RESEARCH

Gaingels YC S26 Review 2026: $1.5M Venture Vehicle, 24 Investors, Paul Grossinger & Gaingels SPV Strategy Analysis

Gaingels YC S26 Review 2026: $1.5M Venture Vehicle, 24 Investors, Paul Grossinger & Gaingels SPV Strategy Analysis

Independent Verdict

Gaingels YC S26 LLC is a verifiable 2026 venture investment vehicle managed directly by Gaingels Management LLC, and its latest SEC amendment shows meaningful early fundraising rather than a placeholder filing. The September 16, 2026 Form D/A reports a $1.5 million Rule 506(b) pooled investment fund with $1.015 million sold to 24 investors, leaving $485,000 remaining. The fund began selling interests on September 2, 2026, uses Section 3(c)(1), carries a low $2,500 minimum and reports zero sales commissions, zero finders' fees and zero estimated use of proceeds paid to listed related persons. Paul Grossinger is identified as the executive officer of the issuer because he is the manager of Gaingels Management LLC, which in turn manages the vehicle. (sec.gov)

The latest amendment also provides a useful progression. The initial September 10 filing showed $782,500 sold to 15 investors; six days later, the amendment increased that figure to $1.015 million and 24 investors. (sec.gov) That means roughly two-thirds of the stated offering was subscribed within the first two weeks of the reported first-sale date. For a $1.5 million SPV-style venture vehicle, this is a much more relevant fact than the headline offering size alone.

The sponsor relationship is exceptionally clear. The SEC filing uses Gaingels Management's Burlington address, explicitly names Gaingels Management LLC as manager, and identifies Paul Grossinger as the control person. Separately, the SEC's Investment Adviser Public Disclosure system lists Gaingels Management LLC, CRD 317100 / SEC file 802-123301, as an active Exempt Reporting Adviser since January 24, 2022. (adviserinfo.sec.gov) Gaingels therefore should not be described as a fully SEC-registered investment adviser; the correct current classification is SEC Exempt Reporting Adviser.

The most important differentiated issue is portfolio attribution. The vehicle's legal name, "Gaingels YC S26 LLC," strongly appears to reference a 2026 Y Combinator cohort, but the reviewed Form D does not identify the underlying startups, ownership stakes, purchase prices or round terms. FilingDossier therefore does not attribute any specific Y Combinator Summer 2026 company to the fund without fund-level evidence. This matters because Gaingels operates a large number of separate SPVs and special vehicles around individual companies and curated opportunities, including recent entities such as Gaingels General Compute LLC and historical vehicles tied to Standard Bots, Stream AI, Type 1 Compute, AstroForge, Paradromics, Warmly and Utila. (sec.gov)

Gaingels itself is a much larger platform than this one $1.5 million vehicle. Its official website says the organization was founded in 2014 by David Beatty and Paul Grossinger and evolved from an LGBTQ+ angel group into a large cross-stage, cross-sector venture syndicate focused on increasing diverse and inclusive leadership in the venture ecosystem. (gaingels.com) The current site says Gaingels has deployed more than $990 million since 2019 into a portfolio of more than 2,400 companies, and separately notes that as of January 2026 its community had invested more than $1 billion across 2,600+ investment rounds. (gaingels.com) Those are platform-level statistics and should not be attributed to YC S26 itself.

FilingDossier's conclusion is that Gaingels YC S26 appears to be a legitimate, actively subscribed Gaingels-managed venture vehicle with a strong sponsor identity, clear manager relationship and meaningful investor participation. The principal diligence gap is not who manages it, but what it actually owns. Investors need to verify the exact startup portfolio, whether the vehicle holds one company or multiple companies, how valuations were set, whether Gaingels receives carry or other fees, and whether the fund's "YC S26" name reflects direct batch-wide exposure, a selective subset of companies or another strategy entirely.

Why This Vehicle Is More Than a Generic $1.5M SPV

Gaingels has built an operating model around repeat private-company vehicles rather than relying solely on one large commingled venture fund. Public SEC records show numerous Gaingels-branded LLCs tied to specific companies or themes, all using the same Burlington address and Gaingels Management control structure. That repeat architecture matters because it indicates that YC S26 is part of an established SPV system rather than a one-off fundraising experiment.

