RESEARCH

Is Arlington Private Equity Fund VII Legit? SEC Form D Review of Its $104.1M Raise, Family-Office Structure and Arlington Capital Partners Name Confusion 2026

Is Arlington Private Equity Fund VII Legit? SEC Form D Review of Its $104.1M Raise, Family-Office Structure and Arlington Capital Partners Name Confusion 2026

INDEPENDENT VERDICT

Arlington Private Equity Fund VII, LLC belongs to Arlington Partners LLC, the Birmingham, Alabama SEC-registered investment adviser and family-office platform—not Arlington Capital Partners, the Washington-area private-equity sponsor that separately raised a multibillion-dollar Fund VII. That distinction is essential because the names are similar enough to create a major research and SEO identity risk. The Birmingham fund began selling interests on September 16, 2025 and initially reported $13.3 million from one investor. Its September 14, 2026 amendment reports $104.115 million sold to 85 investors, meaning reported subscriptions increased by $90.815 million in roughly one year. The vehicle uses Rule 506(b), Section 3(c)(7), an indefinite offering and a nominal $1 Form D minimum, reports no placement agent and no sales commissions, and states that the fund manager receives an annual management fee based on assets under management. Arlington Partners' own regulatory footprint is substantial: CRD 109335 / SEC 801-57250, approximately $2.31 billion of regulatory AUM in its March 2026 Form ADV, multiple private funds, a public 13F portfolio, and a broader family-office business that now markets approximately $16 billion of "assets under stewardship." Those figures measure different things and should not be collapsed into Fund VII's size.

The fundraising progression is unusually clear. Arlington Private Equity Fund VII, CIK 0002086131, was formed in Delaware in 2025 and filed its first Form D on September 16, 2025, the same date as its stated first sale. That original notice reported an indefinite offering, $13.3 million sold and only one investor. The September 14, 2026 amendment reports $104.115 million sold to 85 investors. The increase is exactly $90.815 million, which matches the incremental change visible in filing-history databases. If capital were evenly distributed—which should not be assumed—the latest total would average about $1.225 million per investor. More importantly, this is not a fund with a fixed $104.115 million target: the offering remains indefinite, so $104.115 million is the amount reported sold as of the amendment date, not a hard-cap or final fund size. The filing also classifies the vehicle as a Pooled Investment Fund but selects "Other Investment Fund," not the Form D "Private Equity Fund" subtype despite the legal name. That regulatory classification is a meaningful detail and argues against automatically describing the vehicle as a conventional direct-buyout fund without its private placement memorandum.

Arlington's prior private-equity vehicles show a long-running pooled-fund architecture. Arlington Private Equity Fund III was already filing in 2013 with Arlington Fund Manager LLC and Arlington Partners LLC in the promoter/manager chain. Fund VI, formed in 2023, initially reported $30.8 million sold, reached approximately $128.97 million by its 2025 amendment and reported $189.514 million sold in February 2026 against a $250 million offering. Fund VII therefore does not represent Arlington's first attempt at private-market pooling; it follows multiple numbered vintages built from the same Birmingham office and the same adviser ecosystem. Arlington's 2026 Form ADV additionally links the adviser to Arlington Diversified Fund LLC, Arlington Global Value Fund LP, Arlington IG Real Estate Fund LLC, Arlington Income Fund LLC, Arlington Private Equity Fund VI and Fund VII. This broader lineup matters because Arlington's business model is asset-allocation driven: its client disclosures explicitly state that portfolios can include public equities, fixed income, hedged strategies, private equity, real estate and alternative investments, and that Arlington sometimes pools client capital into privately placed funds where an affiliate serves as manager, managing member or GP.

