RESEARCH

Is Breakwater BP Co-Invest Legit? SEC Form D Review of Its Berkshire Partners Link, Cayman Structure and Pre-First-Sale 2026 Launch

Is Breakwater BP Co-Invest Legit? SEC Form D Review of Its Berkshire Partners Link, Cayman Structure and Pre-First-Sale 2026 Launch

INDEPENDENT VERDICT

Breakwater BP Co-Invest, L.P. is a newly formed Cayman Islands co-investment vehicle whose SEC filing is much more revealing about sponsor identity than about fundraising. The September 10, 2026 Form D reports an indefinite offering, $0 sold, zero investors and "first sale yet to occur," so there is no public evidence yet of an actual completed U.S. subscription. What the filing does make unusually clear is the sponsor chain: the issuer's principal business address is "c/o Berkshire Partners LLC, 200 Clarendon Street, 35th Floor, Boston," and all 14 related executives disclosed in the filing use the same Berkshire Partners address. That makes the central research story one of entity attribution. Despite the word "Breakwater," this fund should not be confused with Breakwater Management in Los Angeles, Breakwater Investment Management in Seattle or other similarly named advisers. The 2026 filing points directly to Berkshire Partners, and the legal vehicle should be evaluated as a Berkshire-linked co-invest rather than as part of an unrelated Breakwater platform.

THE NAME IS THE TRAP: "BREAKWATER" DOES NOT POINT TO BREAKWATER MANAGEMENT

Breakwater BP Co-Invest, L.P., CIK 0002153899, was organized in the Cayman Islands in 2026. Its Form D lists the issuer at Berkshire Partners' Boston headquarters and uses Berkshire's 617-227-0050 telephone number. The related-person section names Michael C. Ascione, David C. Bordeau, Candice M. Corvetti, Blake L. Gottesman, Christopher J. Hadley, Lawrence S. Hamelsky, Ross M. Jones, Benjamin D. Levy, Joshua A. Lutzker, Jonathan D. Nuger, Marni F. Payne, Henri E. Rainaud IV, Samuel W. Spirn and Edward J. Whelan, all at the same Berkshire Partners address. This is much stronger evidence than a brand-name resemblance.

That distinction matters because public searches for "Breakwater investment" surface several unrelated firms. Breakwater Management in Los Angeles is a lower-middle-market private equity firm associated with Eric Beckman and the historic Breakwater Structured Growth Opportunities Fund. Breakwater Investment Management in Seattle is an SEC-registered wealth manager. Breakwater Property Partners is a Southern California real-estate operator. None of those entities appears in the 2026 Breakwater BP Co-Invest Form D. FilingDossier therefore attributes this issuer to the Berkshire Partners ecosystem based on address, telephone and personnel, not to any other Breakwater-named company.

THE FILING IS PRE-FIRST-SALE, SO FUNDRAISING CLAIMS SHOULD BE RESTRAINED

The September 2026 notice is unusually early-stage. It is a new Form D, not an amendment. The fund selected Rule 506(b) and both Sections 3(c)(1) and 3(c)(7), offered equity and pooled investment fund interests, declined to disclose NAV and reported an indefinite offering. Most importantly, it checked "first sale yet to occur," with $0 sold and zero investors. The filing also states that the offering is not intended to last more than one year and reports no sales commissions or finder fees.

For a co-investment vehicle, that timing can be meaningful. Sponsors often create the legal entity shortly before admitting investors into a specific transaction. But the SEC filing does not identify the underlying portfolio company, transaction size, purchase price, security class or expected closing date. Because no first sale had occurred at filing, any article that describes the vehicle as already funded, closed or actively invested would go beyond the public evidence. The correct 2026 description is a formed and noticed co-investment vehicle awaiting its first reported sale.

THE BERKSHIRE PARTNERS PERSONNEL LIST IS THE STRONGEST SPONSOR EVIDENCE

The 14-person related-party roster is unusually large for a newly created co-invest fund and closely resembles the governance structure of a major institutional private-equity sponsor rather than a small standalone SPV. Several names are senior Berkshire Partners professionals whose roles span investing, legal, operations and firm leadership. The sheer breadth of that list suggests that the Form D is capturing governance across Berkshire's broader control structure rather than naming only the one or two deal professionals responsible for the underlying transaction.

That is important for diligence because the actual decision-making chain may be narrower than the filing's related-person list. Investors should determine which Berkshire team or strategy sponsored Breakwater BP Co-Invest, which investment committee approved the transaction, which individuals have authority over the GP and whether the vehicle is affiliated with a specific Berkshire Partners flagship fund. The Form D confirms the Berkshire connection but does not identify the underlying flagship fund or explain what "BP" means in the legal name. FilingDossier does not assume that BP necessarily means Berkshire Partners even though the address and personnel strongly establish the Berkshire relationship; the exact legal abbreviation should be confirmed from fund documents.

