RESEARCH

Is Hidden Lake Onshore Fund LP Legit? Hidden Lake Asset Management SEC Review 2026

Is Hidden Lake Onshore Fund LP Legit? Hidden Lake Asset Management SEC Review 2026

Japan is strategically interesting for a manager like Hidden Lake because the market contains large technology, semiconductor, automation and industrial businesses alongside ongoing corporate-governance reform, balance-sheet restructuring and shareholder-return initiatives. Those characteristics align naturally with Hidden Lake's preference for companies where asset value, strategic actions or shareholder-friendly management can provide catalysts.

The Japan program also introduces allocation questions. A Japanese technology company could theoretically fit both the flagship global strategy and the dedicated Japan fund. Investors should therefore understand the adviser's allocation policy between Master Fund and Japan vehicles, including how trades are divided when capacity is limited and whether one vehicle may receive different pricing or concentration levels.

The separate SPV structures introduce a third component. Hidden Lake SPV I and SPV II are classified as private-equity-type funds in current regulatory data rather than ordinary hedge-fund feeders. SPV I has historically been connected to investments such as OneDine, a restaurant-technology company that raised a $5 million Series A in 2020. This indicates that Hidden Lake has occasionally moved outside liquid public equities into private or special-purpose opportunities. Investors in the flagship should understand whether such deals can be allocated to the hedge fund, only to SPVs, or offered separately to selected investors.

Q2 2026 PORTFOLIO: SEMICONDUCTORS, OPTIONS AND WHAT THE 13F REVEALS ABOUT RISK

Hidden Lake's June 30, 2026 Form 13F is particularly revealing because it contains both direct equities and large option positions. The reported information-table value was $332,205,873 across 24 entries. This is close enough to the adviser's approximately $378.3 million RAUM to make the filing economically important, while still remaining incomplete because 13F does not disclose conventional short equity positions, cash, many derivatives or non-reportable foreign securities.

The direct semiconductor and hardware positions were substantial. Advanced Micro Devices was approximately $19.52 million. Applied Materials was roughly $14.03 million. STMicroelectronics was approximately $12.97 million. Micron was about $10.02 million. Seagate was approximately $16.29 million. ASML was roughly $6.66 million. Astera Labs was approximately $6.43 million. Intel was roughly $4.88 million. TTM Technologies was approximately $7.43 million.

This group alone shows a coherent semiconductor/AI infrastructure thesis spanning processors, semiconductor equipment, memory, storage, networking/connectivity and European chip manufacturing. Hidden Lake is therefore not simply holding one AI winner. It has exposure at multiple points in the compute supply chain.

The portfolio also includes direct software and internet exposures. Snowflake was approximately $13.43 million, Unity Software approximately $11.04 million and Upstart roughly $9.98 million. Nokia added telecommunications exposure. AerCap introduced aircraft leasing. Alibaba provided direct China-internet exposure.

The options book is even more important. Hidden Lake reported an approximately $73.69 million put position on the iShares Semiconductor ETF, an approximately $35.35 million put on Invesco QQQ, approximately $25.45 million of calls on the KraneShares CSI China Internet ETF, about $18.12 million of calls on a technology ETF, approximately $9.49 million of calls on the iShares MSCI Brazil ETF, plus calls involving DraftKings, Pinterest, Reddit and United Airlines.

These positions should not be mechanically added to direct-stock holdings to estimate economic exposure. Form 13F reports option positions using the market value of the underlying shares represented by the contracts, not the actual option premium paid or true portfolio delta. A $73.7 million notional-style reported put position can have a dramatically different economic impact depending on strike, maturity and delta.

Still, the options reveal clear portfolio-management intent. The large semiconductor ETF put is particularly interesting because Hidden Lake simultaneously owned numerous individual semiconductor companies. That combination could represent sector hedging: long selected chip companies that the manager believes will outperform while using a semiconductor-index put to reduce broader industry beta. It could also reflect a temporary downside hedge against a highly valued sector.

Likewise, the QQQ put provides potential protection against technology-market weakness, while calls on China internet and Brazil show willingness to express regional macro or thematic views through options rather than only individual stocks.