That family-office context explains several numbers that otherwise look contradictory. Arlington Partners' March 26, 2026 Form ADV reports approximately $2.3117 billion of regulatory assets under management across 24 accounts. ADV-derived private-fund data shows roughly $1.5 billion of gross private-fund assets, including hundreds of millions categorized in private equity, real estate and hedge-fund strategies. Yet Arlington's current public website advertises approximately $16 billion of "Assets Under Stewardship," serving 84 families and 870 family members. Those numbers are not necessarily inconsistent because "assets under stewardship" is a broader marketing concept than SEC regulatory AUM and may include assets on which Arlington provides family-office, fiduciary, reporting, planning or non-discretionary stewardship services without counting them as regulatory managed assets. FilingDossier therefore treats $2.31 billion as the regulator-defined adviser AUM figure and $16 billion as Arlington's separate company-reported stewardship metric. The difference is too large to ignore and should be explained rather than choosing whichever number looks more impressive.

Another useful cross-check comes from Arlington's public-markets filings. Arlington Partners files Form 13F under CIK 0001389848; its June 30, 2026 13F reported only about $55.4 million of reportable U.S.-listed securities across 64 positions. That is tiny relative to the adviser's $2.31 billion RAUM and even smaller relative to the $16 billion stewardship claim. The gap reinforces what the broader Form ADV already suggests: a large portion of Arlington's economic activity sits outside ordinary 13F-reportable public equities, including private funds, private equity, real estate, alternative investments, fixed income and family-office assets. Fund VII therefore belongs inside a genuinely multi-asset private wealth platform rather than a standalone private-equity shop.

The biggest identity trap is the unrelated Arlington Capital Partners. In October 2025, Arlington Capital Partners announced a $6 billion close for Arlington Capital Partners VII, a North American middle-market buyout fund focused on sectors such as aerospace, defense, government services and healthcare. Institutional materials show large pension commitments to that vehicle. None of that evidence belongs to Arlington Private Equity Fund VII, LLC reviewed here. The Birmingham issuer uses Arlington Partners LLC, Ken Polk, 2000 Morris Avenue, CRD 109335 and SEC 801-57250; Arlington Capital Partners is a separate private-equity organization with different management, strategy and legal entities. Because both organizations have a "Fund VII" and both operate in private markets, mixing the two can produce a massive false inflation of fund size—from $104.115 million reported sold for Birmingham's Arlington Fund VII to $6 billion for the unrelated Arlington Capital Partners VII.

SEC AND ADVISER EVIDENCE

Reviewed Vehicle: Arlington Private Equity Fund VII, LLC

CIK: 0002086131

SEC File No.: 021-557647

Jurisdiction: Delaware

Year Organized: 2025

Principal Address: 2000 Morris Avenue Suite 1300 Birmingham, Alabama 35203

Phone: 205-488-4345

Latest Form D/A: September 14, 2026

First Sale: September 16, 2025

Federal Exemption: Rule 506(b)

Investment Company Act Exclusion: Section 3(c)(7)

SEC Industry: Pooled Investment Fund

Form D Fund Subtype: Other Investment Fund

Private Equity Fund Box: Not selected in latest reviewed Form D

Offering Duration: More than one year

Offering Amount: Indefinite

Amount Sold: $104,115,000

Investors: 85

Minimum Investment Reported: $1

Sales Commissions: $0

Finders' Fees: $0

Named Placement Agent: None

Management Fee: Form D states that the fund manager receives an annual management fee calculated as a specified percentage of assets under management.

Executive Officer / Signer: Kenneth H. Polk

Signer Title: Chief Executive Officer

FUND VII CAPITAL DEVELOPMENT

September 16, 2025 Initial Filing: $13,300,000 sold

Investor Count: 1

September 14, 2026 Amendment: $104,115,000 sold

Investor Count: 85

Increase in Reported Amount Sold: $90,815,000

Growth Multiple: Approximately 7.8x the initial reported amount

Average Capital Per Investor if Equal: Approximately $1.225 million

Important Qualification: Actual investor commitments may vary substantially.

Final Fund Size: Not established

Reason: Offering remains indefinite.

