Independent Verdict
270 Private Capital Fund III, LP has a verifiable SEC Form D filing and a clearly identifiable institutional fundraising structure.
The Delaware limited partnership operates under CIK 0002144469 and filed its first Form D on July 29, 2026.
The filing identifies the vehicle as:
Private Equity Fund
Rule 506(b)
Section 3(c)(7)
and a pooled investment fund that is not registered as an investment company under the Investment Company Act of 1940.
But the most important detail is what had not happened yet.
At the time of the filing:
Total Amount Sold: $0
Total Investors: 0
Date of First Sale: First Sale Yet to Occur
Total Offering: Indefinite
This makes 270 Private Capital Fund III materially different from many of the funds recently reviewed by FilingDossier.
The legal and distribution infrastructure had already been created before investor capital was reported.
The filing even identifies J.P. Morgan Securities LLC as the sales compensation recipient and placement agent, with estimated sales commissions of approximately $1.28 million.
That means the Form D captures the fund at a very early point in its lifecycle:
after the offering structure was established,
but before the first reported investor subscription.
For investors and researchers, this is useful because future Form D amendments can be compared against a clean $0 baseline.
Key Findings
Issuer: 270 Private Capital Fund III, LP
CIK: 0002144469
SEC File No.: 021-592520
Entity Type: Limited Partnership
Jurisdiction: Delaware
Formation Year: 2026
Initial Filing Date: July 29, 2026
Filing Type: New Form D
Industry: Pooled Investment Fund
Fund Type: Private Equity Fund
Federal Exemption: Rule 506(b)
Investment Company Act Exclusion: Section 3(c)(7)
Total Offering: Indefinite
Amount Sold at Initial Filing: $0
Investors at Initial Filing: 0
First Sale: Yet to Occur
Minimum Investment Reported: $0
Placement Agent: J.P. Morgan Securities LLC
Placement Agent CRD: 79
Estimated Sales Commissions: $1,280,000
Finder's Fees: $0
Principal Address:
390 Madison Avenue 27th Floor New York, NY 10017
Phone:
212-464-1649
Related Executive:
Samantha Beattie
Form D Signer:
Samantha Beattie
Title:
VP of the Issuer's GP
This Is a Pre-Fundraising Form D Snapshot
The most distinctive feature of 270 Private Capital Fund III is timing.
The filing does not document an already mature fundraising campaign.
Instead, it records the fund immediately before its first reported sale.
The Form D explicitly checks:
First Sale Yet to Occur.
It also reports:
$0 sold
and:
0 investors.
That makes this filing particularly valuable as a baseline.
If the fund later reports:
$100 million
$500 million
$1 billion
or another amount raised,
researchers will be able to compare that future figure against the original July 29 filing.
This is more informative than discovering the fund only after billions of dollars have already been subscribed.
A Form D Can Exist Before Any Investor Has Invested
This is an important point for people who search SEC records.
Finding a Form D does not necessarily mean a fund has already raised money.
In this case, the filing confirms that an exempt offering was being prepared.
But at the date of the notice, the issuer itself reported:
zero dollars sold
and:
zero investors.
That distinction is essential.
A Google search result saying:
"270 Private Capital Fund III raises capital"
would be inaccurate if based only on this first filing.
A more accurate description is:
270 Private Capital Fund III filed to begin an indefinite private equity offering in July 2026.
The fundraising results should be evaluated from later filings.
J.P. Morgan Securities Appears Directly in the Form D
One of the strongest institutional signals in the filing is the sales compensation section.
The Form D identifies:
J.P. Morgan Securities LLC
CRD 79
with an address at:
270 Park Avenue New York, NY 10017.
The filing reports that J.P. Morgan Securities may solicit across all U.S. states.
Estimated sales commissions are listed at:
$1,280,000.
This is substantially different from a small private fund filing that reports no broker, no placement agent, and no expected sales compensation.
It suggests that a formal distribution arrangement was already planned before the fund reported its first investor.
However, investors should understand what a placement agent relationship means.
It does not mean J.P. Morgan Securities guarantees the investment.
It does not mean the SEC approved the fund.
And it does not mean investors cannot lose money.
A placement agent assists with distribution and fundraising.
Investment risk remains with investors.
Why a $1.28 Million Estimated Commission Matters
The commission estimate provides another interesting clue.
The offering amount itself is indefinite.
Yet the issuer estimated approximately:
$1.28 million
in sales commissions.
Without the underlying placement agreement, FilingDossier cannot determine exactly how that estimate was calculated.
