INDEPENDENT ASSESSMENT
CPCM PEF LP is not a newly formed 2026 vehicle. Its SEC record shows a Delaware limited partnership with a first sale on September 1, 2021 and a continuing Regulation D offering that has been amended repeatedly through September 2026. The latest filing identifies CornerStone Partners Capital Management, LLC as investment manager and CPCM PEF GP LLC as general partner, with both tied to the same Charlottesville address as the fund. The September 15, 2026 amendment reports $164,203,351 of cumulative securities sold to 11 investors, an indefinite total offering amount, an indefinite remaining amount and no stated outside-investor minimum. The issuer checks both Pooled Investment Fund and Hedge Fund, offers equity and pooled investment fund interests, relies on Rule 506(b), and claims the Section 3(c)(7) exclusion. This combination creates a clear institutional private-fund structure, but the filing itself does not disclose the underlying manager roster, investment positions, current NAV or performance.
The fundraising history is unusually useful because CPCM PEF LP has left a multi-year SEC trail rather than a single notice. The original September 2021 filing reported approximately $90.4 million sold; the 2022 amendment lifted cumulative reported sales substantially, followed by additional increases in 2023 and 2024. By the September 2026 amendment the cumulative total had reached $164.203 million. Public filing histories indicate incremental additions of roughly $36.7 million in 2022, $12.4 million in 2023, $10.6 million in 2024 and another approximately $466,000 in 2026, while the 2025 amendment did not materially increase the cumulative figure. Those numbers show that the vehicle has operated as a long-lived capital pool rather than a one-time SPV. They should still be interpreted carefully: Form D cumulative sales are not the same thing as current NAV, committed capital still outstanding, realizable asset value or investor returns. Redemptions, distributions, gains and losses are not captured by simply adding Form D sales.
THE DISTINCTIVE STORY: A PRIVATE FUND INSIDE AN OCIO PLATFORM
The more important story emerges when the issuer is connected to CornerStone Partners itself. CornerStone Partners Capital Management is not positioned publicly as a retail fund sponsor. Its official materials describe the firm as an Outsourced Chief Investment Officer and investment office for nonprofit institutions, providing fiduciary portfolio management together with operational and administrative functions. As of March 31, 2026, CornerStone reported approximately $28.93 billion of institutional assets under management. The firm states that its client base is centered on nonprofits such as endowments, foundations and other mission-driven organizations, and its investment process spans public and private equities, hedge funds, opportunistic investments, real assets and fixed income. CPCM PEF LP therefore appears within a manager whose core business is constructing institutional multi-asset portfolios rather than selling a single hedge-fund product to the general public.
That distinction helps explain why a CPCM-branded pooled fund may exist inside an OCIO architecture. A large OCIO often needs dedicated vehicles to aggregate client capital, obtain access to outside managers, structure private-market exposure or simplify administration across multiple institutional accounts. Public filings do not disclose precisely which of those functions CPCM PEF LP performs, so it would be inappropriate to characterize it as a specific feeder, co-investment fund or externally managed sleeve without offering documents. However, CornerStone's own public description of investing globally through external investment managers across hedge funds, private equity and opportunistic strategies makes the existence of CPCM pooled vehicles structurally consistent with its broader OCIO model.
THE CPCM FUND FAMILY IS MUCH LARGER THAN ONE VEHICLE
CPCM PEF LP also belongs to a wider set of CornerStone-linked private funds. SEC and Form ADV records identify CPCM DAF Master LP, CPCM DAF LP, CPCM PIF II LP and CPCM PIF III LP in addition to CPCM PEF LP. The DAF structure is particularly revealing: Form ADV explicitly identifies CPCM DAF Master LP as a Delaware master fund and CPCM DAF LP as its feeder, demonstrating that CornerStone does use formal master-feeder architecture in at least part of its private-fund platform. The offshore CPCM DAF LP is organized in the Cayman Islands and uses Mourant Governance Services in Camana Bay, while the master entity is Delaware-based. This should not be automatically projected onto CPCM PEF LP, but it provides concrete regulatory evidence that CPCM's private-fund network is operationally more sophisticated than a set of unrelated shell entities.
The PIF series adds another dimension. CPCM PIF II LP filed as a pooled investment fund with CornerStone Partners Capital Management as investment manager and CPCM PIF II GP LLC as general partner. CPCM PIF III LP subsequently reported approximately $72 million sold at its 2025 launch and nearly $100 million cumulative by May 2026. Public adviser-linked data also show CPCM DAF Master LP and CPCM PEF LP as separately reported private funds. The result is a recognizable family architecture: different GP entities sit above distinct CPCM funds, while CornerStone Partners Capital Management repeatedly appears at the investment-manager level. For investors, this makes exact legal-name matching essential. CPCM PEF, CPCM PIF and CPCM DAF are not interchangeable labels, and assets, fees or performance from one should never be attributed to another merely because they share the same manager.
