RESEARCH

Connor Group Fixed Income Fund 21 SEC Review: $720K Raise Sits Beside a $20.05M Parallel Vehicle

Connor Group Fixed Income Fund 21 SEC Review: $720K Raise Sits Beside a $20.05M Parallel Vehicle

Connor Group Fixed Income Fund 21 SEC Review: The Bigger Story Is the $20.05 Million Vehicle Sitting Beside It

THE FUND REPORTS ONLY $720,000 — BUT ITS SAME-DAY SISTER VEHICLE ALREADY HOLDS MORE THAN $20 MILLION

Connor Group Fixed Income Fund 21, LLC filed its initial Form D on October 6, 2026 after a September 24 first sale and reported $720,000 sold to four investors, an indefinite total offering and a $250,000 minimum investment. The filing reports no sales commissions or finder's fees and identifies Luke Jacob Worthington as a director. Viewed alone, Fund 21 would look like a relatively small opening close from an established real-estate sponsor. That interpretation changes when Connor Group Fixed Income Fund 21-Q, LLC is examined. The Q vehicle filed on the same October 6 date, reports the same September 24 first-sale date, the same Miamisburg address and Luke Worthington, but had already sold $20.05 million to 38 investors, also with an indefinite offering and $250,000 minimum. Combined, the two Fund 21 vehicles reported approximately $20.77 million of capital from 42 investor positions at filing. The public Form Ds do not explain why capital is divided between the ordinary and Q vehicles, whether both invest pari passu in precisely the same loans or properties, whether one class has different investor eligibility requirements, or whether there are differences in fees, liquidity, priority or distribution rights. Investors should therefore resist evaluating the $720,000 issuer in isolation: economically, Fund 21 appears to be part of a much larger paired structure whose cross-vehicle allocation terms are absent from EDGAR.

"FIXED INCOME" SHOULD NOT BE CONFUSED WITH A PUBLIC BOND FUND — THE ACTUAL COLLATERAL, SENIORITY AND LOAN ECONOMICS ARE NOT DISCLOSED

The Connor Group is not an anonymous credit manager. The operating company says it was founded in 1992 and now owns and operates luxury apartment communities across numerous U.S. markets, with more than $5 billion in assets and more than 1,300 investors. Its SEC history also extends well beyond Fund 21: Connor Group Debt Fund VIII was already filing Form D in 2016, followed by numerous Debt, Income, Hybrid and Continuation vehicles. The latest regulatory records classify the adviser's existing private funds as real estate funds, making the Connor credit program much more closely connected to private real-estate finance than to a conventional liquid bond portfolio. But "Fixed Income Fund 21" still does not reveal what investors are actually lending against. The Form D does not disclose individual apartment properties, loan-to-value ratios, first-lien versus junior-debt status, maturity, coupon, borrower identity, guarantees, refinancing assumptions or whether loans are being made to affiliated Connor entities. Those details determine the real risk. A senior mortgage at conservative LTV on a stabilized property is economically very different from subordinated debt financing an affiliated acquisition, renovation or continuation transaction. Investors also need to know whether interest is paid from operating cash flow or partly accrued, whether principal depends on a future property sale or refinancing and whether the fund itself uses leverage. The word "fixed income" describes a return format; it does not establish that principal or distributions are protected.

THE MANAGER IS NOW AN SEC-REGISTERED RIA, BUT THAT REGULATORY REGISTRATION IS VERY NEW AND FUND 21 POST-DATES ITS CURRENT ADV

There is a meaningful regulatory positive: The Connor Group Fund Manager, LLC is now an SEC-registered investment adviser, CRD 342266 / SEC file 801-136355. Its April 24, 2026 Form ADV reported approximately $494.3 million in regulatory assets under management, all discretionary, across 10 client accounts; regulatory databases show the SEC registration became effective in May 2026. The adviser reported nine existing private funds with approximately $409 million of combined gross assets, with Gregory Brock Wright as Managing Member/CIO, Luke Jacob Worthington as member and Vice President of the investor department, and Kevin Michael Hyland as CCO. That is considerably stronger regulatory infrastructure than an unregistered real-estate sponsor. However, Fund 21 did not exist when that April ADV was filed and therefore does not yet have the same fund-specific transparency in the available adviser schedule. Older Connor funds provide useful context but should not automatically be copied onto the new vehicle. For example, existing Connor real-estate funds disclosed annual GAAP audits, Clark Schaefer Hackett as auditor and Associated Banc as custodian, while several also reported 0% of fund assets independently valued in the Form ADV data. That last figure does not mean the valuations are necessarily incorrect, and audited financial statements provide an important control, but it demonstrates why investors in illiquid private real estate should distinguish an annual audit from an independent third-party appraisal of every asset. Until Fund 21 appears in an updated ADV, its own auditor, custody arrangements, valuation policy and service providers should be independently confirmed.

FINAL RISK ASSESSMENT — THE SPONSOR IS STRONGER THAN MOST NEW FILERS, BUT THE PARALLEL STRUCTURE AND CREDIT TERMS ARE STILL TOO OPAQUE

Connor Group Fixed Income Fund 21 has strong legitimacy signals. The Connor Group is a long-established apartment owner and operator; the organization has used private debt and real-estate investment vehicles for roughly a decade; its dedicated Fund Manager is now an SEC-registered adviser; and the broader manager reports hundreds of millions of dollars under management. FilingDossier found no evidence in the reviewed sources establishing that Fund 21 is fraudulent. The more relevant risks arise from structure and credit underwriting rather than sponsor identity. The $720,000 Fund 21 sits directly beside a $20.05 million Fund 21-Q vehicle launched on the same date, yet the public filings do not explain the economic relationship between them. The Form D also does not disclose underlying properties, borrowers, collateral, lien priority, LTV, coupon, maturity, leverage or refinancing assumptions; the new vehicle has not yet appeared in the April 2026 ADV fund schedule; and prior Connor fund disclosures show that annual audits can coexist with zero reported independent asset valuation. There is also an inherent related-party question whenever a fund managed inside a vertically integrated real-estate organization finances assets acquired, operated or controlled by affiliates: investors need to know who sets the interest rate, values the collateral, determines refinancing terms and decides how opportunities are divided between equity, debt, income and continuation vehicles. Before investing, an LP should obtain the Fund 21 and 21-Q operating agreements side by side, compare fees and distribution waterfalls, identify every loan and property, confirm lien ranking and LTV, determine whether borrowers are Connor affiliates, review default and workout provisions, verify the new fund's auditor/custodian and valuation process, and request historical realized default, impairment and recovery data from prior Connor debt funds. Our assessment is therefore a credible and now SEC-registered real-estate manager, but the "fixed income" label should not obscure the fact that investor returns ultimately depend on private-property credit, related-party allocation and the undisclosed relationship between two parallel Fund 21 vehicles.

Important Form D notice: A Form D filing is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission has approved, licensed, endorsed, or verified the issuer or the offering. Readers should verify information through official SEC sources and conduct their own due diligence.
Verification note: SEC.gov and the relevant regulator's official records remain authoritative. This site's research is independent editorial content.