It may reflect:
an expected fundraising volume
a specific distribution fee schedule
a cap on compensation
or assumptions regarding particular investor channels.
The commission figure should therefore not be reverse-engineered into a speculative total fund size.
Investors should request the actual placement-agent fee structure if those costs affect fund economics.
The Offshore Fund Was Filed Minutes Later
A separate entity was filed with the SEC on the same day:
270 Private Capital Fund III (Offshore), LP.
Its CIK is:
0002144474.
The offshore vehicle was formed in the Cayman Islands in 2026.
It uses the same:
390 Madison Avenue 27th Floor New York, NY 10017
business address.
The same phone number is used:
212-464-1649.
Samantha Beattie also signs the offshore filing as VP of the issuer's GP.
The offshore vehicle similarly reported:
$0 sold
0 investors
first sale yet to occur
and an indefinite offering.
That level of similarity strongly indicates that the two vehicles were created as part of the same Fund III fundraising structure.
Domestic Fund III and Offshore Fund III Are Separate Legal Entities
This distinction is important.
270 Private Capital Fund III, LP has:
CIK 0002144469
and is organized in Delaware.
270 Private Capital Fund III (Offshore), LP has:
CIK 0002144474
and is organized in the Cayman Islands.
They are therefore not the same legal entity.
A domestic and offshore structure is common in institutional private funds.
Different vehicles may be created for:
U.S. taxable investors
non-U.S. investors
tax-exempt investors
institutional investors
or investors requiring different tax or regulatory treatment.
However, the exact role of these two vehicles cannot be determined from the Form D alone.
Investors should confirm whether they are:
parallel funds
feeder funds
master-feeder components
or vehicles investing side-by-side.
The Offshore Placement-Agent Estimate Is Different
Another useful detail is that the offshore Fund III filing reports estimated sales commissions of approximately:
$420,000.
The domestic Fund III filing reports approximately:
$1.28 million.
This difference suggests that expected distribution economics or fundraising expectations may differ between the domestic and offshore structures.
But the filings do not explain why.
Possible explanations include:
different expected capital volumes
different investor channels
different distribution agreements
or different fee assumptions.
FilingDossier would not speculate beyond what the documents show.
This is exactly the type of issue that should be clarified from the offering memorandum and placement agreement.
The Address Is an Important Identity Signal
The fund's principal address is:
390 Madison Avenue 27th Floor New York, NY 10017.
That address is not unique to Fund III.
Other 270-branded private capital vehicles have appeared in SEC records using the same location.
This creates an identifiable fund family.
For example, 270 Private Capital Opportunities Fund I, LP also reports:
390 Madison Avenue 27th Floor New York, NY 10017
and the same:
212-464-1649
telephone number.
Samantha Beattie also appears in that fund's regulatory filings.
This makes it unlikely that Fund III is an isolated issuer using the "270" name independently.
It sits within a broader private-capital platform.
A Previous 270 Vehicle Reported More Than $1.5 Billion Sold
The broader regulatory trail gives useful context.
270 Private Capital Opportunities Fund I, LP filed a Form D in April 2026.
Public Form D records report approximately:
$1.52276 billion
sold.
The filing involved more than:
1,900 reported investors
after amendment.
That is a very different stage of fundraising from Fund III.
Fund III begins at:
$0
while another related 270-branded private capital vehicle already had a substantial disclosed investor base.
This contrast is useful.
It shows why investors should not judge Fund III solely from the fact that its first filing shows zero investors.
A newly formed fund can begin at zero even when related platforms already have significant fundraising activity.
But the performance of another vehicle should not automatically be treated as Fund III performance.
The Fund III Name Can Be Confusing
The name:
270 Private Capital Fund III
sounds straightforward.
But the 270 regulatory ecosystem includes several similarly named entities.
Examples include:
270 Private Capital Opportunities Fund I
270 Private Capital Opportunities Fund II
270 Private Capital Opportunities Fund IV
270 Hybrid Growth funds
and offshore companion vehicles.
This creates a search problem.
Someone searching:
270 Private Capital
may encounter multiple legal vehicles with different:
CIKs
strategies
launch dates
investor bases
and fundraising amounts.
For accurate research, investors should always verify the exact legal name and CIK.
For this article, the relevant U.S. issuer is:
270 Private Capital Fund III, LP
CIK 0002144469.
What Does "Private Capital" Mean Here
The SEC filing classifies Fund III as:
Private Equity Fund.