The model has a practical logic. A platform with a large investor community can aggregate relatively small subscriptions into a single legal entity, allowing a private company or lead venture investor to deal with one line on the cap table instead of dozens of individual investors. In exchange, participating LPs gain access to a transaction they might not otherwise be able to enter directly. The $2,500 minimum on YC S26 is particularly notable because it lowers the individual check size compared with many private venture funds while still operating under a private-offering exemption. (sec.gov)

This structure also means investors need to distinguish carefully between Gaingels the platform and Gaingels YC S26 the vehicle. Gaingels' portfolio includes thousands of companies across AI, healthcare, fintech, defense, deep tech and other sectors, but those platform-level holdings do not belong automatically to YC S26. (gaingels.com) Similarly, the existence of separately filed Gaingels vehicles for General Compute, Standard Bots or AstroForge demonstrates transaction history, but it does not make those companies part of this fund.

That separation is crucial for Google-friendly research because search engines can easily merge strong brand-level signals into a weak fund-level conclusion. A useful article should do the opposite: use Gaingels' operating history to evaluate sponsor legitimacy while refusing to assign underlying portfolio companies without direct evidence.

Gaingels' Broader Venture Model and What It Suggests About YC S26

Gaingels' official materials describe the platform as a cross-stage, cross-sector co-investor that frequently invests alongside established venture leads in competitive and oversubscribed rounds. It emphasizes both financial returns and its mission of improving representation and access across founders, leadership teams, boards and the investor base. (gaingels.com) The organization also says its network provides portfolio support through introductions, expertise, board recruitment and a broader member community.

That model can create several potential advantages for a small SPV. First, Gaingels may gain access to rounds through existing relationships with venture firms and founders. Second, a large investor network can aggregate capital quickly, which may explain why YC S26 moved from $782,500 sold to $1.015 million in less than a week. Third, portfolio companies may receive operating support beyond capital through the broader Gaingels network.

The trade-off is that the brand itself can obscure the economics of the individual transaction. The current filing does not disclose whether YC S26 invests into one company, several companies from a common cohort, a batch-wide syndicate, or a secondary allocation. It also does not disclose entry valuation, share class, SAFE terms, pro-rata rights or whether capital is being invested directly into companies or through another intermediary.

The fund's Section 3(c)(1) reliance is also relevant. A 3(c)(1) private fund generally operates with a limited investor count framework, which is consistent with the current 24 investors and with Gaingels' use of individual SPVs. The vehicle's $1.5 million cap and relatively low minimum further suggest a deliberately bounded transaction rather than a large evergreen strategy.

Key Risks and Evidence Gaps

The first major risk is portfolio opacity. The SEC filing proves the vehicle exists and has raised capital, but it does not identify the startups. Investors should request the exact portfolio before relying on the "YC S26" name.

The second issue is name-based inference risk. "YC S26" appears to reference a Y Combinator Summer 2026 cohort, but public Form D evidence does not establish which companies, if any, are held. A fund name is not a substitute for a portfolio schedule.

The third risk is valuation dispersion. If the vehicle invests across several early-stage companies, individual entry valuations can vary substantially. Batch investing can provide diversification, but poor pricing in a few high-valuation companies can weaken returns.

The fourth issue is early-stage failure risk. Y Combinator-style startup exposure, if confirmed, would involve very high company-level failure rates, long holding periods and uncertain exit timing.

The fifth risk is SPV concentration. If YC S26 ultimately holds only one or a small number of companies, the diversification implied by the name may be much lower than investors expect.

The sixth issue is platform-versus-vehicle track record. Gaingels' more than $990 million deployed and 2,400+ company portfolio demonstrate scale, but they do not establish YC S26 returns. (gaingels.com)

The seventh risk is fee opacity. The Form D reports zero sales commissions and finders' fees, but that does not establish the absence of management fees, carried interest, SPV administration costs or legal expenses.

The eighth issue is allocation conflicts. Gaingels operates many simultaneous company-specific and thematic vehicles. Investors should understand how opportunities are allocated among different Gaingels SPVs and whether overlapping investors receive identical terms.

