RESEARCH

Castelion SEC Form D Review 2026: $647M Equity Sold Behind the $1B Blackbeard Hypersonic Series C

Castelion SEC Form D Review 2026: $647M Equity Sold Behind the $1B Blackbeard Hypersonic Series C

INDEPENDENT VERDICT

Castelion Corp's August 2026 Form D is one of the clearest examples of why a private-company financing headline should not be copied directly into an SEC research article. The Form D reports a fixed $800,000,173 Equity offering under Rule 506(b), with $647,000,679 sold, $152,999,494 remaining and 17 investors after a first sale on August 13, 2026. The issuer is Castelion Corp itself, a Delaware corporation formed in 2022 and formerly named Pallas Industries, Inc.; the filing is not a pooled fund, does not claim a 3(c)(1) or 3(c)(7) exclusion and identifies Charles Bryon Hargis, Sean Pitt and Andrew Kreitz among the company's senior related persons. The SEC record therefore confirms a major company-level equity financing, but it does not by itself equal the entire financing package described in Castelion's public Series C announcement.

On August 19, nine days before the Form D filing, Castelion announced what it called a $1 billion Series C financing to accelerate production of its Blackbeard hypersonic weapon and develop longer-range strike and defensive systems. The company described the package as approximately $800 million of equity financing plus $250 million of committed financing for a revolving credit facility, led on the equity side by JPMorganChase's Strategic Investment Group, Andreessen Horowitz and funds managed by Carlyle, with additional participation from Lightspeed Venture Partners, Lavrock Ventures, Altimeter, General Catalyst, Interlagos and T. Rowe Price Associates. Castelion also stated that the transaction valued the company at $13 billion. The SEC Form D, however, checks only Equity and reports an $800,000,173 offering, so the clean interpretation is that this filing covers the equity layer rather than the separate revolving-credit commitment.

THE $1B HEADLINE AND THE SEC NUMBER ARE NOT THE SAME THING

The financing arithmetic is the first distinctive diligence point. Castelion's announcement uses the headline "$1 billion Series C," while the detailed disclosure says roughly $800 million of equity plus $250 million of committed revolving credit financing. That produces a broader financing package that is larger than the SEC equity offering alone, and the SEC notice itself reports only $647.0 million actually sold as of August 28. The remaining $153.0 million of the Form D equity amount had not yet been reported sold at the filing date.

That means at least three figures must remain separate: `$647.0M` is the amount of equity reported sold under the Form D at that date; roughly `$800M` is Castelion's announced equity component and closely matches the SEC offering ceiling; and `$250M` is committed revolving-credit financing described separately by the company. None of those numbers should be substituted for another. Likewise, Castelion's $13 billion valuation is a company-announced Series C valuation and should not be inferred from dividing the Form D amount by an assumed ownership percentage because the SEC filing does not disclose share count, preferred-stock terms or post-money capitalization.

The filing also shows only 17 investors, which is a very different investor profile from many small syndicate SPVs reviewed by FilingDossier. Even a simple equal-allocation calculation would imply tens of millions of dollars per investor, although actual subscriptions almost certainly vary and are not disclosed. That concentration is consistent with the named institutional investors in Castelion's public announcement and reinforces that this is a large institutional private-company financing rather than a broad accredited-investor syndicate.

CASTELION HAS MOVED FROM FUNDRAISING TO INDUSTRIAL-SCALE WEAPONS PRODUCTION

The deeper story is what the new capital is financing. Castelion's first product, Blackbeard, is designed as a lower-cost, mass-producible hypersonic strike weapon rather than a small-batch demonstrator. By February 2026 the company had announced a $49.998 million U.S. Navy contract to advance Blackbeard toward early operational capability, and in April it announced another $105 million Navy award covering integration with the F/A-18 and work toward 2027 operational fielding. In June, Castelion disclosed a $23.4 million firm-fixed-price Navy order for 50 Blackbeard pre-production prototypes and associated containers.

The contract chain continued after the Series C. On August 25, Castelion announced an $89.997 million Navy order to advance 50 early-operational-capability weapons and transition Blackbeard into a Navy Program of Record. Then on September 14, after the Form D had been filed, the company announced a production delivery order valued at up to $200 million for initial production rounds. That chronology makes the 2026 financing materially different from a conventional pre-product defense venture round: the company was raising capital while moving from flight testing and integration into actual serial production and fielding.