ARLINGTON PARTNERS REGULATORY IDENTITY

Investment Adviser: Arlington Partners LLC

CRD: 109335

SEC File: 801-57250

SEC Registration: Registered investment adviser

Registration History: SEC-approved since 2000

Firm Organization: Alabama Organized in 1999

CIK: 0001389848

March 26, 2026 Regulatory AUM: Approximately $2.312 billion

Reported Accounts: 24

Discretionary RAUM: Approximately $2.312 billion

Principal Office: The John Hand Building 2000 Morris Avenue, Suite 1300 Birmingham, Alabama 35203

Official Domain: arlington.com

PRIVATE-FUND PLATFORM

2026 ADV-linked private vehicles include:

Arlington Private Equity Fund VII, LLC Arlington Private Equity Fund VI, LLC Arlington IG Real Estate Fund, LLC Arlington Income Fund, LLC Arlington Global Value Fund, L.P. Arlington Diversified Fund, LLC

ADV-derived Private Fund Gross Asset Value: Approximately $1.5 billion

Private Equity Fund GAV: Approximately $342 million

Real Estate Fund GAV: Approximately $227 million

Hedge Fund GAV: Approximately $135 million

Other Private Fund GAV: Approximately $963 million

Important Qualification: These are platform-level private-fund values and not assets of Fund VII.

PRIVATE EQUITY FUND VI COMPARISON

Vehicle: Arlington Private Equity Fund VI, LLC

CIK: 0001992466

Formation: 2023

Initial 2023 Amount Sold: $30,800,000

2025 Reported Increment: Approximately $98,170,000

February 6, 2026 Amount Sold: $189,514,000

Offering Target: $250,000,000

Exemption: Rule 506(b)

Investment Company Act Exclusion: Section 3(c)(7)

Manager: Arlington Fund Manager, LLC

Promoter: Arlington Partners, LLC

Executive: Kenneth H. Polk

Research Significance: Fund VII follows an established Arlington private-market vintage structure rather than representing a first-time manager launch.

LONGER FUND LINEAGE

Arlington Private Equity Fund III: Form D filed 2013 Reported amount sold: approximately $12.225 million

Arlington Private Equity Fund IV: Form D history beginning 2016 Reported historical fundraising: approximately $22 million

Arlington Private Equity Fund V: Form D history through 2021

Arlington Private Equity Fund VI: 2023–2026 $189.514 million sold as of February 2026

Arlington Private Equity Fund VII: 2025–2026 $104.115 million sold as of September 2026

Research Significance: The numbered series spans more than a decade of Arlington-managed private-equity-oriented pooling.

FAMILY-OFFICE BUSINESS

Public Brand: Arlington Family Offices

Official Website Metrics: Approximately $16 billion Assets Under Stewardship 84 Families Served 870 "Souls Under Management" 67 Team Members 42 Advanced Designations 28 Years Serving Families

Founder and CEO: Ken Polk

Public Positioning: Independent purpose-governed family office

Services / Portfolio Context: Investment management Family wealth planning Fiduciary services Private investments Real estate Alternative investments Multi-generational family-office services

WHY $16B IS NOT THE SAME AS $2.31B

SEC Regulatory AUM: Approximately $2.31 billion

Company-Reported Assets Under Stewardship: Approximately $16 billion

Difference: Approximately $13.7 billion

Correct Interpretation: The two metrics use different definitions.

SEC RAUM: Assets qualifying as regulatory assets under management under Form ADV methodology.

Assets Under Stewardship: Broader Arlington company metric potentially covering assets influenced, monitored, reported on or stewarded through wider family-office relationships.

FilingDossier Treatment: Do not describe Arlington as a $16 billion RIA based solely on the website metric. Do not reduce Arlington's broader family-office platform to only $2.31 billion either.

PUBLIC-MARKETS CROSS-CHECK

Arlington Partners Form 13F: Filed July 7, 2026

Reporting Period: June 30, 2026

Approximate Reportable 13F Value: $55.4 million

Reported Public Positions: 64

SEC RAUM: Approximately $2.31 billion

Research Significance: The large gap between 13F-reportable equities and total RAUM demonstrates that Arlington's asset base extends substantially beyond ordinary U.S.-listed equity holdings.

Important Limitation: 13F excludes many asset classes and should never be interpreted as total firm AUM.