WHY A CAYMAN CO-INVEST VEHICLE MAY EXIST ALONGSIDE A U.S. SPONSOR

The Cayman domicile is another case-specific feature. Berkshire Partners is headquartered in Boston, yet Breakwater BP Co-Invest is a Cayman Islands limited partnership. A Cayman vehicle can be used for non-U.S. investors, tax-sensitive investors or a broader parallel structure, but the public Form D does not specify the reason here. The simultaneous use of both Section 3(c)(1) and 3(c)(7) exclusions also suggests the offering may be designed to accommodate different investor eligibility profiles within a private-fund structure, but the exact class or feeder mechanics are not disclosed.

The correct diligence question is therefore whether Breakwater BP Co-Invest is the main co-investment vehicle, an offshore feeder, a parallel fund or one component of a larger transaction structure. Investors should ask whether a Delaware or other U.S. parallel vehicle exists, whether both invest in the same underlying asset, and whether tax, voting or fee terms differ by jurisdiction.

FINAL ASSESSMENT

Breakwater BP Co-Invest has a very strong sponsor-identification trail but almost no public fundraising history yet. The September 2026 Form D confirms a Cayman LP, a Berkshire Partners Boston address, a Berkshire telephone number, 14 Berkshire-linked related persons, Rule 506(b), private-fund exclusions and a pre-first-sale status. Those facts are enough to establish that this is not the Los Angeles Breakwater Management platform or the Seattle Breakwater RIA, but they are not enough to evaluate the economic quality of the co-investment.

The most important next-step questions are specific to the transaction: what company or asset the fund will acquire, which Berkshire flagship vehicle is investing alongside it, how much capital Berkshire and the main fund are contributing, whether co-investors receive identical economics, what fees and carry apply, and why the vehicle is domiciled in Cayman. Until a first sale or additional offering documentation appears, the strongest conclusion is structural rather than financial: the issuer is a Berkshire-linked co-investment vehicle that had not yet begun reported fundraising when its Form D was filed.

SEC SNAPSHOT

Legal Issuer: Breakwater BP Co-Invest, L.P.

CIK: 0002153899

Form D Filing Date: September 10, 2026

Entity Type: Limited Partnership

Jurisdiction: Cayman Islands

Year Organized: 2026

Principal Business Address: c/o Berkshire Partners LLC 200 Clarendon Street, 35th Floor Boston, Massachusetts 02116

Phone: 617-227-0050

Industry: Pooled Investment Fund

Fund Classification: Other Investment Fund

Federal Exemption: Rule 506(b)

Investment Company Act Exclusions: Section 3(c)(1) Section 3(c)(7)

Security Types: Equity Pooled Investment Fund Interests

Filing Type: New Notice

First Sale: Yet to occur

Offering Amount: Indefinite

Amount Sold: $0

Amount Remaining: Indefinite

Investors: 0

Sales Commissions: $0

Finders' Fees: $0

Offering Duration: One year or less

BERKSHIRE PARTNERS LINK

Issuer Address: c/o Berkshire Partners LLC

Address: 200 Clarendon Street, 35th Floor Boston, Massachusetts 02116

Telephone: 617-227-0050

Address Match to Related Persons: Confirmed

Related Executives Listed: 14

Research Conclusion: The legal issuer is strongly linked to Berkshire Partners through address, phone and personnel rather than merely through a similar name.

RELATED PERSONS

Michael C. Ascione

David C. Bordeau

Candice M. Corvetti

Blake L. Gottesman

Christopher J. Hadley

Lawrence S. Hamelsky

Ross M. Jones

Benjamin D. Levy

Joshua A. Lutzker

Jonathan D. Nuger

Marni F. Payne

Henri E. Rainaud IV

Samuel W. Spirn

Edward J. Whelan

Common Address: c/o Berkshire Partners LLC 200 Clarendon Street, 35th Floor Boston, Massachusetts

SEC Relationship: Executive Officers of the Issuer

NAME-CONFUSION PENETRATION

Breakwater BP Co-Invest: Berkshire Partners-linked 2026 Cayman co-investment issuer

Breakwater Management: Separate Los Angeles private investment firm

Breakwater Structured Growth Opportunities Fund: Historical fund managed by Breakwater Investment Management LLC in Los Angeles Not identified as related to Breakwater BP Co-Invest

Breakwater Investment Management: Separate Seattle SEC-registered wealth adviser CRD 150841 Not identified as related to this issuer

Breakwater Property Partners: Separate Southern California real-estate investment company Not identified as related to this issuer

Research Rule: Do not merge entities solely because they use the word "Breakwater."

