RESEARCH

Is Oaktree Employee Investment Fund Legit? SEC Form D, $805K Series DI, Oaktree and Brookfield Review 2026

Is Oaktree Employee Investment Fund Legit? SEC Form D, $805K Series DI, Oaktree and Brookfield Review 2026

SERIES DI OFFERING: indefinite.

SERIES DI AMOUNT SOLD AT FILING: $805,000.

SERIES DI INVESTORS: seven.

CURRENT SERIES DI NAV: not disclosed.

EMPLOYEE INVESTMENT FUND HISTORY

The 2026 filing is part of a much older SEC filing history under CIK 0001168648.

Earlier filings identify the vehicle as OAKTREE EMPLOYEE INVESTMENT FUND, L.P. and also disclose prior names OCM EMPLOYEE INVESTMENT FUND, LLC and OCM EMPLOYEE INVESTMENT FUND LLC. A 2023 amendment states that the fund had existed for more than five years and identifies Oaktree Employee Investment Fund GP, L.P. as the general partner.

SEC indexes also show multiple amendments filed in 2021 under the same CIK and Oaktree Employee Investment Fund name.

That makes the 2026 filing unusual.

The current New Notice says the issuer was formed in 2026, while the same CIK and substantially the same employee-fund identity existed years earlier.

This does not necessarily indicate an error. Oaktree may be using the same EDGAR filer identity across a newly reorganized partnership, a new legal iteration, a new series architecture or a restructuring of the existing employee-investment program.

The SEC filing does not explain the reason.

FilingDossier therefore does not state that the current 2026 partnership is economically identical to every earlier Oaktree Employee Investment Fund filing. Investors or employees evaluating historical performance should verify whether prior returns belong to the same partnership, a predecessor fund, another series or an earlier OCM structure.

SERIES DI — WHY THE SERIES DESIGNATION MATTERS

The 2026 Form D does not simply offer generic interests in Oaktree Employee Investment Fund.

Item 9 specifically states:

LIMITED PARTNERSHIP INTERESTS SERIES DI.

This indicates that Series DI is a defined sleeve, class or series inside the wider employee-investment structure.

The Form D does not explain what "DI" stands for.

It might correspond to an Oaktree strategy, fund, co-investment allocation, internal portfolio, diversification sleeve or another employee-investment category, but the public SEC notice does not identify the underlying assets.

FilingDossier therefore does not infer that DI stands for "Distressed Investments," "Direct Investments" or any other phrase without primary-source confirmation.

Employees or other eligible participants should obtain the Series DI supplement or confidential offering memorandum showing the exact underlying investment exposure.

RULE 506(B) AND 3(C)(7)

The offering relies on Rule 506(b).

Rule 506(b) private placements generally cannot use unrestricted public solicitation in the same manner as 506(c) offerings.

The fund also relies on Investment Company Act Section 3(c)(7), which is commonly used by private funds whose investors satisfy the qualified-purchaser framework.

The combination of a 3(c)(7) structure and an employee-investment label is meaningful.

Employee investment vehicles at large alternative managers are often used to let eligible employees, partners or related persons invest alongside firm-sponsored strategies while keeping the legal vehicle separate from external institutional LP funds.

However, the Form D does not expressly state that all seven investors are current Oaktree employees.

The word "Employee" in the legal name strongly points toward internal participation, but investors should not infer the employment status of every investor without the subscription records.

BROOKFIELD PRIVATE ADVISORS AND PRIVATE WEALTH ROLE

One of the most interesting details appears in Item 15.

The filing states that Brookfield Private Advisors LLC, CRD 151423, and Brookfield Private Wealth LLC, CRD 313390, will place the investments but are not anticipated to receive sales commissions.

This is significant because Brookfield acquired a majority economic interest in Oaktree beginning in 2019 and the two organizations now operate within a broader Brookfield/Oaktree ecosystem.

The Form D therefore shows a practical distribution connection between the Oaktree employee vehicle and Brookfield-affiliated placement infrastructure.

The filing still reports:

SALES COMMISSIONS: $0.

FINDER FEES: $0.

That does not mean the investment structure has no fees.

