INDEPENDENT ASSESSMENT
Carlyle Phoenix SPV, L.P. is a verifiable 2025 Delaware private equity vehicle whose September 14, 2026 Form D ties it directly to Carlyle's Washington, D.C. headquarters, senior fund-management personnel and the TC Group legal structure historically used across Carlyle private equity entities. The filing identifies an indefinite Rule 506(b) offering of pooled investment fund interests, claims Investment Company Act Section 3(c)(7), reports $0 sold and zero investors, and states that the first sale had not yet occurred. TC Group Phoenix SPV, L.P. is identified as the issuer's General Partner, TC Group Phoenix SPV, LLC as the GP of that GP, and Jeremy Anderson, Robert Rosen and David Lobe as authorized persons in the upper-level GP structure. The issuer's address — 1001 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Suite 220 South, Washington, D.C. — is Carlyle's official global headquarters.
The sponsor connection is considerably stronger than a simple shared name. Carlyle's own website confirms 1001 Pennsylvania Avenue as its Washington headquarters, while official Carlyle biographies identify Robert Rosen as Managing Director and Chief Financial Officer for Americas Corporate Private Equity and David Lobe as a Managing Director in Legal and Compliance focused on fund formation and governance. Carlyle's historical public filings also repeatedly show Jeremy Anderson signing or acting as an authorized person for TC Group and Carlyle private equity GP entities. Together, those records provide a direct legal and operational bridge from Carlyle Phoenix SPV to the broader Carlyle platform.
What the filing does not disclose is equally important. "Phoenix" appears to be an internal transaction or investment code name, but the September 2026 Form D does not identify an underlying portfolio company, acquisition target, sector, purchase price or asset. FilingDossier did not find sufficient authoritative public evidence to connect these 2026 Phoenix vehicles to the unrelated Phoenix Exploration transaction Carlyle/Riverstone announced in 2006 or to another publicly named transaction. The appropriate conclusion is therefore that Carlyle Phoenix SPV is a genuine Carlyle private equity structure, while the specific underlying Phoenix investment remains undisclosed in the reviewed public record.
CARLYLE PLATFORM, PHOENIX FUND FAMILY AND LEGAL STRUCTURE
Carlyle is one of the world's largest alternative asset managers. As of June 30, 2026, the publicly listed firm reported approximately $485 billion of total assets under management across Global Private Equity, Global Credit and Carlyle AlpInvest. Carlyle also reported 678 investment vehicles, approximately 275 portfolio companies, more than 2,500 professionals and 28 offices worldwide. Within that total, Global Private Equity represented approximately $163 billion of AUM at June 30, 2026. These are Carlyle platform-level figures and must not be presented as assets of Carlyle Phoenix SPV itself.
The September filings show that Phoenix is not represented by one entity alone. Three closely related Delaware limited partnerships filed Form D notices on the same day using the same Carlyle headquarters:
Carlyle Phoenix SPV, L.P. — CIK 0002150137 | SEC File 021-597329 | Section 3(c)(7).
Carlyle Phoenix SPV Coinvestment, L.P. — CIK 0002150138 | SEC File 021-597324 | Section 3(c)(7).
Carlyle Phoenix SPV Coinvestment-R, L.P. — CIK 0002149765 | SEC File 021-597325 | Section 3(c)(1).
All three were formed in Delaware in 2025, all are classified as Private Equity Funds / Pooled Investment Funds, all rely on Rule 506(b), all reported indefinite offerings, and all reported $0 sold and no first sale as of September 14, 2026. The existence of a primary SPV, a Coinvestment vehicle and a separate Coinvestment-R vehicle strongly suggests a transaction-specific capital structure designed to accommodate different investor groups or legal/tax requirements. However, the Form D filings do not explain the economic distinctions among those vehicles, so investors should obtain the organizational chart and offering documents rather than infer the purpose of the "R" suffix.
The GP chain is particularly useful for verification. TC Group Phoenix SPV, L.P. is the General Partner of Carlyle Phoenix SPV, while TC Group Phoenix SPV, LLC sits above it. Carlyle has historically used "TC Group" entities throughout its fund and investment holding structures, and earlier SEC ownership filings repeatedly connect TC Group entities to The Carlyle Group. That continuity makes the Phoenix structure much easier to authenticate than a newly formed fund whose manager has no prior regulatory footprint.