Castelion also announced in May 2026 a multi-year production framework under which Blackbeard could be manufactured at a guaranteed minimum rate of 500 weapons annually after testing and validation, with a pathway to substantially larger procurement. That framework is not the same as recognized revenue or a completed purchase of thousands of missiles, and it should not be valued as though every possible future unit has already been ordered. What it does demonstrate is that Castelion's manufacturing strategy is built around industrial-rate output rather than low-volume prototype work.

PROJECT RANGER EXPLAINS WHY CASTELION NEEDS SO MUCH CAPITAL

The Series C also has a physical manufacturing story behind it. Castelion selected Sandoval County, New Mexico for Project Ranger, a roughly 1,000-acre manufacturing campus designed for solid rocket motor production, static testing, final assembly and high-rate hypersonic manufacturing. New Mexico's Economic Development Department said in January 2026 that Castelion expected to invest approximately $220 million in the campus, create about 300 high-wage jobs and complete 21 buildings by the end of 2026. Castelion's own later materials describe private investment at the site rising beyond $300 million as the project expanded.

This manufacturing build-out connects directly to the company's strategy of vertically integrating critical subsystems. Castelion says it designs and manufactures components including solid rocket motors, avionics, guidance-related systems, thermal protection and other weapon-critical technologies while using frequent flight testing to shorten development cycles. In 2025 the company said it had completed more than 20 development flight tests, while its public timeline records 21 tests during that year. The economic thesis is therefore not merely that hypersonic weapons are valuable, but that redesigning them for repeatable manufacturing can lower unit cost and increase deployment scale.

That creates a much more capital-intensive profile than a software or conventional early-stage venture company. Investors are financing facilities, tooling, propulsion manufacturing, test infrastructure, engineering teams, inventory and working capital before all production revenue is realized. The separate revolving-credit component of the 2026 financing may therefore be particularly relevant because industrial production can generate large working-capital needs even after equity has funded development and plant expansion. The public announcement confirms the existence of the committed revolver, but the Form D does not disclose lender covenants, borrowing base, interest rate, maturity, collateral or amount currently drawn.

THE COMPANY DID NOT START AS "CASTELION"

The SEC history adds another distinctive research layer. Castelion's current CIK still identifies `Pallas Industries, Inc.` as a previous name, showing continuity between the earlier corporate entity and today's Castelion Corp. The same CIK also contains earlier Form D financings: approximately $5.4 million sold in April 2023, approximately $8.6 million sold in October 2023, a roughly $60 million equity filing associated with a first sale dating to November 2024, and a later 2025 filing reporting approximately $360 million across equity and option-related securities. These SEC amounts represent separate offerings and should not simply be added into a current valuation or outstanding-capital figure.

The company has nevertheless moved through financing stages unusually quickly. Castelion announced a $100 million 2025 capital package comprising a $70 million Series A and $30 million of venture debt from Silicon Valley Bank, followed by a $350 million Series B announced in December 2025. The Series B was led by Altimeter Capital and Lightspeed Venture Partners and was explicitly directed toward Blackbeard integration, Project Ranger and high-rate manufacturing. Less than a year later, the company announced the much larger Series C at a $13 billion valuation.

The founder backgrounds are also closely connected to the company's model. Castelion identifies Bryon Hargis, Sean Pitt and Andrew Kreitz as co-founders; its official biographies say Hargis previously worked on SpaceX national-security satellite business development, Pitt led SpaceX launch and human-spaceflight sales in Europe, and Kreitz handled SpaceX forecasting, government cost proposals and classified-program FP&A before later working in aerospace and defense investment banking at Goldman Sachs. Those backgrounds help explain Castelion's combination of Silicon Valley-style iteration, government procurement and industrial-scale manufacturing, but they do not substitute for verification of future contract profitability or execution.

FINAL ASSESSMENT

Castelion's August 2026 Form D verifies a very large private-company equity financing at the exact moment the business was transitioning from development-stage defense technology into production. The SEC filing reports `$800,000,173` offered, `$647,000,679` sold, `$152,999,494` remaining and 17 investors, with the securities classified exclusively as Equity under Rule 506(b). It also preserves Castelion's previous corporate name, Pallas Industries, Inc., and confirms that this is the operating company itself rather than a venture fund or SPV.

The public Series C announcement adds the missing financing architecture. Castelion described approximately `$800M` of equity plus `$250M` of committed revolving-credit financing and a `$13B` valuation, with JPMorganChase, Andreessen Horowitz and Carlyle among the co-leads. The SEC filing should therefore not be labeled as a `$1B Form D raise`: the Form D captures the equity offering, while the revolving-credit facility is a separate financing layer.

