda investment began through predecessor IF&P in 2017. Built into a major independent fresh-food distribution platform. Sold to Wind Point Partners in 2022.

VALUE ADDED DISTRIBUTORS: Rotunda investment announced in 2024. Merged with Exotic Automation & Supply in July 2026. Combined platform: 38 locations across Midwest and South.

RMH SYSTEMS: Multiple 2026 add-ons. Combined with Systems in Motion. Acquired Top Shelf Integrated Solutions.

AIRPRO DIAGNOSTICS: Merged with Revv in August 2026.

AMERICAN EQUIPMENT: Sold Kanawha Scales & Systems division to Investcorp in November 2025.

IMPORTANT SCALE DISTINCTIONS:

$1.7B = Rotunda website AUM as of September 14, 2026.

Approximately $1.607B = Form ADV-derived regulatory AUM around March 2026.

$735M = Fund IV final commitments.

$550M = Original Fund IV SEC Form D offering amount / original fundraising target.

$405M+ = Fund III commitments.

$195M = Fund II commitments.

$146M = Aggregate GP commitments reported by Rotunda.

106 = Acquisitions since inception, not portfolio-company count or current holdings.

These metrics should never be presented interchangeably.

WEBSITE / ENTITY PENETRATION:

Official website — CONFIRMED SEC Registered Adviser — CONFIRMED CRD / SEC number — CONFIRMED Fund II SEC filing — CONFIRMED Fund III SEC filing — CONFIRMED Fund IV SEC filing — CONFIRMED $735M Fund IV close — CONFIRMED $405M Fund III close — CONFIRMED $195M Fund II close — CONFIRMED Current management team — CONFIRMED Current portfolio — CONFIRMED Recent 2026 add-on activity — CONFIRMED Historical exits — CONFIRMED $1.7B website AUM — CONFIRMED $1.607B regulatory AUM — ADV-DERIVED $146M GP commitment — COMPANY REPORTED Fund-specific net returns — NOT PUBLICLY ESTABLISHED Current Fund IV NAV — NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED LP fee schedule — REQUIRES FUND DOCUMENTS

CORE LP DILIGENCE QUESTIONS:

What are Fund II and Fund III gross IRR What are their net IRR What are DPI, TVPI and RVPI How much of Fund III value is currently realized How much Fund IV capital has been called How much Fund IV capital is deployed What is the average entry EBITDA multiple What is the average leverage at acquisition What is current portfolio debt/EBITDA What portion of portfolio EBITDA comes from the five largest platforms How much historical value creation came from EBITDA growth How much came from multiple expansion How much came from debt paydown How much came from acquisitions What percentage of add-on acquisitions missed initial underwriting How are integration costs tracked What is the realized loss/write-off ratio What management fee applies How does the management fee step down What carried interest applies Is there a preferred return How much of the $146M GP commitment applies specifically to Fund IV What portfolio-company advisory fees are charged Are those fees offset against fund management fees Are subscription credit facilities used How do credit facilities affect reported IRR How much portfolio-company debt is floating rate What key-person provisions exist Who sits on the LP advisory committee What continuation-vehicle policy applies How are conflicted exits handled How long can Fund IV be extended

CORE RISKS:

Lower-middle-market company risk Industrial cyclicality Distribution-margin pressure Manufacturing slowdown Residential-service cyclicality Customer concentration Supplier concentration Labor shortages Acquisition integration Buy-and-build execution Private-company valuation Entry multiple risk Portfolio leverage Floating-rate debt Refinancing risk Large-fund deployment pressure Illiquidity Long fund duration Management fees Carried interest Portfolio-company advisory fees Subscription-line effects on IRR Key-person dependence Historical success may not repeat at Fund IV scale

INDEPENDENT CONCLUSION:

Rotunda Capital Partners has a strong, independently verifiable institutional profile.

Its evidence chain includes:

A 2009 founding. SEC investment-adviser registration. CRD 290282 / SEC 801-117031. Approximately $1.6-$1.7 billion of current AUM depending on reporting date. $146 million of aggregate GP commitments. 106 acquisitions since inception. A $195 million Fund II. A $405 million-plus Fund III. A $735 million Fund IV. Four current Managing Partners. A large identifiable operating team. A broad portfolio of industrial and service businesses. Multiple independently traceable exits. And continued add-on acquisition activity through August 2026.

The principal diligence issue is therefore not whether Rotunda exists.

It is whether the increasingly large Fund IV can continue producing attractive net returns from founder-owned industrial and service businesses without paying excessive valuations or relying too heavily on leverage and multiple expansion.

Rotunda's 106-acquisition history supports its ability to execute buy-and-build strategies, but acquisition count alone does not establish investment performance.

Serious LP diligence should therefore prioritize audited fund returns, DPI, TVPI, net IRR, realized losses, entry valuations, leverage, integration results and the complete fee waterfall.

SEC registration confirms Rotunda Capital Partners, LLC as a registered investment adviser.

Form D confirms private securities offerings by the individual Rotunda funds.

Neither represents SEC approval of Rotunda, Fund IV, its portfolio-company valuations or future returns.

PRIMARY EVIDENCE REVIEWED:

U.S. SEC EDGAR Rotunda Capital Partners Fund IV, L.P. CIK 0002050117 Form D filed January 30, 2025

U.S. SEC EDGAR Rotunda Capital Partners Fund III, L.P. CIK 0001916517

U.S. SEC EDGAR Rotunda Capital Partners Fund II, L.P. CIK 0001778221

SEC Form ADV / IAPD-derived records Rotunda Capital Partners, LLC CRD 290282 SEC 801-117031

Rotunda Capital Partners official website Firm metrics Investment strategy Portfolio Management team 2025 Fund IV close 2026 portfolio transaction activity

Rotunda Capital Partners Fund IV final close May 6, 2025 $735M

Rotunda Capital Partners Fund III final close June 28, 2022 $405M

Rotunda Capital Partners Fund II final close $195M

Rotunda portfolio transaction disclosures Amware FreshEdge Value Added Distributors RMH Systems AirPro Diagnostics American Equipment

Important Form D notice: A Form D filing is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission has approved, licensed, endorsed, or verified the issuer or the offering. Readers should verify information through official SEC sources and conduct their own due diligence.
Verification note: SEC.gov and the relevant regulator's official records remain authoritative. This site's research is independent editorial content.