INVESTMENT APPROACH EVIDENCE

Arlington's regulatory client disclosure states that client portfolios can include: Equities Fixed income Mutual funds ETFs Hedged strategies Private equity Real estate Alternative investments

Arlington also states that: Client capital may be pooled for specific investment objectives. Affiliates may act as fund manager, managing member or general partner. Arlington commonly acts as investment adviser to those privately placed funds.

Research Significance: Fund VII sits inside a broader asset-allocation and family-office architecture rather than a pure standalone buyout platform.

CRITICAL NAME-DISAMBIGUATION

THIS ISSUER: Arlington Private Equity Fund VII, LLC

Manager: Arlington Partners LLC

Location: Birmingham, Alabama

CEO: Kenneth H. Polk

CRD: 109335

SEC Adviser File: 801-57250

Latest Amount Sold: $104.115 million

DIFFERENT / UNRELATED ORGANIZATION: Arlington Capital Partners

Fund: Arlington Capital Partners VII

Reported Final Close: $6 billion

Strategy: North American middle-market control private equity

Common Investment Themes: Aerospace Defense Government services Healthcare Technology / critical industries

FilingDossier Conclusion: The $6 billion Arlington Capital Partners VII fund must not be attributed to Birmingham-based Arlington Private Equity Fund VII.

WHAT PUBLIC RECORDS STILL DO NOT ESTABLISH

Fund VII Underlying Managers: Not publicly identified

Fund VII Portfolio Companies: Not publicly identified

Direct Buyout Investments: Not publicly confirmed

Primary Fund Commitments: Not publicly confirmed

Secondaries Exposure: Not publicly confirmed

Co-Investments: Not publicly confirmed

Geographic Allocation: Not publicly confirmed

Vintage Diversification: Not publicly confirmed

Fund VII Hard Cap: Not publicly confirmed

Current NAV: Not publicly confirmed

Management Fee Percentage: Not disclosed in Form D

Performance Fee / Carry: Not disclosed in Form D

Auditor: Not identified in the reviewed Form D

Administrator: Not identified in the reviewed Form D

Custodian: Not identified in the reviewed Form D

INDEPENDENT ASSESSMENT

Arlington Private Equity Fund VII has a substantially stronger institutional verification trail than an isolated private fund. The issuer sits inside a Birmingham investment adviser that has been SEC registered for more than two decades, reports approximately $2.31 billion of regulatory AUM, maintains multiple private funds across private equity, real estate and other strategies, files Form 13F, and operates a family-office platform serving dozens of wealthy families. Fund VII itself has progressed from $13.3 million and one investor in September 2025 to $104.115 million and 85 investors by September 2026, with no reported broker commissions or placement-agent fees.

What remains unresolved is the portfolio construction behind the "Private Equity Fund VII" name. The latest Form D actually classifies it as an "Other Investment Fund," not a Private Equity Fund subtype, and public materials do not identify direct acquisitions, underlying managers, secondary transactions or co-investments. Arlington's client disclosures show that the firm uses pooled vehicles to obtain diversification, manager access, tax efficiency and cost advantages, but that platform philosophy is not enough to determine Fund VII's exact mandate. Investors should therefore obtain the PPM and current portfolio schedule before assuming Fund VII is a traditional control-buyout fund.

The most important research safeguard is identity. Arlington Private Equity Fund VII is not the $6 billion Arlington Capital Partners VII. They are separate managers, separate funds and separate strategies. Confusing them would inflate the apparent size of the Birmingham vehicle by almost sixty times and attach unrelated institutional commitments and portfolio activity to the wrong manager.

Form D is a notice of an exempt securities offering and does not constitute SEC approval or endorsement of Arlington Private Equity Fund VII, Arlington Partners LLC, Ken Polk or any underlying investment. The $104.115 million amount is reported securities sold, the $2.31 billion figure is adviser-level regulatory AUM, and the $16 billion figure is Arlington's broader company-reported assets-under-stewardship metric; none of those measurements should be used interchangeably.

Important Form D notice: A Form D filing is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission has approved, licensed, endorsed, or verified the issuer or the offering. Readers should verify information through official SEC sources and conduct their own due diligence.
Verification note: SEC.gov and the relevant regulator's official records remain authoritative. This site's research is independent editorial content.