ADVISER, 13F AND OWNERSHIP FOOTPRINT
CornerStone's regulatory footprint extends beyond Form D. CornerStone Partners Capital Management is an SEC-registered investment adviser under CRD 311296 and SEC file 801-119827. Its Form ADV reports a predominantly discretionary institutional business, while current regulatory-data summaries place firmwide AUM around $29.3 billion across 22 reported accounts as of March 30, 2026. That extremely high average account size is consistent with an institutional OCIO model rather than mass-market wealth management. The firm's public materials separately state $28.93 billion of institutional AUM as of March 31, 2026; the small difference between website and regulatory figures is not inherently contradictory because Form ADV regulatory AUM and marketing-site institutional AUM can use different calculation dates or definitions.
CornerStone also files Form 13F as an institutional investment manager under file number 028-20905. Its year-end 2025 13F identifies the same Charlottesville address and the same SEC adviser file, providing another independent regulatory link between the operating adviser and the CPCM fund filings. A 13F filing reveals certain long U.S.-listed securities positions at the adviser level, but it does not show the entire portfolio and should not be treated as a holdings report for CPCM PEF LP. Private funds, external managers, derivatives, private securities, short positions and many non-U.S. assets may not appear. The existence of both ADV and 13F filings is still useful for identity verification because it shows that the manager appears consistently across multiple SEC reporting systems rather than existing only in a Form D issuer record.
CORPORATE HISTORY AND INSTITUTIONAL CONTINUITY
CornerStone's business history predates the CPCM PEF vehicle by many years. The firm says it has provided OCIO services to nonprofit institutions since 2002. In 2020, CornerStone entered the Focus Financial Partners network in a transaction that Focus described as establishing a presence in the endowment and foundation market. CornerStone's current site says the management company remains 100% employee-owned while also describing CornerStone as a Focus partner firm. That history matters because CPCM PEF LP was launched after CornerStone had already built an established institutional advisory business and after the Focus transaction, rather than being the starting point of the manager's operating history.
There is also evidence of CornerStone's institutional work outside its own marketing materials. Public university governance materials have referenced CornerStone providing endowment portfolio and performance updates, including discussion of private investments, which is consistent with the firm's claimed OCIO specialization. These institutional references do not prove the performance of CPCM PEF LP and should not be used as testimonials for the fund, but they independently support the broader claim that CornerStone performs investment-office functions for institutional clients.
RISK AND DILIGENCE QUESTIONS
The strongest public evidence around CPCM PEF LP concerns identity, manager continuity and fundraising history; the weakest area is fund-level economics. The 2026 Form D declines to disclose aggregate NAV. It provides no portfolio holdings, manager allocations, leverage, gross or net exposure, liquidity profile, redemption schedule, gates, side pockets, valuation methodology, management-fee rate, incentive allocation, auditor, administrator, prime broker or custodian. The filing states only that the investment manager receives customary management fees. The reported minimum investment is $0, but that should not be interpreted as evidence that ordinary retail investors can enter the fund with no minimum; Form D's Item 11 simply records the minimum amount accepted from an outside investor for purposes of that filing.
Concentration also deserves context. Eleven reported investors against more than $164 million of cumulative reported sales implies a relatively small investor base, but Form D does not reveal each investor's contribution or whether certain investors are affiliated pooled vehicles. Given CornerStone's institutional client model, a small number of large accounts or feeder arrangements would not be surprising, but this cannot be established from the Form D alone. Investors evaluating CPCM PEF LP should therefore request the limited partnership agreement, private placement memorandum, audited financial statements, current NAV statement, fee schedule, administrator and auditor confirmations, liquidity provisions, manager-allocation information and any side-letter disclosures before drawing conclusions from the headline fundraising total.
FINAL ASSESSMENT
CPCM PEF LP has a materially stronger verification profile than a private fund supported only by a recent Form D. Its public record now spans five years of filings, more than $164 million in cumulative reported sales, a named GP, a repeatedly identified investment manager, an SEC-registered adviser with roughly $29 billion of firmwide institutional assets, an active 13F reporting history, an official OCIO business serving nonprofit institutions and a wider CPCM private-fund family that includes documented master-feeder arrangements and newer PIF vehicles. Those layers make the organizational relationship between the issuer and CornerStone Partners unusually well supported.
What the public record does not establish is equally important. It does not disclose the current economic value of CPCM PEF LP, whether the vehicle has generated positive returns, which managers or securities it currently holds, how liquid the portfolio is, or how its fee and incentive structure compares with other institutional pooled funds. The $164.203 million figure is cumulative Form D sales, not evidence of present NAV or investment performance. Form D is an exempt-offering notice and does not constitute SEC approval, an endorsement of CornerStone Partners, or a judgment on the quality of CPCM PEF LP as an investment.