RESEARCH

English Capital Partners LP SEC Form D Review 2026: $97.7M Raised Across an 11-Year Hedge Fund Filing History

English Capital Partners LP SEC Form D Review 2026: $97.7M Raised Across an 11-Year Hedge Fund Filing History

INDEPENDENT VERDICT

English Capital Partners LP is unusual among recent Form D searches because the September 18, 2026 filing is not the launch of a newly created private fund. It is the latest amendment in a regulatory history extending back to 2015. The Delaware limited partnership identifies English Capital Management LLC as its general partner and Riley English as the managing member of that general partner. The latest amendment classifies the issuer as a hedge fund, relies on Rule 506(b) and Investment Company Act Section 3(c)(1), states that the offering began on September 1, 2015 and is intended to continue for more than one year, and reports an indefinite offering with $97,683,512 sold to 16 investors. That creates a much stronger longitudinal evidence trail than a single Form D snapshot: the core legal entity, manager, principal, strategy classification and operating address have remained traceable over many years even though the business moved from Massachusetts to Detroit and ultimately to Bloomfield Hills, Michigan.

The filing history is particularly useful because it shows how the fund developed rather than merely presenting its latest size. The original 2015 notice established English Capital Partners LP and English Capital Management LLC, followed by recurring amendments in subsequent years. Public filing aggregations based on EDGAR show reported sold amounts around $71,325 in 2016, roughly $72.6 million in 2018, $73.0 million in 2019 and additional increases during 2020-2022 before the latest filing reached $97.68 million. These figures should be interpreted carefully: Form D "amount sold" is a securities-offering disclosure and is not the same thing as current net asset value, regulatory assets under management or current securities-market value. The latest Form D also reports a minimum investment of $0. That is a filing field, not evidence that the partnership is genuinely available to anyone with no minimum commitment. The structure remains a Rule 506(b) private offering and a Section 3(c)(1) fund, so eligibility and subscription requirements must be determined from the actual offering documents.

MANAGER, STRATEGY AND REGULATORY PENETRATION

The manager can be independently verified beyond the fund's own Form D. English Capital Management LLC appears in the Investment Adviser Public Disclosure system under CRD 234790 and SEC file number 801-130791, providing a separate adviser-level regulatory identity. Its official website describes ECM as a private investment partnership based in Michigan and gives a notably specific investment philosophy: the firm seeks businesses capable of creating wealth, prefers management teams oriented toward shareholders, looks for securities trading below estimated intrinsic value because of temporary problems, invests in publicly traded equities, operates a concentrated portfolio and generally targets holding periods of three to five years or longer. This description fits the hedge-fund classification in the Form D and provides considerably more strategy evidence than the filing itself, which does not disclose individual holdings or detailed investment-selection criteria.

The personnel trail is also internally consistent. ECM identifies Riley English as founder and managing partner and states that he founded the firm in 2015, the same year English Capital Partners was organized. His disclosed background includes prior equity-research work at Fiduciary Management and Dodge & Cox, Stanford University, Columbia Business School's Value Investing Program and the CFA designation. Jordan Stambler is identified as director of research and as having joined ECM in 2016. This matters because the public record establishes continuity between the fund, the general partner, the founder and the current manager rather than relying on a similarly named website. The latest Form D and the manager's SEC filings also use the same 3707 W. Maple Road, Bloomfield Hills address, creating an additional address-level match.

A SECOND SEC TRAIL: FORM 13F REVEALS THE PUBLIC-EQUITY FOOTPRINT

English Capital Management also files Form 13F under CIK 0002010442 and Form 13F file number 028-23837, giving investors a second SEC dataset that can be compared with the private-fund filings. Its March 31, 2026 report disclosed 36 reportable positions with an aggregate reported value of approximately $170.8 million. Subsequent public 13F data for June 30, 2026 show a materially larger disclosed U.S. securities book of roughly $217 million and positions including Arrow Electronics, AerCap Holdings, Applied Materials, HCA Healthcare, Texas Instruments and other listed companies. The portfolio evidence is directionally consistent with ECM's stated value-oriented, concentrated public-equity strategy and provides something that many private hedge-fund Form D reviews lack: observable security-level evidence of what the adviser has actually reported owning.

However, the 13F should not be mistaken for English Capital Partners LP's complete portfolio or NAV. Form 13F covers specified reportable securities and generally does not reveal cash, many foreign securities, private investments, most short positions, complete derivative exposure, liabilities or the ownership allocation among different client accounts. The approximately $217 million securities value therefore cannot simply be compared with the $97.68 million Form D amount sold and treated as investment performance. They are measurements produced under different regulatory regimes for different purposes. This distinction is especially important here because a casual search can make the manager appear to have "grown" from $97.7 million to more than $200 million when the filings do not establish that conclusion.

LONG OPERATING HISTORY DOES NOT REMOVE FUND-LEVEL DILIGENCE QUESTIONS

The strongest feature of English Capital Partners is the depth and consistency of its public trail. The same fund has remained in the Form D system for more than a decade, the general partner and founder remain identifiable, the adviser has a separate SEC registration, the official website explains the investment process, and 13F filings expose a substantial public-equity portfolio. The fund also reports only 16 investors despite nearly $98 million of securities sold, which suggests a relatively concentrated investor base compared with broadly distributed private vehicles. At the same time, public filings do not provide audited partnership returns, investor-level performance, monthly or annual volatility, drawdowns, redemption provisions, lockups, gates, side-pocket policies, detailed valuation procedures or a complete current fee schedule. Form D explicitly states that English Capital Management LLC and certain related persons may receive a management fee based on assets and/or a performance-based fee based on profits, but it does not provide the percentages.

