INDEPENDENT VERDICT
Carlyle Phoenix SPV, L.P. is a newly disclosed private-equity transaction vehicle whose public evidence is unusually strong on sponsor identity but deliberately thin on the underlying investment. On September 14, 2026, three related issuers appeared together: Carlyle Phoenix SPV, L.P., Carlyle Phoenix SPV Coinvestment, L.P. and Carlyle Phoenix SPV Coinvestment-R, L.P. All three were formed in Delaware, use Carlyle's 1001 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington headquarters, identify TC Group Phoenix SPV entities in the GP chain and list Jeremy Anderson, Robert Rosen and David Lobe as authorized persons. All three also reported $0 sold, zero investors and "first sale yet to occur." The distinguishing feature is investor segmentation: the main Phoenix SPV and standard Coinvestment vehicle rely on Section 3(c)(7), while Coinvestment-R relies on Section 3(c)(1). In addition, only the main Phoenix SPV filing identifies Jefferies LLC, CRD 2347, as the placement recipient and estimates $1 million of sales commissions. The legal architecture therefore looks like a transaction-specific Carlyle co-investment program assembled for multiple investor categories before closing, but the SEC filings do not identify the portfolio company, purchase price or acquisition strategy. FilingDossier does not attempt to reverse-engineer the asset from the internal "Phoenix" code name.
THREE FUNDS WERE FILED ON THE SAME MORNING — BUT THEY ARE NOT THREE UNRELATED CARLYLE PRODUCTS
Carlyle Phoenix SPV Coinvestment, L.P., CIK 0002150138, was accepted by the SEC at 9:51 a.m. on September 14, followed by Carlyle Phoenix SPV Coinvestment-R, L.P., CIK 0002149765, at 10:03 a.m., and Carlyle Phoenix SPV, L.P., CIK 0002150137, at 10:21 a.m. Each filing uses the same Washington, D.C. business address and the same 771-210-5884 issuer telephone number. The filings classify the vehicles as private equity funds, use Rule 506(b), report indefinite offering amounts and indicate that the offerings are expected to last one year or less. None had completed a first sale. This coordinated timing, identical internal Phoenix GP chain and shared personnel provide far stronger evidence of one transaction architecture than merely having similar names.
The regulatory split is especially informative. Carlyle Phoenix SPV and Carlyle Phoenix SPV Coinvestment use Section 3(c)(7), which is commonly associated with qualified-purchaser private funds. Carlyle Phoenix SPV Coinvestment-R instead uses Section 3(c)(1), which operates under a different ownership framework. That difference strongly supports the conclusion that Carlyle created multiple investor wrappers around the same broader opportunity, although the Form D does not say whether the R vehicle is designed for a particular tax profile, wealth channel, regulatory category or investor population. Those functions must be confirmed from subscription documents rather than inferred from the suffix.
THE GP CHAIN CONNECTS PHOENIX DIRECTLY TO CARLYLE
The main issuer identifies TC Group Phoenix SPV, L.P. as its general partner and TC Group Phoenix SPV, LLC as the general partner of that GP. Jeremy Anderson, Robert Rosen and David Lobe are then identified as authorized persons of the GP-of-the-GP. That structure mirrors Carlyle's long-standing use of "TC Group" entities in private-equity fund governance and investment holding structures. The 1001 Pennsylvania Avenue address is also Carlyle's Washington headquarters, making the brand connection direct rather than speculative.
The personnel evidence reinforces the same conclusion. Jeremy Anderson has appeared for years as an authorized person or vice president across Carlyle-controlled entities, including Carlyle Partners structures. David Lobe is publicly identified by Carlyle as a Managing Director in Legal and Compliance focused on fund formation and governance. Robert Rosen also repeatedly appears in Carlyle SEC filing authority documents. These are not outside promoters who happen to share an address; they are recurring members of Carlyle's internal fund-management and legal filing infrastructure.