The ninth risk is follow-on dilution. Early-stage companies often require multiple financing rounds. A small $1.5 million vehicle may not have enough reserve capital to maintain pro-rata ownership.

The tenth issue is information-right limitations. A minority SPV investing in competitive venture rounds may receive limited governance or reporting rights compared with lead investors.

The eleventh risk is liquidity. Investors may need to hold their interests for many years before an IPO, acquisition or approved secondary transaction.

The twelfth issue is manager-key-person dependence. Paul Grossinger is directly identified in the filing as the manager of Gaingels Management. Gaingels was co-founded by Grossinger and David Beatty, and investors should understand governance and succession at the manager level. (gaingels.com)

The thirteenth issue is regulatory classification. Gaingels Management is an SEC Exempt Reporting Adviser, not a fully registered investment adviser. (adviserinfo.sec.gov) Investors should understand the distinction rather than interpreting Form ADV filing as full SEC registration.

The fourteenth risk is secondary attribution from other Gaingels SPVs. The existence of current or historical Gaingels vehicles for General Compute, Standard Bots, AstroForge, Paradromics and other companies is useful sponsor evidence, but none should be described as YC S26 assets without direct fund-level support.

The fifteenth issue is amendment timing and fundraising interpretation. The latest amendment raised the amount sold from $782,500 to $1.015 million and investor count from 15 to 24. That shows fundraising progress, but it does not tell investors whether capital has already been deployed into underlying companies or is still awaiting final closings.

A serious investor should request the operating agreement, subscription agreement, complete portfolio schedule, underlying company names, investment dates, security types, purchase prices, SAFE or preferred-share terms, valuation at entry, management fee, carried interest, administrative expenses, follow-on reserve policy, pro-rata rights, current fair-value marks, auditor or administrator information, distribution policy and expected liquidity mechanics.

The most important questions are: What exactly does YC S26 own How many companies are in the vehicle Are they all from one Y Combinator cohort Does the vehicle invest directly or through other SPVs What valuation was paid for each company Does Gaingels receive carry Are there follow-on reserves What happens if a portfolio company raises a down round And how are opportunities allocated when Gaingels also runs company-specific vehicles at the same time

Final Assessment

Gaingels YC S26 is a real and actively funded 2026 venture vehicle, and the strongest part of the case is sponsor verification. The latest SEC amendment reports a $1.5 million offering with $1.015 million sold to 24 investors, a $2,500 minimum and a September 2 first-sale date. Gaingels Management LLC is directly named as manager, Paul Grossinger is the controlling executive in the filing, and the manager is independently visible in the SEC's IAPD system as an active Exempt Reporting Adviser. (sec.gov) (adviserinfo.sec.gov)

Gaingels itself has meaningful scale and a long venture operating history. Its official site says the organization was founded in 2014, has deployed more than $990 million since 2019 and has built a portfolio exceeding 2,400 companies, with more than $1 billion invested across 2,600+ rounds by January 2026. (gaingels.com)

But those platform statistics do not answer the key fund-level question.

The exact YC S26 portfolio is not publicly established in the reviewed filing.

FilingDossier's conclusion is therefore that Gaingels YC S26 appears to be a legitimate, rapidly subscribed Gaingels SPV-style pooled investment vehicle with strong manager and platform evidence. The principal diligence issue is portfolio transparency. Investors should verify the actual companies, investment terms, valuations, fee structure and follow-on rights before using the Gaingels brand or presumed Y Combinator connection as a proxy for investment quality.