For diligence purposes, the central question is therefore no longer whether English Capital Partners or English Capital Management can be tied to real regulatory records; they can. The more important work is reconciling the private partnership with the adviser's broader reported securities portfolio and obtaining the documents that public databases cannot supply. Investors should request the partnership agreement and offering memorandum, confirm current management and incentive fees, determine whether there is a high-water mark or hurdle, review liquidity and redemption rights, identify the independent administrator, custodian and auditor, obtain audited financial statements and verify whether the publicly visible 13F portfolio substantially represents English Capital Partners LP or includes other advisory accounts. That separation between verified manager identity and still-private fund economics is the defining research issue in this case.

SEC SNAPSHOT

Issuer: English Capital Partners LP CIK: 0001642912 Legal Form: Delaware Limited Partnership Formation Year: 2015 Latest Form D Amendment: September 18, 2026 Date of First Sale: September 1, 2015 Principal Address: 3707 W. Maple Road, Bloomfield Hills, Michigan 48301 Phone: 414-559-6923 Industry Classification: Pooled Investment Fund / Hedge Fund Offering Duration: More than one year Security Type: Pooled Investment Fund Interests / Limited Partnership Interests Federal Exemption: Regulation D Rule 506(b) Investment Company Act Exclusion: Section 3(c)(1) Offering Amount: Indefinite Total Amount Sold: $97,683,512 Remaining Amount: Indefinite Reported Investors: 16 Minimum Investment Reported: $0 Sales Commissions Reported: $0 estimated Finder Fees Reported: $0 estimated General Partner: English Capital Management LLC Managing Member: Riley English Management / Performance Compensation: Form D states related persons may receive asset-based management fees and/or profit-based performance compensation Investment Adviser: English Capital Management LLC Adviser CRD: 234790 SEC Adviser File Number: 801-130791 Adviser CIK: 0002010442 13F File Number: 028-23837 Official Website: ecmngt.com Strategy Described by Manager: Concentrated publicly traded equities purchased below estimated intrinsic value with a three-to-five-plus-year investment horizon Founder: Riley English Director of Research: Jordan Stambler Q1 2026 13F Reported Positions: 36 Q1 2026 13F Reported Value: Approximately $170.8 million Q2 2026 Public 13F Reported Securities Value: Approximately $217 million Examples of 2026 Reported Holdings: Arrow Electronics, AerCap Holdings, Applied Materials, HCA Healthcare and Texas Instruments Fund-Level Audited Returns Publicly Identified: No Fund-Level Current NAV Publicly Disclosed in Form D: No Current Detailed Fee Percentages Publicly Disclosed in Form D: No Redemption / Lockup Terms Publicly Disclosed in Form D: No

WEBSITE / ENTITY PENETRATION

Official manager website located: Yes Legal manager name matches Form D: Yes General partner relationship confirmed: Yes Riley English relationship confirmed: Yes Manager address matches recent SEC records: Yes SEC investment-adviser registration identified: Yes CRD number identified: Yes Separate adviser CIK identified: Yes Form 13F reporting history identified: Yes Publicly reported holdings identified: Yes Investment strategy described by first-party website: Yes Form D history traced to 2015: Yes Historical address evolution identified: Cambridge/Boston, Detroit and Bloomfield Hills Auditor publicly confirmed from reviewed sources: No Administrator publicly confirmed from reviewed sources: No Custodian publicly confirmed from reviewed sources: No Exact current fund NAV confirmed: No Exact current management fee confirmed: No Exact performance allocation percentage confirmed: No

CORE RISKS AND DILIGENCE POINTS

Concentration Risk: ECM explicitly describes its portfolio as concentrated, so individual security selection may have a greater effect on returns than in a highly diversified equity fund.

Valuation Risk: A strategy based on estimated intrinsic value depends on management's judgment regarding business quality, normalized earnings and whether temporary problems are actually temporary.

Long-Horizon Risk: A three-to-five-plus-year investment horizon can involve extended periods of underperformance before an investment thesis is realized or abandoned.

Investor Concentration: The Form D reports only 16 investors against $97.68 million sold, creating possible dependence on a relatively small number of limited partners.

Performance-Fee Risk: Regulatory filings acknowledge potential performance-based compensation, while the percentage and detailed mechanics are not stated in Form D.

13F Interpretation Risk: Public holdings provide unusually useful evidence but do not represent the complete fund portfolio, current NAV or audited performance.

Liquidity Risk: Public regulatory records reviewed for this article do not establish redemption frequency, notice periods, lockups, gates or suspension provisions.

Form D Minimum-Investment Risk: The reported $0 minimum should not be interpreted as evidence of unrestricted public or retail access.

AUM Reconciliation Risk: Form D amount sold, Form ADV regulatory AUM and Form 13F market value are fundamentally different measurements and should not be merged into a single asset figure.

Service-Provider Transparency: Auditor, administrator and custody arrangements should be confirmed directly from current fund documents before relying on the vehicle-level operational structure.

Important Form D notice: A Form D filing is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission has approved, licensed, endorsed, or verified the issuer or the offering. Readers should verify information through official SEC sources and conduct their own due diligence.
Verification note: SEC.gov and the relevant regulator's official records remain authoritative. This site's research is independent editorial content.