RESEARCH

CABO Auto Loans Opportunity Fund SEC Review 2026: Cerberus Launches a New Auto-Credit Vehicle Before Its First Sale

CABO Auto Loans Opportunity Fund SEC Review 2026: Cerberus Launches a New Auto-Credit Vehicle Before Its First Sale

INDEPENDENT VERDICT

CABO Auto Loans Opportunity Fund, L.P. is a newly formed Delaware private fund directly tied to Cerberus Capital Management, but the most important fact in its September 2026 SEC filing is what had not yet happened: the fund filed before its first sale, reported no investors and disclosed no capital sold. The vehicle uses an indefinite Rule 506(b) offering and relies on Investment Company Act Section 3(c)(7). Its general partner is CABO Auto Loans Opportunity GP, L.L.C., while Cerberus Capital Management II, L.P. is separately identified as a related executive entity. Greg D. Gordon, a long-standing Cerberus senior executive who appears across numerous Cerberus fund filings, signed the notice as Senior Managing Director of Cerberus Capital Management, L.P. This is therefore not an anonymous newly formed auto-credit vehicle; its sponsor connection is unusually strong. What remains completely opaque at filing is the actual portfolio: the SEC notice does not identify the auto-loan seller, originator, servicer, borrower mix, collateral characteristics, acquisition price, leverage or expected return.

CERBERUS IS NOT NEW TO AUTO FINANCE

The fund name becomes much more meaningful when placed against Cerberus' history. Cerberus has decades of experience in consumer and automotive finance, including its ownership of Chrysler Financial following the 2007 Chrysler transaction. Cerberus later described that lender as having approximately $76 billion of managed assets, including roughly 2.7 million consumer loans and 900,000 leases at the time of acquisition. During the financial crisis, Cerberus worked through the lender's funding, technology, operating footprint, collections and refinancing before selling the retail lending and leasing businesses to TD Bank in a transaction announced at approximately $6.3 billion. That history does not establish what CABO will buy, but it demonstrates that auto credit is a familiar asset class inside the Cerberus organization rather than a newly adopted strategy.

Cerberus also has a broader history in consumer finance and distressed loan investing. Its portfolio has included consumer-credit platforms such as My Money Bank, which Cerberus created from the former GE Money Bank France business and which operated across consumer finance, auto finance and credit consolidation. More recently, Cerberus acquired BROCC Finance in 2025 to expand consumer finance and non-performing-loan activity in the Nordic region. In 2026, Cerberus-backed VeloBank also completed the acquisition of Bank Handlowy's retail operations, including consumer loans and other retail-banking assets. Those transactions show a repeated institutional pattern: Cerberus has experience acquiring, restructuring and operating consumer-credit businesses and loan portfolios across multiple markets. CABO may fit that broader asset-backed and consumer-credit capability, although its specific mandate is not disclosed publicly.

THE FUND WAS FILED BEFORE CAPITAL FORMATION BEGAN

CABO differs from many recent Form D issuers reviewed by FilingDossier because the initial filing captures the vehicle at a genuinely pre-launch stage. The notice marks "First Sale Yet to Occur," reports an indefinite offering amount and shows no investors or capital sold. The issuer also states that the offering is not expected to last more than one year. Because no first sale had taken place, the Form D does not yet provide even a preliminary indication of fundraising velocity, investor concentration or ultimate fund size. The $0 minimum-investment field should not be interpreted as meaning outside investors can subscribe without a meaningful minimum; Section 3(c)(7) funds generally restrict participation to qualified purchasers, and the actual eligibility and commitment requirements should be set out in the private placement and subscription materials.

The use of Section 3(c)(7) is itself informative. Unlike a 3(c)(1) fund, which is commonly structured around a limited number of beneficial owners, a 3(c)(7) vehicle is generally designed around investors that satisfy the applicable qualified-purchaser standard. That is consistent with an institutional or sophisticated-investor private-credit strategy. Still, Form D does not tell investors whether CABO will buy whole auto loans, residual interests, asset-backed securities, securitization tranches, distressed receivables, warehouse-financed pools or interests in another credit vehicle. The name strongly points toward auto-loan exposure, but the legal and economic form of that exposure remains unverified.

WHAT "AUTO LOANS" COULD MEAN — AND WHY THE DISTINCTION MATTERS

For diligence purposes, an auto-loan opportunity fund can take very different forms. A manager might purchase seasoned performing loans at a discount, acquire non-performing or subprime receivables, finance an originator through a warehouse facility, invest in residual or subordinated interests from securitizations, or buy entire portfolios from banks, finance companies or captive auto lenders. Each structure produces a different risk profile. Whole-loan purchases depend heavily on borrower credit, servicing quality and recovery values; securitization investments add tranche subordination and structural leverage; warehouse finance introduces counterparty and borrowing-base risk; distressed portfolios depend on collections and repossession economics.