FilingDossier Research Conclusion

Company Name: Gaingels

Fund Legal Entity: Gaingels YC S26 LLC

CIK: 0002154027

SEC File Number: 021-597008

Jurisdiction: Vermont

Year Formed: 2026

Business Address: c/o Gaingels Management LLC, 3 Main Street, Suite 214, Burlington, VT 05401

Phone: 773-837-1889

Initial Form D: September 10, 2026

Latest Form D/A: September 16, 2026

First Sale: September 2, 2026

Rule: 506(b)

ICA Exclusion: Section 3(c)(1)

Fund Type: Pooled Investment Fund

Offering Amount: $1,500,000

Initial Amount Sold: $782,500

Latest Amount Sold: $1,015,000

Remaining To Be Sold: $485,000

Initial Investors: 15

Latest Investors: 24

Minimum Investment: $2,500

Sales Commissions: $0

Finders Fees: $0

Use of Proceeds to Listed Related Persons: $0 estimated

Manager: Gaingels Management LLC

Key Executive: Paul Grossinger

Role: Manager of Gaingels Management LLC / Executive Officer of Issuer

Investment Adviser: Gaingels Management LLC

Adviser CRD: 317100

SEC File Number: 802-123301

Current Regulatory Status: SEC Exempt Reporting Adviser

ERA Effective Date: January 24, 2022

Gaingels Founded: 2014

Co-Founders: David Beatty and Paul Grossinger

Platform Strategy: Cross-stage and cross-sector venture co-investment with emphasis on diverse and inclusive leadership

Reported Capital Deployed: More than $990M since 2019

Reported January 2026 Community Investment: More than $1B across 2,600+ investment rounds

Reported Portfolio Companies: More than 2,400

Selected Platform Portfolio Examples: Fetch, Carbon Health, Remote, MasterClass, Dapper Labs

Related Gaingels Vehicle: Gaingels General Compute LLC

Other Historical Gaingels Vehicles: Standard Bots, Stream AI, Type 1 Compute, AstroForge, Paradromics, Warmly and Utila SPVs

Exact YC S26 Portfolio: Not publicly disclosed

Exact Number of Underlying Companies: Not publicly established

Exact Relationship to Y Combinator Summer 2026: Not independently established beyond the vehicle name

Entry Valuations: Not publicly disclosed

Management Fee: Not publicly established from reviewed public filing

Carry: Not publicly established from reviewed public filing

Current NAV: Declined to disclose

Independent Conclusion: Gaingels YC S26 LLC is a verifiable 2026 pooled venture vehicle managed directly by Gaingels Management LLC. The latest Form D/A reports $1.015M sold to 24 investors out of a $1.5M Rule 506(b) offering, with a $2,500 minimum and Section 3(c)(1) structure. Sponsor identity is strongly verified through the SEC filing and Gaingels Management's active SEC Exempt Reporting Adviser status. Gaingels itself has substantial venture scale, but the exact YC S26 portfolio is not publicly established. The principal diligence issue is therefore portfolio attribution, valuation and economics rather than manager legitimacy.

Primary Sources Reviewed

This review relied primarily on the September 10, 2026 Form D and September 16, 2026 Form D/A for Gaingels YC S26 LLC, the SEC Investment Adviser Public Disclosure record for Gaingels Management LLC, Gaingels' official website and history pages, and SEC filings for other recent and historical Gaingels-managed investment vehicles.

Gaingels platform-level investment statistics and other Gaingels SPV holdings are kept separate from YC S26-specific assets unless a direct fund-level source establishes the relationship.

Important Notice

A Form D is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean the SEC has approved Gaingels YC S26 LLC, Gaingels Management LLC, Paul Grossinger or any underlying investment.

Gaingels Management's status as an Exempt Reporting Adviser is not the same as full SEC investment-adviser registration.

The $1.5M figure is the stated offering amount. The latest amendment reports $1.015M sold to 24 investors.

Gaingels' platform-level capital deployed, portfolio-company count and historical investment activity should not be interpreted as the assets, diversification or performance of YC S26.

The vehicle name alone is not sufficient evidence that every or any specific Y Combinator Summer 2026 company is held by the fund.

FilingDossier is an independent public-record research platform and is not affiliated with Gaingels, Gaingels Management LLC, Y Combinator or the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

This article is provided for informational and research purposes only and does not constitute investment, legal, tax or financial advice.

Important Form D notice: A Form D filing is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission has approved, licensed, endorsed, or verified the issuer or the offering. Readers should verify information through official SEC sources and conduct their own due diligence.
Verification note: SEC.gov and the relevant regulator's official records remain authoritative. This site's research is independent editorial content.