This is one reason the raw 13F should not be described as a simple "$332 million long portfolio." Some of its largest disclosed entries are puts. Economic net exposure could be far lower than the headline information-table value suggests.

The direct holdings also demonstrate concentration. Twenty-four 13F entries is a relatively focused portfolio. If one excludes the ETF option hedges, the number of individual operating-company positions is even smaller. That can produce meaningful alpha when research is correct, but earnings surprises, semiconductor-cycle reversals or regulatory events can materially affect NAV.

STMicroelectronics is a useful example. Hidden Lake held 173,243 shares worth nearly $13 million in Q2 2026, making the stock a meaningful portion of reported holdings. STMicro combines automotive, industrial and semiconductor-cycle exposure. A concentrated investor must correctly assess inventory, pricing, automotive chip demand, European manufacturing economics and competitive pressure.

AMD, Applied Materials, ASML, Micron, Seagate and Astera Labs collectively make the portfolio sensitive to AI infrastructure spending and semiconductor capital expenditure. These companies occupy different parts of the ecosystem but can still become correlated during an AI valuation correction or semiconductor inventory downturn.

The flip side is that Hidden Lake's semiconductor ETF put may provide significant downside protection. Without option delta and strike information, however, outsiders cannot determine how much protection actually existed.

The China exposure is similarly nuanced. Alibaba was held directly while KraneShares China Internet calls created additional optional exposure. China technology investing introduces regulatory, geopolitical, ADR/VIE and macro risks. But options can cap downside at the premium paid while preserving upside, depending on structure.

This multi-layered portfolio suggests Hidden Lake is more sophisticated than an ordinary concentrated long-only technology fund. It combines single-stock fundamental work, tactical options and international themes. It also means investors need substantially more than a 13F to understand true risk.

AUM HISTORY, MASTER FUND SCALE AND WHY FORM D SHOULD NOT BE USED AS NAV

Hidden Lake's AUM has changed materially over its history. Public regulatory summaries show the manager growing from its late-2010s launch into several hundred million dollars of assets. The March 2026 profile reports approximately $378.26 million of RAUM, down modestly year over year but still well above the firm's earliest years.

The Onshore Fund's own Form D history illustrates why cumulative offering sales and AUM diverge. The vehicle began with approximately $250,000 reported in its February 2020 filing. Subsequent amendments added millions of dollars of subscription activity, including approximately $5.8 million in 2021, another $2 million later that year, approximately $10.5 million in 2022 and approximately $4 million in 2023. The latest 2026 amendment reports $22.92 million sold to 18 investors.

Those numbers describe securities issued through the feeder. They do not establish current NAV after investment performance, redemptions and transfers.

Likewise, the Cayman Offshore Fund has its own Form D history and separate investor population. It should not be added to Onshore cumulative sales and then called current fund assets.

The most useful current fund-level scale indicator is instead the Form ADV disclosure for Hidden Lake Master Fund Ltd., which current private-fund data places at approximately $376 million gross assets. That closely aligns with firmwide RAUM because the flagship master structure dominates Hidden Lake's advisory business.

The adviser's 2026 profile reports five accounts and 10 employees, with eight people performing investment-advisory functions in one current regulatory summary. This produces a relatively high AUM-per-employee ratio and confirms that Hidden Lake remains a compact investment organization rather than a multi-hundred-person platform.

A small team is common for a focused long/short hedge fund, but it concentrates responsibility. Kevin Mok and Jonathan Rodriguez are not simply public-facing executives; they are the principals and co-portfolio managers identified in the firm's own regulatory brochure. Their research judgment and risk sizing therefore matter directly to performance.

The appearance of John Morelli as CCO/COO and 2026 13F signatory is a positive operational separation because investment management, compliance and operations are not all formally concentrated in the same person. Earlier senior operating executive Keith Brenner also appears in offshore fund and N-PX filings, showing that Hidden Lake has maintained dedicated compliance/operations roles over time.