The company's distinctive risk has also changed. Earlier investors were principally underwriting whether Castelion could develop and demonstrate a viable low-cost hypersonic system. By late 2026, investors are increasingly underwriting manufacturing execution: whether Project Ranger can ramp on schedule, whether Blackbeard can pass required testing and certification, whether production economics hold at scale, and whether military framework agreements turn into sustained procurement orders at acceptable margins. Navy awards ranging from prototype work to an order valued at up to $200 million provide concrete commercial evidence, but announced contract values are not the same as realized revenue or profit.

Form D is an exempt-offering notice. It is not SEC approval of Castelion, Blackbeard, the $13 billion valuation, any government contract or any projected investment return.

SEC SNAPSHOT

ISSUER: Castelion Corp | CIK: 0001973707 | SEC FILE NO.: 021-595851 | FILM NO.: 261341498 | ACCESSION NO.: 0001973707-26-000001 | FILED / EFFECTIVE: August 28, 2026

PREVIOUS NAME: Pallas Industries, Inc. | ENTITY: Delaware Corporation | INCORPORATED: 2022 | PRINCIPAL ADDRESS: 19951 Mariner Ave, Torrance, CA 90503

INDUSTRY: Other Technology | EXEMPTION: Regulation D Rule 506(b) | POOLED INVESTMENT FUND: No | BUSINESS COMBINATION: No

SECURITY: Equity | FIRST SALE: August 13, 2026 | OFFERING DURATION: One year or less

TOTAL SEC FORM D OFFERING: $800,000,173 | AMOUNT SOLD: $647,000,679 | REMAINING: $152,999,494 | INVESTORS: 17 | MINIMUM INVESTMENT FIELD: $0 | SALES COMMISSIONS: $0 | FINDER FEES: $0

RELATED PERSONS: Charles Bryon Hargis — Executive Officer / Director / Promoter | Sean Tucker Orion Pitt — Executive Officer / Director / Promoter | Andrew Jonathan Kreitz — Executive Officer / Director / Promoter | Alex Poulin — Director

FORM D SIGNATORY: Charles Bryon Hargis | TITLE: CEO

PUBLIC SERIES C ANNOUNCEMENT: August 19, 2026 | ANNOUNCED PACKAGE: approximately $800M equity + $250M committed revolving credit financing | ANNOUNCED VALUATION: $13B

SERIES C CO-LEADS DISCLOSED BY CASTELION: JPMorganChase Strategic Investment Group | Andreessen Horowitz | funds managed by Carlyle

OTHER DISCLOSED SERIES C PARTICIPANTS: Lightspeed Venture Partners | Lavrock Ventures | Altimeter | General Catalyst | Interlagos | T. Rowe Price Associates

IMPORTANT FINANCING DISTINCTION: The 2026 SEC Form D selects only Equity and reports an $800.0M offering. The separately announced $250M revolving-credit commitment is not the amount sold under this Form D and should not be added to the SEC equity amount as though it were part of Item 13.

PRIMARY PRODUCT: Blackbeard low-cost hypersonic strike weapon | TARGETED EARLY OPERATIONAL FIELDING: 2027 according to Castelion

SELECT 2026 NAVY AWARDS ANNOUNCED BY CASTELION: approximately $49.998M development award | $105M F/A-18 integration award | $23.4M order for 50 pre-production prototypes | approximately $89.997M EOC order | September production delivery order valued up to $200M.

PROJECT RANGER: approximately 1,000-acre New Mexico manufacturing campus supporting solid rocket motors, testing and final assembly | New Mexico announced approximately $220M expected private investment at groundbreaking; Castelion's later materials report a larger expanding capital commitment.

FOUNDER BACKGROUND: Bryon Hargis, Sean Pitt and Andrew Kreitz are former SpaceX executives / finance leaders with national-security, launch, government-contract and aerospace experience.

CORE INDEPENDENT FINDING: Castelion's Form D does not verify a generic "$1B equity raise." It verifies an approximately $800M equity offering with $647M sold as of August 28. The larger public financing announcement combines that equity with a separate committed revolving-credit facility. The capital arrived while Castelion was simultaneously moving Blackbeard from repeated flight testing into Navy operational capability and production, meaning the central investment question has shifted from technical proof-of-concept toward industrial execution at scale.

Form D is an exempt-offering notice and is not an SEC-issued certificate, approval or endorsement.

Important Form D notice: A Form D filing is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission has approved, licensed, endorsed, or verified the issuer or the offering. Readers should verify information through official SEC sources and conduct their own due diligence.
Verification note: SEC.gov and the relevant regulator's official records remain authoritative. This site's research is independent editorial content.