JEFFERIES APPEARS ONLY ON THE MAIN SPV — AND THE $1 MILLION COMMISSION IS ESTIMATED BEFORE FIRST SALE
The main Carlyle Phoenix SPV filing names Jefferies LLC, CRD 2347, at 520 Madison Avenue, New York, as the sales-compensation recipient for solicitation in all U.S. states. The filing estimates $1 million in sales commissions even though amount sold remains $0 and no investor had yet closed. The two reviewed Coinvestment filings do not identify a broker-dealer sales recipient and report $0 sales commissions. This is a real economic difference among the three legal wrappers, not just a change in naming.
Because the main fund had not yet made a first sale, the $1 million commission should not be described as an amount already paid. It is an estimated offering expense. Nor can an implied commission percentage be calculated because the offering amount is indefinite and the eventual capital raised is unknown. The difference nevertheless raises a useful diligence question: why does Carlyle use Jefferies for distribution of the main Phoenix SPV while the two Coinvestment entities report no outside placement recipient Possible explanations include different investor channels or subscription routes, but the public filing does not state which applies.
"PHOENIX" REMAINS AN INTERNAL TRANSACTION NAME, NOT A VERIFIED PORTFOLIO COMPANY
The largest information gap is the underlying asset. None of the September 14 filings identifies a portfolio company, seller, acquisition price, industry or sponsor fund investing alongside Phoenix. Item 10 also states that the securities offering itself is not being made in connection with a business combination transaction. That answer does not mean the SPV cannot ultimately invest in an acquisition or co-invest alongside a Carlyle fund; it only describes the offering covered by Form D.
Carlyle has used code-name SPVs and co-investment vehicles in other transactions, so the word Phoenix should not be matched to a similarly named public or private company without evidence. There are numerous unrelated "Phoenix" companies and historical Carlyle investments. FilingDossier therefore does not connect the 2026 Phoenix structure to Phoenix Exploration, Phoenix Guarantor, any Phoenix-based company or any recently announced Carlyle transaction unless a current transaction filing, portfolio-company release or acquisition document establishes the link.
FINAL ASSESSMENT
Carlyle Phoenix SPV has a strong legal identity but an intentionally incomplete public investment story. SEC records establish three coordinated vehicles, Carlyle's Washington headquarters, TC Group Phoenix GP entities, recurring Carlyle officers, Rule 506(b), a split between 3(c)(7) and 3(c)(1), and a Jefferies placement mandate on the main fund. They also establish something equally important: as of September 14, all three vehicles still reported $0 sold and no first sale. Investors therefore should not describe Phoenix as a completed Carlyle acquisition, a funded co-investment or a specific-size deal yet.
The most important next evidence will be the first Form D amendment or a transaction announcement identifying the underlying asset. Until then, diligence should focus on the reason for the three investor wrappers, whether all vehicles invest pro rata in the same company, which Carlyle flagship fund is sponsoring the opportunity, whether Jefferies-distributed investors receive the same economics as direct co-investors, and what fees or carried interest apply. The SEC filing confirms the architecture; it does not disclose the economic asset inside it.
SEC SNAPSHOT
Brand: Carlyle
Primary Vehicle: Carlyle Phoenix SPV, L.P.
CIK: 0002150137
SEC File No.: 021-597329
Film No.: 261376187
Form D Filing Date: September 14, 2026
Year Organized: 2025
Jurisdiction: Delaware
Entity Type: Limited Partnership
Principal Business Address: 1001 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Suite 220 South Washington, D.C. 20004
Phone: 771-210-5884
Industry: Pooled Investment Fund
Fund Classification: Private Equity Fund
Federal Exemption: Rule 506(b)
Investment Company Act Exclusion: Section 3(c)(7)
Filing Type: New Notice
First Sale: Yet to occur
Offering Duration: One year or less
Offering Amount: Indefinite
Amount Sold: $0
Investors: 0
Minimum Investment Reported: $0
Estimated Sales Commissions: $1,000,000
Finders' Fees: $0
Aggregate NAV: Declined to disclose
PRIMARY GP CHAIN
Issuer: Carlyle Phoenix SPV, L.P.
General Partner: TC Group Phoenix SPV, L.P.