Item 16 specifically states that the confidential offering materials fully discuss fees due to Oaktree Capital Management as Investment Manager and to the General Partner.

This distinction is critical.

Zero placement commission does not mean zero management fees, performance allocations, carried interest, administrative expenses or other fund costs.

EMPLOYEE ALIGNMENT AND CO-INVESTMENT CONTEXT

Employee investment vehicles can provide a meaningful alignment mechanism inside alternative managers.

When investment professionals commit personal capital alongside client or sponsored funds, their economic exposure can more closely align with underlying fund performance.

Large private-asset managers commonly use dedicated employee investment programs to coordinate these commitments across strategies.

That structural logic is plausible here, but the exact Series DI alignment mechanism is not disclosed publicly.

Investors should determine:

Whether Series DI invests directly in one Oaktree fund.

Whether it invests across multiple Oaktree vehicles.

Whether participants invest on the same economic terms as institutional LPs.

Whether management fees or carried interest are reduced or waived for employees.

Whether Oaktree finances employee commitments.

Whether there are forfeiture provisions upon termination of employment.

Whether the vehicle uses leverage.

Whether interests can be transferred.

Whether departing employees remain invested until underlying assets are realized.

Those terms can materially affect actual economic exposure.

$805,000 SOLD TO SEVEN INVESTORS

The current filing reports $805,000 sold to seven investors.

If contributions were equal, the mathematical average would be $115,000 per investor, but individual commitment sizes are not disclosed and should not be assumed to be equal.

The Form D minimum outside investment is $0.

For an employee investment vehicle, a $0 field may simply indicate flexibility for participant allocations rather than a public minimum ticket.

The total offering is indefinite.

That structure gives Oaktree flexibility to accept additional commitments over time rather than limiting the offering to a fixed cap.

The $805,000 amount sold should not be interpreted as the total value of Series DI or current NAV. It is the amount of securities sold reported as of September 16.

PAST FILINGS AND MULTIPLE OFFERING FILE NUMBERS

The CIK history is more complicated than a normal one-fund-one-filing structure.

Around September 16-17, 2026, EDGAR also shows multiple Form D amendments under the same Oaktree Employee Investment Fund CIK but different Form D File Numbers, including 021-41106, 021-180658, 021-284306, 021-311431 and 021-342853.

This strongly indicates that the employee investment platform has maintained multiple historical offerings, classes or series under the same overall filer identity.

Therefore a researcher should not look only at the most recent filing and assume that $805,000 represents the entire Oaktree Employee Investment Fund program.

It represents the current Series DI New Notice reviewed here.

The parallel amendments suggest a broader and more mature internal-investment infrastructure.

HOW OAKTREE INVESTS

Oaktree's broader investment philosophy is centered on risk control, fundamental analysis and value-oriented investing.

Its current credit platform reports approximately $163 billion in AUM and invests across high-yield bonds, leveraged loans, structured credit, distressed debt and private debt.

Its equity strategies report approximately $30 billion in AUM and include private equity, special situations and listed equities.

Its real-estate platform reports approximately $13 billion in AUM across distressed, value-add and long-term growth strategies.

Oaktree has also publicly emphasized that direct lending remains less than 15% of its overall AUM, underscoring that the organization is much broader than a pure private-credit manager.

None of these descriptions identifies Series DI's specific portfolio.

They provide sponsor-level context only.

UNDERLYING ASSET INFORMATION GAP

This is the main limitation of the public filing.

The Form D does not say which Oaktree fund, portfolio companies, credit assets, co-investments or strategies Series DI owns.

The "Private Equity Fund" classification offers some direction, but Oaktree's private equity universe itself can include multiple strategies and vehicles.

Investors should therefore avoid writing:

"Series DI invests in distressed debt."

"Series DI invests in Oaktree private credit."

"Series DI holds Oaktree Equity Fund X."

None of those statements is established by the Form D.

The confidential offering materials are the necessary source for the actual investment mandate.

SERVICE PROVIDERS AND FEE TRANSPARENCY

The SEC filing provides more service-provider information than many private funds.

INVESTMENT MANAGER: Oaktree Capital Management, L.P.

GENERAL PARTNER: Oaktree Fund GP IIA, LLC.