That tells us more than the fund name alone.
But it still does not tell investors exactly which private equity strategy is being pursued.
Private capital can include:
buyouts
growth equity
secondaries
co-investments
private credit
venture investments
and other alternatives.
The Form D does not disclose the underlying portfolio mandate.
Therefore, FilingDossier would not infer:
sector focus
geography
deal size
buyout exposure
secondary exposure
or target returns
from the fund name alone.
Those details should come from the private placement memorandum.
Section 3(c)(7) Matters
Fund III relies on:
Section 3(c)(7)
of the Investment Company Act.
This is common for institutional private investment funds.
A 3(c)(7) fund generally limits ownership to qualified purchasers, subject to applicable law and fund documentation.
That is a higher investor qualification concept than simply being an accredited investor.
This reinforces the institutional nature of the offering.
It also explains why a reported minimum investment of:
$0
should not be interpreted literally as meaning anyone can invest without capital.
The Form D minimum-investment field is not an investor eligibility test.
A qualified-purchaser requirement and fund-specific subscription terms still apply.
Why Does the Form Say Minimum Investment $0
The filing reports:
Minimum investment accepted from any outside investor: $0.
That does not necessarily mean the fund intends to accept a zero-dollar subscription.
Large institutional private funds often use complex commitment structures.
Minimum commitments can also differ depending on:
investor class
distribution channel
managed-account relationship
employees
affiliates
or negotiated institutional terms.
The actual subscription minimum should be confirmed from the offering documents.
For Google accuracy, the correct wording is:
The Form D reports a $0 minimum investment field.
It should not be rewritten as:
Investors can join Fund III for free.
Those statements are not equivalent.
Why No Fund Size Is Disclosed
The offering amount is listed as:
Indefinite.
That means the public Form D does not provide a fixed maximum fundraising target.
This is another reason FilingDossier would avoid putting a speculative fund size in the headline.
Until a later filing or official announcement provides a verified amount, the fund should be described as:
an indefinite private equity offering.
Search engines reward clear facts more than invented numbers.
This is a good example where leaving out a number improves article quality.
Who Is Samantha Beattie
Samantha Beattie appears as the only related executive named in the domestic Fund III Form D.
She also signed the filing.
Her disclosed title is:
VP of the Issuer's GP.
The same individual appears across other 270 private capital filings.
This provides another continuity signal between entities in the 270 fund family.
However, the Form D does not establish that Samantha Beattie is the portfolio manager making Fund III's investment decisions.
Being:
VP of the issuer's GP
and signing regulatory documents
does not automatically mean someone has final investment authority.
Investors should identify the actual:
portfolio managers
investment committee
general partner ownership
and adviser
from the fund's governing documents.
J.P. Morgan Asset Management Connection Requires Precise Wording
External institutional fund databases associate 270 Private Capital Fund III with J.P. Morgan Asset Management.
Separately, the Form D directly confirms J.P. Morgan Securities LLC in the placement-agent role.
Those are related but legally different facts.
FilingDossier would therefore avoid writing:
"J.P. Morgan Securities manages Fund III."
The Form D does not say that.
What can be directly verified is:
J.P. Morgan Securities LLC is named in the sales compensation section.
Investors should separately confirm which J.P. Morgan investment-management legal entity serves as the investment adviser or sponsor.
That distinction matters because:
placement agent
investment adviser
general partner
and fund
are different legal roles.
What We Think
270 Private Capital Fund III is unusual because the initial Form D provides a clean view of the fund before fundraising began.
We can verify:
the legal entity
the CIK
the Delaware formation
the New York address
the Rule 506(b) exemption
the Section 3(c)(7) structure
the private equity classification
Samantha Beattie
J.P. Morgan Securities as placement agent
the $1.28 million estimated commission
the offshore Cayman companion vehicle
and the fact that no investors had yet subscribed at filing.
That is already a meaningful regulatory profile.
But almost everything investors ultimately care about remains outside Form D.
The filing does not tell us:
fundraising target
investment strategy
target returns
portfolio companies
fund term
management fee
carried interest
key-person provisions
investment committee
or expected first close.
That is normal for Form D.
It is also why the article should not pretend that the existence of an SEC filing answers the investment question.
The Most Important Future Update Is the First Amendment
For FilingDossier, this fund is worth monitoring.
The original filing establishes:
$0 sold
0 investors.
The next meaningful Form D amendment could reveal:
initial fundraising volume
number of investors
and whether the offering structure changed.