GP of General Partner: TC Group Phoenix SPV, LLC
Jeremy Anderson: Authorized Person of GP of GP
Robert Rosen: Authorized Person of GP of GP
David Lobe: Authorized Person of GP of GP
Form D Signer: Robert Rosen
Signer Title: Vice President of the GP of the GP
COINVESTMENT VEHICLE
Legal Name: Carlyle Phoenix SPV Coinvestment, L.P.
CIK: 0002150138
SEC File No.: 021-597324
Filing Date: September 14, 2026
Year Organized: 2025
Jurisdiction: Delaware
Fund Classification: Private Equity Fund
Federal Exemption: Rule 506(b)
Investment Company Act Exclusion: Section 3(c)(7)
Offering Amount: Indefinite
First Sale: Yet to occur
Amount Sold: $0
Investors: 0
Sales Commissions: $0
Finders' Fees: $0
Address: 1001 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Suite 220 South Washington, D.C. 20004
GP Chain: TC Group Phoenix SPV, L.P. TC Group Phoenix SPV, LLC
Related Persons: Jeremy Anderson Robert Rosen David Lobe
COINVESTMENT-R VEHICLE
Legal Name: Carlyle Phoenix SPV Coinvestment-R, L.P.
CIK: 0002149765
SEC File No.: 021-597325
Filing Date: September 14, 2026
Jurisdiction: Delaware
Fund Classification: Private Equity Fund
Federal Exemption: Rule 506(b)
Investment Company Act Exclusion: Section 3(c)(1)
Offering Amount: Indefinite
First Sale: Yet to occur
Amount Sold: $0
Investors: 0
Sales Commissions: $0
Finders' Fees: $0
Research Significance: Coinvestment-R uses 3(c)(1) while the main and standard Coinvestment vehicles use 3(c)(7), demonstrating a genuine structural difference among the three investor wrappers.
SAME-DAY FILING SEQUENCE
Carlyle Phoenix SPV Coinvestment, L.P. Accepted: September 14, 2026 at 09:51:41
Carlyle Phoenix SPV Coinvestment-R, L.P. Accepted: September 14, 2026 at 10:03:24
Carlyle Phoenix SPV, L.P. Accepted: September 14, 2026 at 10:21:26
Research Significance: All three issuers were filed within roughly 30 minutes, strongly supporting a coordinated transaction launch.
JEFFERIES DISTRIBUTION
Sales Compensation Recipient: Jefferies LLC
CRD: 2347
Address: 520 Madison Avenue New York, New York 10022
Solicitation: All U.S. states
Issuer: Carlyle Phoenix SPV, L.P.
Estimated Sales Commissions: $1,000,000
Amount Sold at Filing: $0
Commission Status: Estimate, not confirmed amount already paid
Jefferies Listed on Standard Coinvestment: No
Jefferies Listed on Coinvestment-R: No
Research Significance: The distribution channel appears to differ among the three Phoenix vehicles.
CARLYLE IDENTITY PENETRATION
Official Carlyle Address: 1001 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20004
Phoenix Address Match: Confirmed
TC Group Structure: Consistent with Carlyle-controlled private fund structures
Jeremy Anderson Carlyle Filing History: Confirmed
Robert Rosen Carlyle Filing History: Confirmed
David Lobe Carlyle Role: Managing Director, Legal and Compliance Focus: Fund formation and governance
David Lobe Joined Carlyle: 2015
Standalone Phoenix Strategy Page: Not identified
Underlying Portfolio Company: Not confirmed
Flagship Fund Investing Alongside Phoenix: Not confirmed
Investment Adviser Specifically Named in Phoenix Form D: Not identified
3(C)(7) VERSUS 3(C)(1)
Main Phoenix SPV: Section 3(c)(7)
Phoenix Coinvestment: Section 3(c)(7)
Phoenix Coinvestment-R: Section 3(c)(1)
What Is Confirmed: The vehicles use different Investment Company Act exclusions.
What Is Not Confirmed: Why the R vehicle uses 3(c)(1) Whether the distinction is driven by tax status Whether it is driven by investor qualification Whether it serves private wealth Whether it serves a specific institutional category
FilingDossier Rule: Do not infer the investor purpose without offering documents.