WEBSITE, MANAGEMENT AND INDEPENDENT ENTITY PENETRATION
Carlyle's official website at carlyle.com directly confirms the Washington headquarters used by Phoenix. The firm's official contact page lists 1001 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Suite 220 South, Washington, D.C. 20004 as Carlyle's headquarters. The address therefore matches the Form D exactly, providing one of the strongest possible website-to-issuer identity checks.
Robert Rosen's role also aligns closely with the Phoenix structure. Carlyle identifies him as Managing Director and Chief Financial Officer for Americas Corporate Private Equity. His responsibilities include fund formation, transaction structuring and execution, financial reporting, investment valuations, compliance management and investor relations. Those duties are directly consistent with his appearance as an authorized person of the Phoenix GP structure and his signature on the main Carlyle Phoenix SPV filing.
David Lobe is independently identifiable on Carlyle's official website as a Managing Director in Legal and Compliance focusing on fund formation and governance. Before joining Carlyle in 2015, he worked as counsel to Morgan Stanley Real Estate Investing and the MSREF opportunistic real estate funds. His appearance in the Phoenix Form D is therefore consistent with a legal/fund-governance role rather than evidence that he personally manages the investment thesis.
Jeremy Anderson has a longer Carlyle operating history. Carlyle has publicly described him as a senior finance executive within its private equity operations, and historical SEC filings show him acting as an authorized person for multiple Carlyle / TC Group entities. The combination of Anderson, Rosen and Lobe is therefore significant: all three have independently verifiable roles associated with Carlyle's fund administration, private equity operations, structuring or governance.
The legal names matter for Google and investor verification. "Carlyle Phoenix SPV" is not a separate asset manager with its own independent website. It is a special-purpose private equity vehicle sitting inside Carlyle's fund architecture. Searches for the issuer should therefore naturally connect Carlyle Phoenix SPV, TC Group Phoenix SPV, The Carlyle Group, Robert Rosen, Jeremy Anderson, David Lobe and Carlyle's Washington headquarters rather than expect a dedicated Phoenix-branded public website.
JEFFERIES PLACEMENT ROLE, FUNDRAISING STATUS AND CO-INVESTMENT ECONOMICS
The main Carlyle Phoenix SPV filing identifies Jefferies LLC, CRD 2347, at 520 Madison Avenue in New York, as the sales-compensation recipient and associated broker/dealer. The Form D estimates sales commissions at $1 million and finder's fees at $0. This is a meaningful distinction from the two Phoenix co-investment filings, which report no sales-compensation recipient and $0 sales commissions. That difference may reflect separate distribution channels or investor classes, although the public filings do not explain the commercial arrangement.
Investors should also interpret the $1 million commission estimate carefully. It does not mean Jefferies had already received $1 million by September 14, because the same filing reported $0 of securities sold and no first sale. The amount is an estimated potential offering expense disclosed in advance of fundraising. Investors should determine whether that expense is borne by Phoenix investors, Carlyle, an affiliate or another party and how any placement cost affects net invested capital.
The $0 minimum investment disclosed in Form D should likewise not be taken literally as meaning an outside investor can subscribe with no minimum. Institutional private equity and co-investment vehicles commonly establish actual minimum commitments through subscription documents while Form D reports zero when no fixed regulatory-facing minimum is being specified. The PPM, LPA and subscription agreement should therefore be used for the actual minimum and eligibility requirements.
The existence of separate co-investment funds is economically important. Carlyle can use a flagship fund or primary SPV for its core allocation while offering additional exposure to selected LPs through co-investment structures. Co-investments can provide larger transaction capacity and may carry different management-fee or carried-interest terms from a flagship fund. They also create allocation questions: investors should understand how much of the underlying Phoenix transaction is owned by the main SPV, how much is held through the two co-investment vehicles, whether all vehicles invest at the same valuation and security level, and whether their rights are pari passu.