OPERATIONAL INFRASTRUCTURE, SERVICE PROVIDERS, REGULATORY RECORD AND FINAL RISK ASSESSMENT

Hidden Lake's service-provider disclosures are stronger than its minimalist public website might suggest. Current Form ADV-derived records across Hidden Lake private funds identify PwC as auditor, Morgan Stanley in fund-administration and custody/prime-broker-related roles, JPMorgan Chase Bank as custodian for certain vehicles and Jefferies as another prime-broker relationship. These are established institutional financial and accounting organizations. Service-provider relationships can differ by vehicle and change over time, so a prospective Onshore Fund investor should verify the current exact configuration from the latest audited financial statements rather than assume every provider serves every Hidden Lake vehicle.

For SPV I, regulatory-derived data specifically identifies JPMorgan Chase Bank as custodian, Morgan Stanley as administrator and PwC as auditor. At the broader manager level, service-provider databases list Morgan Stanley and Jefferies among prime-broker relationships. The use of multiple brokers can be particularly important for a long/short options strategy because financing, margin, stock borrow and counterparty exposure should not be unnecessarily concentrated.

Hidden Lake Master Fund's active LEI and Cayman registration add another identity layer. The fund's LEI record identifies it as an active Cayman mutual fund, with headquarters care of Hidden Lake Asset Management at 152 West 57th Street in New York. This independently links the Cayman master to the U.S. adviser.

The manager's website is unusually sparse. Hiddenlakeam.com primarily provides the firm name, New York address, phone number and investor-relations email rather than a long marketing presentation. That minimalism should not be mistaken for lack of institutional activity because SEC Form ADV and Form 13F data are far richer. It does, however, limit public transparency about team biographies, strategy updates and investor communications compared with managers such as AQR or RA Capital.

No reportable disciplinary history is identified in the current adviser profile reviewed for this article. Hidden Lake's SEC registration has remained effective since May 2019, and it continues to submit current 13F filings. The reviewed primary regulatory sources did not reveal a defining SEC fraud enforcement action involving Hidden Lake, Kevin Mok or Jonathan Rodriguez. That statement should remain narrow: absence of a public enforcement action does not establish that no regulatory examination comment, employment dispute or private investor disagreement has ever occurred.

The main risks are investment-related.

First is technology and semiconductor concentration. Hidden Lake's Q2 2026 direct holdings show meaningful exposure to the AI/semiconductor ecosystem. A slowdown in data-center capex, inventory correction, export restrictions or valuation compression could affect multiple names at the same time.

Second is derivatives risk. ETF puts can hedge downside, but options introduce premium decay, strike and maturity sensitivity, volatility exposure and path dependency. Calls can expire worthless even if the long-term investment thesis proves correct.

Third is short-selling risk. Hidden Lake's ADV explicitly describes short candidates, but ordinary short positions are invisible in 13F. Short losses can exceed invested capital, borrow can be recalled and crowded positions can squeeze sharply.

Fourth is gross-exposure and leverage uncertainty. Public filings do not provide current gross and net exposure. A portfolio with $332 million of 13F positions could carry substantially different actual economic risk depending on shorts, swaps, cash and option delta.

Fifth is key-person risk. Mok and Rodriguez jointly own and manage the firm. Investors should review key-person provisions, investment-committee rules and succession procedures.

Sixth is allocation complexity. The flagship, Japan funds and SPVs can potentially compete for certain opportunities. The manager must fairly allocate investments across funds with different mandates.

Seventh is geographic risk. Hidden Lake invests globally and has direct Asia/Japan programs. Currency changes, geopolitical restrictions, U.S.-China technology controls and local regulation can materially affect portfolio companies.

Eighth is liquidity. Large-cap semiconductor holdings are liquid, but concentrated positions, options and smaller international securities can become harder to trade in stressed markets. A master-feeder structure also means redemption behavior in feeder funds can transmit liquidity demands to the master portfolio.

Overall, Hidden Lake Onshore Fund LP has a strong verification profile. The September 18, 2026 Form D establishes a $22.92 million domestic feeder with 18 investors, but manager and master-fund records show a much larger operation of approximately $378 million. Hidden Lake is SEC registered, principally owned and managed by Kevin Mok and Jonathan Rodriguez, supported by identifiable operations/compliance personnel and connected to established institutional service providers.