UNDERLYING TRANSACTION STATUS
Portfolio Company: Not publicly confirmed
Industry: Not publicly confirmed
Transaction Value: Not publicly confirmed
Carlyle Equity Commitment: Not publicly confirmed
Co-Investment Size: Not publicly confirmed
Seller: Not publicly confirmed
Closing Date: Not publicly confirmed
Form D Business Combination Answer: No
Important Interpretation: The Form D offering itself is not labeled a business combination. This does not identify or rule out the type of investment the SPV will ultimately make.
FIVE FACTS UNIQUE TO THIS CASE
- Carlyle filed three separate Phoenix vehicles within approximately 30 minutes on September 14, 2026.
- Every vehicle reported $0 sold, zero investors and first sale yet to occur.
- The main SPV and standard Coinvestment vehicle use Section 3(c)(7), while Coinvestment-R uses Section 3(c)(1).
- The main Phoenix SPV alone identifies Jefferies LLC, CRD 2347, and estimates $1 million in sales commissions before any first sale.
- The filings disclose a detailed Carlyle / TC Group governance chain but do not identify the underlying company or transaction.
CORE INVESTOR QUESTIONS
- What underlying company or asset will Carlyle Phoenix SPV acquire
- What does the internal "Phoenix" designation refer to
- Which Carlyle flagship fund is sponsoring the transaction
- Will all three Phoenix vehicles invest in the same underlying asset
- Why does Coinvestment-R use Section 3(c)(1)
- Why do the other two vehicles use Section 3(c)(7)
- What investors are intended for each wrapper
- Will the three vehicles invest at identical valuations
- Will each receive identical security rights
- Are management fees charged to co-investors
- Is carried interest charged
- Why is Jefferies involved only in the main SPV filing
- Who economically bears the estimated $1 million placement commission
- Will direct Carlyle co-investors avoid distribution expenses borne by Jefferies-sourced investors
- What is the expected capital raise
- What is Carlyle's own equity commitment
- When is the first closing expected
- Will a Form D amendment identify completed subscriptions
ENTITY-SPECIFIC RISKS
No Phoenix vehicle had completed a reported first sale as of September 14, 2026. The underlying investment remains undisclosed. The final amount to be raised is indefinite. The three vehicles may have different investor eligibility and economic terms. A $0 Form D minimum does not reveal the real subscription threshold. The main vehicle anticipates approximately $1 million of sales commissions before any capital has been reported sold. The commission percentage cannot be calculated because the final offering size is unknown. Investors entering through a placement channel may have different economics from direct co-investors. A transaction-specific SPV can carry significant single-asset concentration. The Carlyle sponsor identity does not reveal the value or risk of the undisclosed underlying company. The Phoenix code name should not be connected to a similarly named company without direct evidence.
PRIMARY EVIDENCE REVIEWED
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission Form D filed September 14, 2026 for Carlyle Phoenix SPV, L.P. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission Form D filed September 14, 2026 for Carlyle Phoenix SPV Coinvestment, L.P. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission Form D filed September 14, 2026 for Carlyle Phoenix SPV Coinvestment-R, L.P. Carlyle official corporate and contact records confirming the 1001 Pennsylvania Avenue Washington headquarters. Carlyle official biography for David Lobe. Historical Carlyle SEC filings identifying Jeremy Anderson, Robert Rosen and David Lobe within Carlyle filing and fund-governance structures. FINRA / Form D records identifying Jefferies LLC, CRD 2347.
IMPORTANT FORM D NOTICE
Form D is a notice of an exempt securities offering and does not represent SEC approval, endorsement or verification of Carlyle, Carlyle Phoenix SPV, the co-investment vehicles, Jefferies or any future underlying portfolio company. As of September 14, 2026, all three Phoenix vehicles reported $0 sold, zero investors and no first sale. FilingDossier therefore treats Phoenix as a formed Carlyle transaction structure awaiting its first reported closing and does not infer the underlying investment from the code name.