UNDERLYING INVESTMENT, CONCENTRATION RISK AND WHAT REMAINS UNKNOWN
The single largest public-information gap is the underlying asset. The Form D does not identify what "Phoenix" represents. No business-combination box is checked, but this does not establish that the SPV is unrelated to an acquisition; Form D Item 10 is asking whether the securities offering itself is made in connection with a specified business-combination transaction, not whether the fund ultimately invests in an acquisition.
A transaction-specific SPV generally creates more concentrated risk than a diversified Carlyle flagship fund. If Phoenix holds one company or one transaction, investors are primarily underwriting that single asset rather than Carlyle's entire $485 billion platform. Carlyle's scale, personnel, sourcing network and private equity infrastructure can support underwriting and governance, but they cannot eliminate company-specific leverage, valuation, operating or exit risk.
Investors should therefore obtain the name of the underlying business, industry, enterprise value, equity purchase price, entry EBITDA multiple, debt financing, Carlyle equity contribution, management projections and exit assumptions. Without those numbers, it is impossible to independently assess whether the investment is conservatively or aggressively priced.
Leverage is particularly important. Many control private equity transactions use acquisition financing, meaning equity performance can be amplified by debt but losses can also accelerate if operating performance weakens. Investors need post-closing net debt, interest expense, maturity profile, covenant structure and debt-service capacity rather than relying on Carlyle's firm-level reputation.
Another key question is whether Phoenix is sponsored through a Carlyle flagship Corporate Private Equity fund, a Global Partners strategy, a separately managed account or another pool. Robert Rosen's role strongly connects the structure to Carlyle's Americas Corporate Private Equity operations, but the Form D does not explicitly name the flagship fund supplying capital. FilingDossier therefore does not attribute Phoenix to a specific Carlyle vintage without further documentation.
FINAL CONCLUSION
Carlyle Phoenix SPV has a very strong identity-verification profile.
The September 14, 2026 SEC filing verifies the Delaware private equity issuer, Rule 506(b), Section 3(c)(7), the TC Group Phoenix GP structure, Carlyle's Washington headquarters and the involvement of Jeremy Anderson, Robert Rosen and David Lobe.
Independent Carlyle sources strongly corroborate those relationships.
Carlyle's official website confirms the exact 1001 Pennsylvania Avenue headquarters.
Robert Rosen is publicly identified as CFO of Americas Corporate Private Equity.
David Lobe is publicly identified as a Carlyle Managing Director specializing in fund formation and governance.
Historical Carlyle and SEC records independently support Jeremy Anderson's longstanding role across Carlyle private equity and TC Group fund entities.
The sponsor itself is highly established.
Carlyle reported $485 billion of total AUM as of June 30, 2026, including approximately $163 billion in Global Private Equity, across a platform of hundreds of investment vehicles and portfolio companies.
Those figures establish institutional scale.
They are not Phoenix SPV assets.
The most important unresolved issue is the investment itself.
Carlyle has filed three closely related Phoenix vehicles, but the public Form D record does not identify the underlying company or transaction.
As a result, investors should not substitute Carlyle's firmwide history for vehicle-specific diligence.
The critical documents are the Phoenix PPM, LPA, subscription materials, investment memorandum and underlying transaction financing package.
Those materials should identify the portfolio company, transaction valuation, leverage, ownership percentage, expected hold period, fee structure, co-investment allocation and exit assumptions.
As of September 14, 2026, all three Phoenix vehicles reported $0 sold and no first sale.
Accordingly, public SEC records established the offering structures but did not yet establish completed capital formation.
SEC SNAPSHOT
PRIMARY ISSUER: Carlyle Phoenix SPV, L.P. | CIK: 0002150137 | SEC FILE: 021-597329 | FILM NO.: 261376187 | ENTITY: Delaware Limited Partnership | YEAR ORGANIZED: 2025 | FORM D FILED: September 14, 2026.
ADDRESS: 1001 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Suite 220 South, Washington, DC 20004 | PHONE: 771-210-5884 | FUND TYPE: Private Equity Fund / Pooled Investment Fund | SECURITY: Pooled Investment Fund Interests | EXEMPTION: Rule 506(b) | ICA EXCLUSION: Section 3(c)(7).