The Q2 2026 SEC portfolio provides unusually concrete evidence about what the manager actually does. Hidden Lake held AMD, Applied Materials, ASML, Micron, Seagate, STMicroelectronics, Snowflake, Unity and other technology securities while simultaneously reporting large semiconductor and QQQ put positions and regional/thematic call options. That combination fits a fundamental long/short manager seeking individual-company alpha while actively managing factor and market exposure.

The critical missing information is performance. Form D, Form ADV and Form 13F establish identity, scale and positioning but do not disclose the flagship's audited net returns, historical drawdowns, Sharpe ratio, long/short attribution or current gross/net exposure. Those are the numbers an institutional investor needs before judging investment quality.

SEC SNAPSHOT

Issuer Phone: 212-237-1290 Latest Form D: Form D/A Latest Filing Date: September 18, 2026 SEC Classification: Pooled Investment Fund / Hedge Fund Minimum Investment Reported on Form D: $0 Sales Commissions: $0 Finder's Fees: $0 Investment Manager: Hidden Lake Asset Management LP Latest Form D Signatory: Kevin Mok Signatory Role: Managing Member of General Partner Management Fee: Customary management fees confirmed in Form D Investment Adviser CRD: 298209 SEC Adviser File: 801-115096 SEC Registration Effective: May 1, 2019 Investment Manager CIK: 0001750312 13F File Number: 028-20103 Firm Founded / Organized: 2018 Latest 2026 Regulatory AUM: Approximately $378,263,704 AUM Type: Discretionary regulatory assets under management Latest Reported Accounts: 5 Latest Reported Employees: 10 Investment / Advisory Personnel in Current Regulatory Summary: Approximately 8 Principal Owners / Co-Portfolio Managers: Kevin Ka Wah Mok; Jonathan Andrew Rodriguez Founder / CIO: Kevin Mok Co-Managing Partner / Co-Portfolio Manager: Jonathan Rodriguez Current COO / CCO: John Morelli Historical Senior Operating Executive: Keith Brenner Official Website: hiddenlakeam.com Official Website Address: 152 West 57th Street, Suite 920, New York, NY 10019 Investor Relations Email: [[email protected]](mailto:[email protected]) Primary Strategy: Research-Driven Fundamental Long / Short Global Equities Primary Sectors Named in ADV: Technology; Media; Telecommunications; Consumer; Business Services Long Characteristics: Market leaders; strengthening competitive advantages; discount to asset/strategic value; corporate-action catalysts; shareholder-friendly management; negative sentiment where bear thesis can be disproved Short Characteristics: Overhyped themes; retail-heavy investor bases; underinvestment; weak recurring economics Flagship Master Fund: Hidden Lake Master Fund Ltd Master Fund LEI: 549300PRFOE47MHGST50 Master Fund Jurisdiction: Cayman Islands Master Fund Current Regulatory-Derived GAV: Approximately $376 million Offshore Feeder: Hidden Lake Offshore Fund Ltd Offshore Fund CIK: 0001750427 Additional Vehicles: Hidden Lake SPV I LLC; Hidden Lake SPV II LLC Dedicated Japan Vehicles: Hidden Lake Japan Master Fund Ltd; Hidden Lake Japan Offshore Fund Ltd; Hidden Lake Japan Onshore Fund LP Japan Offshore Fund CIK: 0001999340 Japan Offshore Fund Organized: 2023 SPV Strategy Evidence: Private / special-purpose investments separate from flagship hedge-fund structure Latest Form 13F Period: June 30, 2026 Latest Form 13F Filed: August 14, 2026 Latest 13F Information Table Value: $332,205,873 Latest 13F Entries: 24 Representative Direct Holdings: AMD; Applied Materials; ASML; Astera Labs; Intel; Micron; Nokia; Seagate; Snowflake; STMicroelectronics; TTM Technologies; Unity Software; Upstart; Alibaba; AerCap AMD Reported Value: Approximately $19.52 million Applied Materials Reported Value: Approximately $14.03 million STMicroelectronics Reported Value: Approximately $12.97 million Snowflake Reported Value: Approximately $13.43 million Seagate Reported Value: Approximately $16.29 million Micron Reported Value: Approximately $10.02 million Major Put Position: iShares Semiconductor ETF, approximately $73.69 million underlying-value representation in Form 13F Major QQQ Put: Approximately $35.35 million underlying-value representation China Internet Call Exposure: KraneShares CSI China Internet ETF, approximately $25.45 million underlying-value representation Brazil Call Exposure: iShares MSCI Brazil ETF, approximately $9.49 million underlying-value representation Other Public Call Positions: DraftKings; Pinterest; Reddit; United Airlines Important Options Warning: 13F option value reflects the underlying securities represented and does not equal option premium, delta-adjusted exposure or potential maximum loss Current 13F Does Not Reveal: Ordinary short positions; complete options economics; swaps; cash; many foreign securities; actual gross/net exposure Current Administrator Evidence: Morgan Stanley for disclosed Hidden Lake vehicles Current Auditor Evidence: PwC Custodian Evidence: JPMorgan Chase Bank and Morgan Stanley across disclosed vehicles Prime Broker Evidence: Morgan Stanley and Jefferies in regulatory-derived service-provider data Current Complete Flagship Portfolio: Not publicly disclosed Current Audited Net Performance: Not publicly disclosed Current Gross Exposure: Not publicly disclosed Current Net Exposure: Not publicly disclosed Current Short Book: Not publicly disclosed Current Leverage: Requires investor documents Current Redemption Terms: Requires current offering documents Current Fee Percentages: Requires current PPM/LPA Current ADV Disciplinary Disclosure: No reportable disciplinary history identified in reviewed current adviser profile Major Public Manager-Level SEC Enforcement Identified: No defining SEC fraud enforcement action identified in reviewed primary sources; this does not prove absence of confidential examination matters or private disputes Primary Risks: Technology and semiconductor concentration, AI-capex cyclicality, options and volatility risk, short-selling risk, leverage/gross-exposure uncertainty, U.S.-China technology restrictions, global currency and geopolitical exposure, master-feeder liquidity, multi-fund allocation conflicts and key-person dependence on Kevin Mok and Jonathan Rodriguez Entity Confusion Warning: Do not confuse Hidden Lake Asset Management LP with real-estate, property or unrelated businesses using the Hidden Lake name. Verify CRD 298209, SEC 801-115096, 152 West 57th Street and Kevin Mok/Jonathan Rodriguez. Duplicate Brand Rule: Hidden Lake Onshore Fund, Hidden Lake Offshore Fund, Hidden Lake Master Fund, Hidden Lake SPV I/II and the Hidden Lake Japan fund family belong to the same Hidden Lake Asset Management platform and should not be generated again as separate FilingDossier brands unless a specifically requested vehicle requires standalone analysis. Independent Conclusion: Hidden Lake Onshore Fund LP is a verifiable domestic feeder within a substantially larger New York long/short investment platform. SEC Form D shows $22.92 million sold to 18 investors, while Form ADV and master-fund disclosures show approximately $378 million of manager assets and roughly $376 million associated with the flagship master fund. Hidden Lake's current SEC portfolio demonstrates a genuine technology- and semiconductor-oriented fundamental strategy with substantial option hedging and global thematic exposure. The main unresolved questions concern audited returns, gross/net exposure, derivatives, short-book risk, liquidity, affiliated-fund allocation and manager succession rather than whether Hidden Lake is a legitimate operating hedge fund.

Independent research summary based on SEC Form D, Form ADV, Form 13F, LEI/Cayman records, Hidden Lake's official website and regulatory-derived service-provider information. Form D, SEC adviser registration, public holdings and institutional service providers do not constitute SEC approval, verification of investment performance or a guarantee of investor outcomes.

Verification note: SEC.gov and the relevant regulator's official records remain authoritative. This site's research is independent editorial content.