RESEARCH

Is Portion Oil & Gas Investor Holdings II, L.P. Legit? SEC Form D Review 2026: New $0-Sold Fund, $20.2M Predecessor and Portion Capital Energy Strategy

Is Portion Oil & Gas Investor Holdings II, L.P. Legit? SEC Form D Review 2026: New $0-Sold Fund, $20.2M Predecessor and Portion Capital Energy Strategy

INDEPENDENT ASSESSMENT

Portion Oil & Gas Investor Holdings II, L.P. is a verifiable 2026 Delaware private-equity fund tied directly to Portion Capital. Its September 10, 2026 SEC Form D is a launch-stage filing: the issuer reports an indefinite offering, $0 sold, zero investors and "first sale yet to occur," while relying on Rule 506(b) and Section 3(c)(7). PC Oil and Gas Fund Holdings II GP LLC is the General Partner; James Crain is identified as President of the General Partner; Nathan Watkin as Managing Director of the General Partner; and Portion Capital Management, LLC as investment adviser and promoter. The address and phone — 6125 Luther Lane #281, Dallas, Texas, 214-450-1262 — match the sponsor's earlier oil-and-gas fund infrastructure. The most important research point is therefore not the new fund's current scale, because the filing still shows $0 raised; it is the continuity with Portion Oil & Gas Investor Holdings, L.P., the 2024 predecessor vehicle that was fully subscribed at $20.2 million across 44 investors.

That predecessor fund provides unusually useful evidence about the strategy's evolution. Portion Oil & Gas Investor Holdings, L.P. filed in August 2024 with a fixed $20.2 million offering and reported the entire $20.2 million sold to 44 investors, with no remaining amount, a first sale on August 8, 2024, Rule 506(b), Section 3(c)(7), no sales commissions and no finder's fees. The same sponsor chain appears there: PC Oil and Gas Fund Holdings GP LLC, James Crain, Portion Capital Management, LLC and Nathan Watkins. The new Fund II therefore looks much less like an untested one-off issuer and much more like a successor vehicle formed after the first oil-and-gas fund was fully subscribed. That is the case-specific story investors should focus on: Portion is not merely entering energy in 2026; it already raised and closed a smaller predecessor pool and is now reopening the strategy through a second legal vehicle whose ultimate size has not yet been disclosed.

PORTION CAPITAL PLATFORM AND ENERGY POSITIONING

Portion Capital's official website confirms that the firm is a broader growth-equity platform rather than a dedicated upstream oil-and-gas manager. The firm describes itself as a growth-equity partner that works with proven leaders, designs investment strategies and takes an operationally engaged approach. Its site reports more than $100 million of equity raised across the platform and explicitly lists "Portion Oil & Gas" as one of its investments alongside businesses such as The Worship Initiative and Turns. Jimmy Crain and Nathan Watkins are shown as founding partners, with Brendan McLean, John Beecherl and Pete Coulter also on the current team. One energy-industry CEO testimonial on the official site describes Portion's business-evaluation process and operating support, which is useful corroboration of the firm's involvement in energy, but the site does not publicly identify Fund II's acreage, reserves, producing assets, counterparties or acquisition targets.

The sponsor's current Form ADV trail adds another verification layer. Public adviser databases show Portion Capital Management filing Form ADV as recently as March 26, 2026, while the Form D itself names Portion Capital Management, LLC as investment adviser to the issuer. That makes the adviser relationship much more concrete than a website-only brand match. At the same time, investors should not confuse adviser registration or filing status with validation of the underlying oil-and-gas economics. The 2026 Form D leaves the offering amount indefinite and provides no current portfolio detail, so the real diligence work lies in the private documents: whether Fund II is buying operated or non-operated interests, producing wells or development acreage, what basin concentration exists, how reserves are engineered, what commodity hedging is used, whether leverage is employed and how acquisition opportunities are allocated between Fund I and Fund II.

FINAL ASSESSMENT

Portion Oil & Gas Investor Holdings II has a strong legal and sponsor-verification profile but remains at a very early fundraising stage based on the September 2026 filing. The SEC evidence clearly verifies the new Delaware vehicle, Rule 506(b), Section 3(c)(7), the GP, Portion Capital Management, James Crain and Nathan Watkin, while the 2024 predecessor proves that the same sponsor successfully completed a $20.2 million oil-and-gas raise across 44 investors. Portion Capital's official website separately confirms that oil and gas is part of a broader $100 million-plus equity-investment platform. What public evidence does not yet reveal is the actual Fund II asset base, offering target, NAV, reserve profile, hedge book, leverage, fee schedule or expected holding period. The right conclusion is therefore that the structure and sponsor are verifiable, while the investment thesis still requires asset-level penetration before Fund II can be evaluated economically.

SEC SNAPSHOT

SEC CLASSIFICATION: Pooled Investment Fund / Private Equity Fund | SECURITY: Equity + Pooled Investment Fund Interests | EXEMPTION: Rule 506(b) | ICA EXCLUSION: Section 3(c)(7) | FIRST SALE: Yet to occur | OFFERING DURATION: Not intended to last more than one year.