OFFERING: Indefinite | AMOUNT SOLD: $0 | INVESTORS: 0 | FIRST SALE: Yet to occur | FORM D MINIMUM: $0 | OFFERING DURATION: Not intended to last more than one year.
PLACEMENT / SALES COMPENSATION: Jefferies LLC | CRD: 2347 | ADDRESS: 520 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10022 | ESTIMATED SALES COMMISSIONS: $1,000,000 | FINDER'S FEES: $0.
RELATED PHOENIX VEHICLES
CARLYLE PHOENIX SPV COINVESTMENT, L.P. | CIK: 0002150138 | SEC FILE: 021-597324 | Delaware LP | Rule 506(b) | Section 3(c)(7) | indefinite offering | $0 sold | zero investors | no first sale | no sales commission reported.
CARLYLE PHOENIX SPV COINVESTMENT-R, L.P. | CIK: 0002149765 | SEC FILE: 021-597325 | Delaware LP | Rule 506(b) | Section 3(c)(1) | indefinite offering | $0 sold | zero investors | no first sale | no sales commission reported.
IMPORTANT CAPITAL DISTINCTION: Carlyle's $485B is firmwide AUM as of June 30, 2026. Approximately $163B is Global Private Equity AUM. Neither figure is Carlyle Phoenix SPV NAV, offering size or transaction equity. The Phoenix Form D filings disclose indefinite offerings and reported $0 sold as of September 14, 2026.
WEBSITE / ENTITY PENETRATION
OFFICIAL SPONSOR DOMAIN: carlyle.com — CONFIRMED | PUBLIC COMPANY INVESTOR DOMAIN: ir.carlyle.com — CONFIRMED | CARLYLE HEADQUARTERS: 1001 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Suite 220 South — EXACT MATCH TO PHOENIX FORM D.
CARLYLE PLATFORM: Founded 1987 | Nasdaq: CG | $485B AUM as of June 30, 2026 | 678 investment vehicles | approximately 275 portfolio companies | 28 offices | 2,500+ professionals — CARLYLE-REPORTED CURRENT PLATFORM DATA.
ROBERT ROSEN: Managing Director / CFO, Americas Corporate Private Equity — OFFICIAL CARLYLE PROFILE CONFIRMED | responsibilities include fund formation, transaction structuring, financial reporting, valuations, compliance and investor relations.
DAVID LOBE: Managing Director, Legal & Compliance — OFFICIAL CARLYLE PROFILE CONFIRMED | focus includes fund formation and governance.
JEREMY ANDERSON: longstanding Carlyle private equity finance / fund-management executive — corroborated through Carlyle and historical SEC records | historical authorized-person role across TC Group / Carlyle private equity entities — CONFIRMED.
TC GROUP PHOENIX SPV STRUCTURE — SEC CONFIRMED | THREE PHOENIX VEHICLES — SEC CONFIRMED | JEFFERIES ROLE ON PRIMARY SPV — SEC CONFIRMED.
DEDICATED PUBLIC PHOENIX WEBSITE — NOT LOCATED | UNDERLYING PHOENIX PORTFOLIO COMPANY — NOT PUBLICLY IDENTIFIED IN REVIEWED AUTHORITATIVE MATERIALS | TRANSACTION VALUE — NOT DISCLOSED | CURRENT NAV — NOT DISCLOSED | EQUITY COMMITMENT — NOT DISCLOSED | ACQUISITION LEVERAGE — NOT DISCLOSED | MANAGEMENT FEE / CARRY — REQUIRES FUND DOCUMENTS.
SAME-NAME / HISTORICAL WARNING: Carlyle/Riverstone invested in a company called Phoenix Exploration Company in 2006. Public evidence reviewed does NOT establish that the 2026 Carlyle Phoenix SPV relates to that historical company. They should not be connected without additional documentation.