None of those variables appears in CABO's initial Form D. Investors therefore need a loan tape or equivalent portfolio-level disclosure before assessing risk. Critical fields include weighted-average borrower FICO, original and current loan-to-value, vehicle age, new-versus-used mix, geographic concentration, APR, remaining term, delinquency status, vintage, dealer channel, recovery rates, repossession assumptions, prepayment behavior and historical net charge-offs. If the fund employs leverage, investors also need advance rates, financing costs, margin triggers and lender termination rights. Without those numbers, the Cerberus name verifies the sponsor but does not allow independent assessment of the credit quality of the assets.

MANAGER IDENTITY IS STRONG; ASSET IDENTITY IS NOT

The sponsor connection is much clearer than the asset connection. CABO's address at 875 Third Avenue is a long-standing Cerberus address used across multiple Cerberus pooled investment vehicles. Cerberus Capital Management II, L.P. appears as a related executive entity, while Greg D. Gordon has appeared repeatedly in Cerberus filings spanning hedge funds and other investment vehicles. Historical records for Cerberus Institutional Partners and Cerberus International II likewise show Gordon and Cerberus management entities together at the same New York operating address. This repeated regulatory footprint makes the manager lineage straightforward to verify.

That is also why the article should not overreach. The existence of a large and established alternative manager does not tell investors whether this specific CABO vehicle will hold prime, near-prime, subprime or distressed auto loans; whether assets are newly originated or seasoned; whether Cerberus is buying from an affiliated operating company or an unaffiliated seller; or whether the portfolio has already been identified. No specific automotive finance company, bank, dealership group or servicing platform is named in the SEC filing. FilingDossier therefore does not attribute any particular Cerberus historical auto-finance asset to CABO unless future transaction documents or amendments establish that connection.

FINAL ASSESSMENT

CABO Auto Loans Opportunity Fund has a very strong sponsor-verification profile but almost no public asset-level disclosure at launch. The September 2026 Form D confirms a real Delaware fund, a Cerberus-affiliated general-partner structure, Cerberus Capital Management II as a related entity, a New York Cerberus address and Greg D. Gordon as signer. Cerberus' historical record in Chrysler Financial, consumer credit, banking and distressed loan portfolios adds credible context showing that automotive and consumer finance sit within the firm's established investment capabilities.

The main diligence burden therefore lies entirely downstream: investors need to see the first actual portfolio or acquisition opportunity. Until the originator, loan pool, borrower characteristics, purchase price, servicing arrangement and leverage are known, it is impossible to independently judge the credit quality or expected economics of the strategy. The initial Form D proves the formation and intended private offering; it does not prove that Cerberus has already acquired auto loans, committed capital to a specific portfolio or established a final fund size.

KEY FINDINGS CABO Auto Loans Opportunity Fund, L.P. was formed in Delaware in 2026. The fund filed a new Form D on September 16, 2026. The filing was signed September 15, 2026. The first sale had not yet occurred. No investors were reported at the initial filing. No capital had yet been sold. The offering amount is indefinite. The offering relies on Regulation D Rule 506(b). The fund relies on Investment Company Act Section 3(c)(7). The issuer offers pooled investment fund interests. CABO Auto Loans Opportunity GP, L.L.C. is the general partner. Cerberus Capital Management II, L.P. is identified as a related executive entity. Greg D. Gordon signed the filing as Senior Managing Director of Cerberus Capital Management, L.P. The fund uses Cerberus' 875 Third Avenue New York address and 212-891-2100 phone number. Cerberus has a documented historical record in auto finance and consumer credit. Cerberus previously owned Chrysler Financial and later sold its retail lending and leasing business to TD. The CABO Form D does not identify any specific auto-loan portfolio. No originator, seller, servicer or warehouse lender is disclosed. No borrower credit characteristics are disclosed. No portfolio leverage is disclosed. No expected fund size can yet be inferred from the indefinite offering.