PLACEMENT INFRASTRUCTURE: Brookfield Private Advisors LLC and Brookfield Private Wealth LLC.

However, the Form D does not name the fund administrator, auditor, custodian or external legal counsel for Series DI.

Again, absence from Form D does not establish absence in reality.

For internal investment vehicles, some operational functions may be provided by affiliates or shared infrastructure within the Oaktree/Brookfield organization.

Participants should confirm which entity values the series, prepares tax reporting, maintains investor capital accounts and controls cash movement.

MANAGEMENT FEES AND GP ECONOMICS

The filing expressly warns that confidential offering materials contain a fuller discussion of fees payable to the Investment Manager and General Partner.

That language is important.

An employee fund can still contain meaningful economics even if no broker receives commissions.

Potential costs can include:

Management fees.

Carried interest or performance allocation.

Administrative expenses.

Underlying fund expenses.

Organizational expenses.

Legal expenses.

Tax preparation.

Interest expense if employee commitments are financed.

Investors should review whether employees receive fee waivers or reduced carry and whether any underlying Oaktree fund charges are layered beneath the Series DI structure.

BROOKFIELD / OAKTREE RELATIONSHIP

Oaktree operates within the broader Brookfield organization while maintaining its own investment identity and leadership.

The appearance of Brookfield Private Advisors and Brookfield Private Wealth in the Form D reflects that integration at the distribution and client-service level.

This does not make Series DI a Brookfield fund.

The legal issuer remains Oaktree Employee Investment Fund, L.P., and Oaktree Capital Management is directly identified as its investment manager.

That legal distinction should be preserved in any SEO content.

DUE DILIGENCE QUESTIONS

Anyone evaluating Series DI should request:

The current Series DI offering memorandum.

Limited partnership agreement.

Series supplement.

Subscription agreement.

Exact underlying investment mandate.

Whether investments are direct or through other Oaktree funds.

Management fee.

Carried interest.

Employee fee waivers.

Underlying fund fees.

Investment period.

Liquidity terms.

Transfer restrictions.

Capital-call schedule.

Default remedies.

Treatment when an employee leaves Oaktree.

Whether employee commitments can be financed.

Whether Oaktree or Brookfield guarantees any employee financing.

Valuation methodology.

Tax reporting.

ERISA treatment where relevant.

Co-investment and allocation policy.

Historical Series DI performance if any is presented.

The relationship between the new 2026 partnership and earlier Oaktree Employee Investment Fund structures.

These items matter more than the existence of the Form D itself.

FINAL ASSESSMENT

Oaktree Employee Investment Fund, L.P. Series DI is one of the most institutionally verifiable private vehicles in this FilingDossier batch.

SEC EDGAR directly confirms Oaktree Capital Management as investment manager, Oaktree Fund GP IIA as GP, a 3(c)(7) private-equity structure, Rule 506(b), $805,000 sold, seven investors and a June 26, 2026 first sale. The filing also names many of Oaktree's most senior executives and identifies Brookfield-affiliated placement entities.

The broader sponsor is a global alternative-investment manager with roughly $209 billion of AUM in the latest firmwide official figure reviewed and substantial current platforms in credit, equity and real estate.

The main diligence issue is not sponsor legitimacy but structural interpretation.

The same CIK has a long history of employee investment offerings, yet the current New Notice identifies a 2026 formation year and a new Series DI. Public filings do not explain the legal transition or identify Series DI's exact underlying investment.

Therefore FilingDossier treats Series DI as a newly documented 2026 employee-investment sleeve within a long-standing Oaktree internal investment program, not as proof that Oaktree Employee Investment Fund itself first launched in 2026.

A Form D is an exempt-offering notice. It is not SEC approval, verification of investment returns or endorsement of Oaktree Employee Investment Fund, Oaktree Capital Management, Brookfield or any underlying Oaktree strategy.