CORE INVESTOR QUESTIONS
What company or asset does "Phoenix" represent | Which Carlyle flagship fund or strategy sponsors the transaction | What is the enterprise value and Carlyle entry valuation | How much equity will the main Phoenix SPV invest | How much capital will the two co-investment vehicles provide | Why is a separate Coinvestment-R structure required | Do all three vehicles invest in the same security and at the same valuation | Are investors pari passu | What acquisition leverage will be used | What are net debt / EBITDA and interest coverage | What management fee and carried interest apply to each vehicle | Who bears the estimated $1M Jefferies placement expense | Is that expense offset against Carlyle management fees | What is the expected hold period | What operational improvements are underwritten | What revenue, EBITDA and exit-multiple assumptions support the investment case | What key downside cases were modeled | What reporting and liquidity rights do Phoenix investors receive
CORE RISKS
Single-asset concentration | Underlying company currently undisclosed | Private equity valuation risk | Acquisition leverage | Interest-rate risk | Operating execution risk | Entry-multiple risk | Exit-multiple compression | Long-duration illiquidity | Co-investment allocation complexity | Different investor structures across 3(c)(7) and 3(c)(1) vehicles | Placement-agent expense | Limited public Phoenix-specific disclosure | Carlyle platform performance does not establish Phoenix performance | $485B firmwide AUM is not Phoenix assets | $0 sold at filing means completed fundraising was not established by the initial Form D.
INDEPENDENT CONCLUSION
Carlyle Phoenix SPV, L.P. is a genuine Carlyle-sponsored private equity vehicle with unusually strong regulatory and website identity evidence.
The issuer's headquarters match Carlyle's official Washington, D.C. headquarters exactly.
Its legal structure runs through TC Group Phoenix entities.
Jeremy Anderson, Robert Rosen and David Lobe are named directly in the SEC filing and can each be connected independently to Carlyle's institutional fund-management, private equity, finance or legal infrastructure.
The structure is also broader than one fund.
Carlyle filed a primary Phoenix SPV and two related co-investment vehicles on September 14, 2026.
That architecture is consistent with a transaction-specific private equity investment that can accommodate multiple investor pools.
However, public sources reviewed do not identify the underlying Phoenix asset.
That limitation should remain explicit.
Carlyle's $485 billion platform, approximately $163 billion of Global Private Equity AUM and decades of institutional operating history establish sponsor scale and continuity.
They do not establish the valuation, leverage, performance or investment quality of Phoenix.
The next level of diligence therefore needs to move from sponsor verification to transaction underwriting.
Investors should obtain the underlying company identity, purchase valuation, debt package, Carlyle equity contribution, co-investment allocation, fee schedule, management projections and exit assumptions.
As of the September 14 filings, all three Phoenix issuers reported $0 sold and first sale yet to occur.
Form D confirms exempt securities offerings.
It does not constitute SEC approval of Carlyle, Carlyle Phoenix SPV, TC Group Phoenix SPV, Jefferies, the undisclosed underlying investment, transaction valuation or future investment performance.
PRIMARY EVIDENCE REVIEWED
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — Carlyle Phoenix SPV, L.P. — CIK 0002150137 — Form D filed September 14, 2026 — Rule 506(b) — Section 3(c)(7) — $0 sold — zero investors — first sale yet to occur.
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — Carlyle Phoenix SPV Coinvestment, L.P. — CIK 0002150138 — September 14, 2026 Form D — Rule 506(b) — Section 3(c)(7).
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — Carlyle Phoenix SPV Coinvestment-R, L.P. — CIK 0002149765 — September 14, 2026 Form D — Rule 506(b) — Section 3(c)(1).
The Carlyle Group official website — carlyle.com — Washington headquarters, current platform scale, private-market strategy and global operating footprint.
The Carlyle Group Q2 2026 results — $485B total AUM as of June 30, 2026; approximately $163B Global Private Equity AUM.
Carlyle official Robert Rosen biography — Managing Director and Chief Financial Officer for Americas Corporate Private Equity.
Carlyle official David Lobe biography — Managing Director, Legal and Compliance; fund formation and governance focus.
Historical Carlyle / SEC records — Jeremy Anderson authorized-person and senior fund-management roles across Carlyle private equity entities.
IMPORTANT FORM D NOTICE:
Form D is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the SEC approved Carlyle Phoenix SPV, The Carlyle Group, TC Group Phoenix SPV, Jefferies, the underlying investment, transaction terms or future investment performance.