WEBSITE / ENTITY PENETRATION Official manager: Cerberus Capital Management Official domain: cerberus.com Legal issuer: CABO Auto Loans Opportunity Fund, L.P. CIK: 0002153588 General partner: CABO Auto Loans Opportunity GP, L.L.C. Cerberus Capital Management II relationship: Confirmed directly in Form D Greg D. Gordon relationship: Confirmed 875 Third Avenue Cerberus address overlap: Confirmed 212-891-2100 Cerberus phone overlap: Confirmed Cerberus historical auto-finance experience: Confirmed Chrysler Financial historical relationship: Confirmed Consumer-finance platform experience: Confirmed Specific CABO portfolio: Not disclosed Specific loan seller: Not disclosed Specific originator: Not disclosed Specific servicer: Not disclosed Prime/subprime classification: Not disclosed Portfolio average FICO: Not disclosed Portfolio LTV: Not disclosed Average APR: Not disclosed Loan seasoning: Not disclosed Delinquency rate: Not disclosed Historical charge-off rate: Not disclosed Fund leverage: Not disclosed Warehouse financing provider: Not disclosed Auditor: Not disclosed Administrator: Not disclosed Custodian: Not disclosed

CORE INVESTOR QUESTIONS What exact auto-loan assets will CABO acquire Are the loans prime, near-prime, subprime or distressed Who originated the loans Who is selling the portfolio Is the seller affiliated with Cerberus Who will service and collect the loans What is the weighted-average FICO What is the original and current loan-to-value ratio What percentage of collateral is new versus used vehicles What is the weighted-average APR What is the average remaining loan term How seasoned are the loans What percentage is currently delinquent What are historical net charge-off rates for comparable vintages What recovery rate is assumed after repossession What purchase discount or premium is being paid Will the fund finance the portfolio with leverage What advance rate and borrowing cost apply What triggers margin calls or financing termination Will the fund purchase whole loans or structured securities Are there securitization plans What management and performance fees apply What is the fund's target return How are loan values marked between transactions What happens if used-vehicle prices fall materially

CORE RISKS Consumer-credit deterioration Subprime borrower default risk Used-vehicle collateral depreciation Repossession and recovery risk Servicer performance risk Originator underwriting risk Loan-pool concentration Economic-cycle sensitivity Interest-rate risk Funding and warehouse leverage risk Securitization market risk Prepayment risk Regulatory risk in consumer lending and collections Limited initial public disclosure No completed first sale at filing No public portfolio data at launch

SEC SNAPSHOT Issuer: CABO AUTO LOANS OPPORTUNITY FUND, L.P. CIK: 0002153588 Form: D Filed: September 16, 2026 Signed: September 15, 2026 Formation: Delaware, 2026 Business address: 875 Third Avenue, 14th Floor, New York, NY 10022 Phone: 212-891-2100 Industry: Pooled Investment Fund / Other Investment Fund Security: Pooled Investment Fund Interests Exemption: Rule 506(b) Investment Company Act exclusion: Section 3(c)(7) Offering amount: Indefinite First sale: Yet to occur Amount sold: $0 at initial filing Investors: 0 at initial filing Minimum investment reported: $0 Offering expected to exceed one year: No General partner: CABO Auto Loans Opportunity GP, L.L.C. Related manager entity: Cerberus Capital Management II, L.P. Signer: Greg D. Gordon Signer title: Senior Managing Director, Cerberus Capital Management, L.P.

PRIMARY EVIDENCE REVIEWED SEC Form D — CABO Auto Loans Opportunity Fund, L.P. Cerberus Capital Management — official historical auto-lending investment materials Cerberus Capital Management — Chrysler Financial / TD transaction materials Cerberus Capital Management — My Money Bank consumer-finance materials Cerberus Capital Management — BROCC Finance acquisition materials Cerberus Capital Management — VeloBank / Bank Handlowy retail acquisition materials Historical SEC/Form D records for Cerberus-managed investment funds Public regulatory records for Greg D. Gordon and Cerberus-affiliated vehicles

IMPORTANT FORM D NOTICE Form D is a notice of an exempt securities offering. Filing with the SEC does not mean the SEC has approved, endorsed, reviewed or verified CABO Auto Loans Opportunity Fund, Cerberus Capital Management, its general partner, any future auto-loan portfolio, borrower credit quality, valuation or expected return. The initial CABO filing was submitted before the first sale and does not disclose a specific loan portfolio. Investors should review the complete fund documents, loan-level data, servicing arrangements, financing structure and portfolio underwriting before making an investment decision.

Important Form D notice: A Form D filing is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission has approved, licensed, endorsed, or verified the issuer or the offering. Readers should verify information through official SEC sources and conduct their own due diligence.
Verification note: SEC.gov and the relevant regulator's official records remain authoritative. This site's research is independent editorial content.