PREDECESSOR FUND: Portion Oil & Gas Investor Holdings, L.P. | CIK: 0002032617 | 2024 | $20,200,000 offering | $20,200,000 sold | 44 investors | Rule 506(b) | Section 3(c)(7) | first sale August 8, 2024.

IMPORTANT CAPITAL DISTINCTION: Fund II's September 2026 Form D shows $0 sold. The predecessor's $20.2M should not be described as Fund II capital, current Fund II NAV or current Fund II AUM.

WEBSITE / ENTITY PENETRATION

OFFICIAL SPONSOR: Portion Capital | OFFICIAL DOMAIN: portioncapital.com | PLATFORM STYLE: Growth Equity / Operational Partnership.

OFFICIAL PLATFORM SCALE: $100MM+ equity raised, company-reported across the broader Portion platform. This is not Fund II AUM.

OFFICIAL INVESTMENTS SHOWN: Portion Oil & Gas | The Worship Initiative | Turns. The website does not publish Fund II-specific asset attribution.

TEAM: Jimmy Crain — Founding Partner | Nathan Watkins — Founding Partner | Brendan McLean — Vice President | John Beecherl — Associate | Pete Coulter — Operating Partner / CTO.

ADVISER VERIFICATION: Portion Capital Management appears in 2026 Form ADV databases, while the Fund II Form D directly identifies Portion Capital Management, LLC as investment adviser.

CURRENT FUND II PORTFOLIO: NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED | BASIN EXPOSURE: NOT PUBLICLY DISCLOSED | PRODUCING VS DEVELOPMENT ASSETS: NOT DISCLOSED | RESERVE ENGINEER: NOT IDENTIFIED | LEVERAGE: NOT DISCLOSED | MANAGEMENT FEE / CARRY: REQUIRES FUND DOCUMENTS | CURRENT NAV: NOT DISCLOSED.

CORE INVESTOR QUESTIONS

What is Fund II's actual target size | Has the fund completed a first close since September 10 | What oil-and-gas assets will Fund II acquire | Are assets producing, development-stage or mineral / royalty interests | Which basins are targeted | Will Fund II own operated or non-operated interests | What PDP / PDNP / PUD mix is expected | Which reserve engineer validates reserves | What oil and gas price deck is used | What percentage of production is hedged | What leverage is permitted | How are opportunities allocated between the 2024 fund and Fund II | Does the predecessor retain follow-on rights | What management fee, carry and acquisition fees apply | What environmental and plugging liabilities sit with portfolio assets | What is the planned exit route

CORE RISKS

Commodity-price risk | reserve-estimation risk | drilling and operating risk | production decline | environmental liability | plugging and abandonment obligations | basin concentration | leverage and borrowing-base risk | hedging risk | acquisition-price risk | asset-level opacity | allocation conflicts between Fund I and Fund II | limited current fundraising visibility | indefinite offering size | Form D launch data do not establish current NAV or committed capital.

INDEPENDENT CONCLUSION

Portion Oil & Gas Investor Holdings II is best understood as the second generation of a now-verifiable Portion Capital energy strategy rather than as a brand-new untested idea. The 2024 predecessor fully sold a $20.2 million offering to 44 investors, while the 2026 successor uses the same sponsor infrastructure, Dallas address, adviser and core leadership. That continuity is the strongest evidence in the public record.

The unresolved issue is asset economics. Fund II had not yet reported a first sale as of September 10, and the filing does not disclose target size, reserves, basin exposure or portfolio companies. Investors should therefore verify the current closing status, asset schedule, reserve reports, hedge book, leverage, fees and allocation rules before drawing conclusions from Portion Capital's broader platform size or the predecessor fund's completed raise.

PRIMARY EVIDENCE REVIEWED

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — Portion Oil & Gas Investor Holdings II, L.P. — CIK 0002154259 — Form D filed September 10, 2026 — $0 sold — zero investors — Rule 506(b) — Section 3(c)(7).

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — Portion Oil & Gas Investor Holdings, L.P. — CIK 0002032617 — Form D filed August 15, 2024 — $20.2M offering fully sold — 44 investors — first sale August 8, 2024.

Portion Capital official website — sponsor identity, operating model, $100MM+ platform equity raised, Portion Oil & Gas investment and current team.

2026 Form ADV databases — Portion Capital Management filing presence, supporting the adviser identity named in the SEC Form D.

IMPORTANT FORM D NOTICE:

Form D is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the SEC approved Portion Oil & Gas Investor Holdings II, Portion Capital Management, Portion Capital, any oil-and-gas asset, reserve estimate, valuation, hedge program, fee structure or future investment performance.

Important Form D notice: A Form D filing is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission has approved, licensed, endorsed, or verified the issuer or the offering. Readers should verify information through official SEC sources and conduct their own due diligence.
Verification note: SEC.gov and the relevant regulator's official records remain authoritative. This site's research is independent editorial content.