If a later filing shows significant capital raised, this page can be updated with a clean before-and-after comparison.
That creates stronger long-term Google value than writing a static one-time article.
Questions Investors Should Ask
- Which legal entity is the investment adviser to 270 Private Capital Fund III
- Which entity owns the general partner
- Who sits on the investment committee
- What private equity strategy will Fund III pursue
- Is the fund focused on direct investments, secondaries, co-investments, or multiple strategies
- What is the target fund size
- Has the fund completed its first close
- How much capital has now been committed since the July 29 Form D
- What is the relationship between the U.S. Fund III and Offshore Fund III
- Are they parallel funds
- Do they invest side-by-side in the same portfolio
- Which investors are expected to use the Cayman vehicle
- What is the management fee
- What carried interest applies
- What hurdle or preferred return applies, if any
- What is the fund term
- What extension rights does the GP have
- What key-person provisions apply
- What is J.P. Morgan Securities' exact placement-agent compensation structure
- Why does the U.S. fund estimate $1.28 million in commissions while the offshore vehicle estimates approximately $420,000
- Are placement fees paid by the fund, manager, or another entity
- What is the actual minimum investor commitment
- What portfolio investments have been completed
- Who is the administrator
- Who is the auditor
- Who acts as custodian
- What valuation policy applies to private investments
- How are opportunities allocated among other 270 private capital funds
- Are there potential allocation conflicts with Opportunities Fund I, II, IV, or other related vehicles
- When will investors receive audited financial statements
Risk Factors
Pre-Fundraising Stage
The initial Form D reported $0 sold and zero investors.
Investment Strategy Transparency
The filing identifies a private equity fund but does not disclose the detailed investment mandate.
Illiquidity
Private equity commitments can remain invested for many years.
Qualified Purchaser Structure
Section 3(c)(7) generally places the vehicle in a sophisticated institutional/private investor category.
Fund-Family Complexity
Multiple 270-branded funds and offshore vehicles exist, increasing the importance of entity-level verification.
Allocation Conflicts
If multiple related private capital funds are active simultaneously, investors should understand how investment opportunities are allocated.
Placement-Agent Costs
The filing estimates approximately $1.28 million of sales commissions for the domestic Fund III offering.
Offshore Structural Complexity
The U.S. fund has a separate Cayman companion vehicle with its own CIK and regulatory filing.
No Publicly Disclosed Fund Size
The Form D reports an indefinite offering rather than a fixed maximum fundraising amount.
No Fund-Level Performance History
The vehicle was formed in 2026 and had not made a first reported sale when the initial filing was submitted.
Related Fund Performance Is Not Fund III Performance
Large fundraising numbers associated with other 270 vehicles should not be attributed to Fund III.
Form D Is Not SEC Approval
The filing establishes an exempt offering notice. It does not mean the SEC has approved Fund III, reviewed its future portfolio, verified its investment strategy, or guaranteed investor returns.
Final Assessment
270 Private Capital Fund III, LP is a verifiable Delaware private equity fund operating under SEC CIK 0002144469.
Its initial Form D was filed on July 29, 2026.
The filing confirms:
Rule 506(b)
Section 3(c)(7)
Private Equity Fund classification
an indefinite offering
$0 sold
0 investors
and:
First Sale Yet to Occur.
The filing also identifies J.P. Morgan Securities LLC in the sales compensation section and estimates approximately $1.28 million in commissions.
A separate Cayman Islands vehicle:
270 Private Capital Fund III (Offshore), LP
was filed the same day under a different CIK and shares the same New York address, telephone number, and regulatory signatory.
That provides strong evidence of a coordinated domestic/offshore Fund III structure.
For FilingDossier, however, the most useful finding is the timing.
This is a fund captured before its first reported close.
That creates a clean regulatory baseline.
Future amendments should reveal whether the fundraising strategy succeeds, how quickly institutional capital enters, and how the U.S. and offshore vehicles develop.
Until then, investors should avoid treating the existence of a Form D as evidence that the fund has already raised capital.
The next stage of due diligence should focus on the private placement memorandum, investment adviser identity, GP ownership, investment strategy, fund target, management fees, carry, fund term, investment committee, allocation policy, placement-agent agreement, and initial portfolio.
SEC Form D is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not constitute SEC approval, endorsement by J.P. Morgan Securities, verification of future investment performance, or a guarantee of investor capital.
Published on FilingDossier: September 20, 2026.
This article is based on publicly available regulatory and institutional information and is provided for independent research and due-diligence purposes only.