WEBSITE / ENTITY PENETRATION

Berkshire Partners Connection: Strongly confirmed through SEC issuer address and related persons

Standalone Breakwater BP Co-Invest Website: Not confirmed

Underlying Portfolio Company: Not confirmed

Specific Berkshire Strategy: Not confirmed

Specific Flagship Fund Relationship: Not confirmed

Meaning of "BP" in Legal Name: Not independently confirmed from the Form D

GP Legal Name: Not clearly disclosed in the public Form D fields reviewed

Investment Adviser Legal Name: Not separately identified in the Form D

CRD / SEC 801 for Issuer: Not applicable / not confirmed

Important Interpretation: The Form D provides strong sponsor attribution but limited deal-specific disclosure.

PRE-FIRST-SALE STATUS

Form D Status: New Notice

First Sale: Yet to occur

Amount Sold: $0

Investors: 0

Research Significance: The vehicle existed legally and had filed its Reg D notice, but public evidence had not yet recorded an investor closing as of September 10, 2026.

What Is Not Yet Publicly Confirmed: Initial closing date Initial investor count Capital raised after filing Underlying company Security purchased Transaction valuation Closing size Co-investment ratio

CAYMAN STRUCTURE QUESTIONS

Jurisdiction: Cayman Islands

Sponsor Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Potential Structural Uses: Offshore investor access Tax-sensitive investor participation Parallel fund structure Transaction-specific co-investment structuring

Important Qualification: These are common possible uses of Cayman structures, but the specific reason for this vehicle's Cayman domicile is not disclosed in the reviewed Form D.

FIVE FACTS UNIQUE TO THIS CASE

  1. Breakwater BP Co-Invest is a Cayman vehicle even though every related-person address in the filing points to Berkshire Partners in Boston.
  2. The filing lists 14 Berkshire-linked executive officers, an unusually broad governance roster for a newly formed co-investment vehicle.
  3. The September 2026 filing was made before the first sale and reports $0 sold and zero investors.
  4. The issuer uses both Sections 3(c)(1) and 3(c)(7) while offering equity and pooled investment fund interests.
  5. The name "Breakwater" creates a real risk of confusion with several unrelated Breakwater-branded investment firms, but the SEC record itself points to Berkshire Partners rather than those firms.

CORE INVESTOR QUESTIONS

  1. What underlying company or asset will Breakwater BP Co-Invest acquire
  2. Which Berkshire Partners flagship fund is sponsoring or investing alongside the vehicle
  3. What does "BP" mean in the legal fund name
  4. Is Breakwater the internal transaction code name
  5. Why was the vehicle formed in the Cayman Islands
  6. Is there a U.S. parallel or feeder vehicle
  7. Which legal entity acts as GP
  8. Which legal entity acts as investment adviser or manager
  9. Which of the 14 related executives are directly responsible for the transaction
  10. What percentage of the transaction will be funded by Berkshire's main fund versus co-investors
  11. Are co-investors receiving the same purchase price and security terms as the flagship fund
  12. Is management fee charged on co-invested capital
  13. Is carried interest or another performance allocation charged
  14. Are broken-deal expenses shared with the flagship fund
  15. What happens if the underlying acquisition does not close after investors commit

ENTITY-SPECIFIC RISKS

The fund had not completed a reported first sale when the Form D was filed. The underlying investment is not identified in the public filing. The indefinite offering amount provides no public target size. The Cayman domicile creates a cross-border legal layer despite the U.S.-based sponsor. The broad related-person roster does not reveal which professionals are actually leading the transaction. The fund name can easily be confused with unrelated Breakwater investment firms. A co-investment vehicle may be concentrated in one company or transaction. Co-invest investors may depend heavily on the diligence performed by the flagship sponsor. Fees, carry and expense-sharing terms are not visible in Form D. The relationship to a specific Berkshire Partners flagship fund is not publicly identified in the reviewed filing.

PRIMARY EVIDENCE REVIEWED

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission Form D filed September 10, 2026 for Breakwater BP Co-Invest, L.P. SEC Form D issuer data showing Cayman Islands organization and Berkshire Partners Boston address. SEC related-person disclosures listing 14 executives at Berkshire Partners. Public regulatory records distinguishing unrelated Breakwater Investment Management and Breakwater Management entities. Berkshire Partners public corporate information used to cross-check address and personnel identity.

IMPORTANT FORM D NOTICE

Form D is a notice of an exempt securities offering and does not represent SEC approval, endorsement or validation of Breakwater BP Co-Invest, Berkshire Partners or the underlying co-investment. In this case, the filing had been submitted before any first sale was reported. FilingDossier therefore treats the vehicle as a newly formed Berkshire-linked co-investment structure and does not infer fundraising success, portfolio value or transaction completion from the filing alone.

Verification note: SEC.gov and the relevant regulator's official records remain authoritative. This site's research is independent editorial content.