SEC SNAPSHOT

ISSUER: Oaktree Employee Investment Fund, L.P. | CIK: 0001168648 | SEC FILE NO.: 021-597761 | FILM NO.: 261384606 | FORM D: New Notice | FILED / EFFECTIVE: September 16, 2026

CURRENT FORMATION YEAR REPORTED: 2026 | ENTITY: Delaware Limited Partnership | PRINCIPAL ADDRESS: 333 South Grand Avenue, 28th Floor, Los Angeles, CA 90071 | PHONE: 213-830-6300

INDUSTRY: Pooled Investment Fund — Private Equity Fund | EXEMPTION: Regulation D Rule 506(b) | INVESTMENT COMPANY ACT EXCLUSION: Section 3(c)(7) | REGISTERED INVESTMENT COMPANY: No

SECURITIES: Equity | Pooled Investment Fund Interests | Other: Limited Partnership Interests Series DI

FIRST SALE: June 26, 2026 | OFFERING DURATION: More than one year | TOTAL OFFERING: Indefinite | AMOUNT SOLD: $805,000 | INVESTORS: 7 | FORM D MINIMUM OUTSIDE INVESTMENT: $0 | SALES COMMISSIONS: $0 | FINDER FEES: $0

GENERAL PARTNER: Oaktree Fund GP IIA, LLC

INVESTMENT MANAGER / PROMOTER: Oaktree Capital Management, L.P.

RELATED OAKTREE EXECUTIVES IDENTIFIED IN FORM D: Howard S. Marks | Bruce A. Karsh | Sheldon Stone | John B. Frank | Jay Ghiya | Robert O'Leary | Armen Panossian | Karly Lancaric

FORM D SIGNATORY: Sophie Kim — Assistant Vice President of the Investment Manager

PLACEMENT ENTITIES: Brookfield Private Advisors LLC — CRD 151423 | Brookfield Private Wealth LLC — CRD 313390 | FORM D STATES: They will place investments but are not anticipated to receive sales commissions.

OAKTREE PLATFORM: Global alternative investment manager | LATEST OFFICIAL FIRMWIDE AUM LOCATED: approximately $209B as of June 30, 2025 | CURRENT STRATEGY PAGES: approximately $163B Credit AUM | $30B Equity AUM | $13B Real Estate AUM. THESE ARE OAKTREE PLATFORM / STRATEGY FIGURES, NOT SERIES DI AUM.

HISTORICAL FILER NAMES: OCM Employee Investment Fund, LLC | OCM Employee Investment Fund LLC | Oaktree Employee Investment Fund, L.P.

HISTORICAL SEC RECORD: Same CIK has multiple earlier Form D filings and amendments dating back years, including 2021 and 2023 filings. The 2023 filing described the vehicle as more than five years old.

2026 STRUCTURAL NOTE: The current September 2026 New Notice reports formation year 2026 and specifically offers Series DI. Public SEC materials do not explain whether this represents a legal reorganization, successor partnership, new series structure or another internal restructuring.

UNDERLYING SERIES DI INVESTMENT: Not disclosed publicly in the Form D. FilingDossier does not infer the meaning of "DI" or assign it to an Oaktree strategy without primary-source confirmation.

IMPORTANT FEE NOTE: Form D reports $0 sales commissions and finder fees but explicitly states that confidential offering materials discuss fees payable to the Investment Manager and General Partner. Zero sales commissions should therefore not be interpreted as a fee-free vehicle.

INDEPENDENT VERIFICATION NOTE: SEC EDGAR directly confirms Oaktree Employee Investment Fund Series DI, the Oaktree GP and investment manager, senior Oaktree executives, Brookfield placement entities, Rule 506(b), Section 3(c)(7), $805K sold and seven investors. Earlier SEC filings independently confirm a much older Oaktree employee-investment program under the same CIK. Oaktree's official website independently confirms the scale and investment breadth of the broader sponsor.

PRIMARY SOURCES: SEC EDGAR Form D, Accession No. 0001168648-26-000010; prior Oaktree Employee Investment Fund Form D filings and amendments; Oaktree Capital Management official website and current strategy pages.

Form D is an exempt-offering notice and is not an SEC-issued certificate, approval or endorsement.

Important Form D notice: A Form D filing is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission has approved, licensed, endorsed, or verified the issuer or the offering. Readers should verify information through official SEC sources and conduct their own due diligence.
Verification note: SEC.gov and the relevant regulator's official records remain authoritative. This site's research is independent editorial content.