INDEPENDENT VERDICT
BP Funding Trust should not be analyzed as a hedge fund, private-equity fund or an entity related to BP plc. It is part of BasePoint's specialty-finance funding architecture. BP Funding Trust Series SPL-IV reported $546.32 million sold to 46 investors in its September 8, 2026 Form D/A, while Series SPL-V reported $268.475 million sold to 34 investors two days later. Both offerings are indefinite and use Rule 506(b). SPL-IV explicitly characterizes the security as a loan participation, making the economics fundamentally credit-driven: investors are exposed to pools or participations in specialty-finance loans rather than to an equity portfolio. BasePoint's public materials state that it provides structured, asset-based financing to commercial, fintech and consumer originators and had provided approximately $16.1 billion of financing since 2011 as of March 31, 2026. That platform statistic establishes scale but should not be confused with assets of either BP Funding Trust series.
THE BASEPOINT CONNECTION IS DIRECT AND DOCUMENTED
The BasePoint relationship is considerably stronger than a matching acronym. BP Funding Trust filings identify Michael Petronio at BasePoint Administrative / BasePoint Capital's Rockefeller Plaza office as an executive or authorized person. Public lending agreements filed by unrelated operating companies go further: BP Funding Trust Series SPL-V appears as an actual lender and Class B agent, with BasePoint Administrative LLC signing solely as administrator of BP Funding Trust. In 2026 credit-agreement amendments involving CCF OpCo, Series SPL-V is expressly described as a statutory series of BP Funding Trust and a Class B lender, while BasePoint Administrative executes documents on its behalf. This proves that the trust is used in real lending transactions rather than existing only as a Regulation D shell.
BasePoint Group publicly describes itself as a specialty-finance platform formed around BasePoint Capital and BasePoint Advisors. Its strategy focuses on lending to originators serving consumer, fintech, small-business and commercial markets. BasePoint says it combines structured-credit underwriting, servicing infrastructure and continuous collateral data monitoring, and reports approximately $16.1 billion funded since 2011 through March 31, 2026. The trust series therefore fit directly into BasePoint's disclosed business model of raising institutional capital and deploying it into structured asset-backed credit.
SPL-IV AND SPL-V ARE DIFFERENT SERIES OF ONE CREDIT PLATFORM
Series SPL-IV and SPL-V should not be counted as two separate brands. SPL-IV began its current offering in April 2021 and by September 2026 reported $546.32 million sold. Series SPL-V began selling in August 2021 and reported $268.475 million sold by September 10, 2026. Together, the two currently report $814.795 million sold, but that combined figure should be used only as an aggregate of these two Form D series. It is not BasePoint AUM, not total BasePoint lending since inception and not necessarily the current NAV or outstanding principal balance of all loans owned by the trusts.
The investor counts also show an institutional profile. SPL-IV reports 46 investors with a $120,000 minimum, while SPL-V reports 34 investors with a $125,000 minimum. A simple average would imply multimillion-dollar subscriptions, but actual investor allocations are not disclosed and should not be inferred from arithmetic averages. Both offerings remain open for more than one year, consistent with continuously capitalized credit vehicles rather than single-close private funds.
THE UNDERLYING EXPOSURE IS SPECIALTY FINANCE CREDIT
BasePoint finances specialty-finance originators rather than primarily lending against stabilized commercial real estate or public-market securities. Its public strategy materials describe structured financing across consumer, commercial, small-business and fintech collateral. These originators can make loans or extend financing to end borrowers and then obtain warehouse, revolving or structured facilities from BasePoint.
That means investor risk exists at several layers. There is the financial strength of the originator, the credit quality of the underlying consumer or business receivables, collateral eligibility rules, advance rates, concentration limits, servicing quality and legal enforceability of the financing structure. A facility can perform even if some end borrowers default, provided underwriting assumptions, excess collateral and structural protections are adequate. But losses can accelerate if an originator weakens at the same time as underlying collateral performance deteriorates.
PUBLIC CREDIT AGREEMENTS PROVIDE RARE ASSET-LEVEL EVIDENCE
The most useful independent evidence comes from public-company credit agreements where BP Funding Trust appears directly as lender.
In agreements involving CCF OpCo and related consumer-finance businesses, Series SPL-V acts as a Class B lender and Class B agent alongside bank lenders. Public amendments identify banks including Veritex Community Bank, CrossFirst/Busey, Oakwood/b1BANK and Sunflower Bank in senior lending roles. Series SPL-V occupies a separately defined Class B position. Certain agreements specifically state that Class B notes are subject to subordination provisions benefiting Class A lenders.
This is critical information because it demonstrates that at least some BP Funding Trust exposure can sit below senior bank financing.
Subordination can enhance yield but increases downside severity. If collateral proceeds are insufficient, Class A lenders may receive repayment before the Class B lender. Investors in BP Funding Trust therefore need to understand how much of each series is senior secured, junior secured, subordinated or otherwise structurally behind bank capital.
BASEPOINT ALSO APPEARS IN LARGE SPECIALTY-FINANCE CREDIT EVENTS
Public insolvency records provide another important risk lens. In the NextPoint Financial restructuring, BP Commercial Funding Trust Series SPL-X appeared on the creditor list with approximately $213.9 million identified as secured exposure as of July 2023. BP Commercial Funding Trust is a related BasePoint financing architecture rather than the same legal vehicle as BP Funding Trust SPL-IV or SPL-V, so that exposure should not be attributed to these two series.
It nevertheless demonstrates the type and scale of borrower credit risk that can arise within BasePoint's specialty-finance ecosystem.
The lesson is not that BP Funding Trust SPL-IV or SPL-V suffered that specific loss. The correct lesson is that specialty-finance lending can involve large concentrated facilities where borrower distress, servicing disruption or insolvency proceedings become important recovery variables.
SERIES STRUCTURE IS CENTRAL TO RISK SEGREGATION
BP Funding Trust is organized as a Delaware statutory trust with separate series. Public agreements repeatedly state that a particular series acts "for itself and for no other series" of the trust.
That language matters.
A properly structured statutory series is intended to segregate assets and liabilities among individual series. Investors should therefore evaluate SPL-IV and SPL-V independently rather than assuming that assets from one series automatically support another.
Important questions include whether statutory-series liability segregation is preserved in all transaction documents, whether each series maintains separate accounts and books, whether there are cross-series guarantees and whether administrative expenses can ever be allocated across vehicles.
THE FORM D AMENDMENT HISTORY SHOWS VERY LARGE CONTINUING CAPITAL FORMATION
SPL-IV's SEC history shows significant growth. The 2022 filing began with approximately $88.5 million of incremental capital, followed by approximately $3.99 million in 2023, about $144.7 million in 2024, no reported incremental increase in the 2025 amendment and approximately $82.68 million of incremental capital in the September 2026 amendment. The latest cumulative amount sold is $546.32 million.
SPL-V began with approximately $173.8 million in 2022, added approximately $12.98 million in 2023, about $42.60 million in 2024, reported no increase in 2025 and added approximately $33.42 million in 2026. Its latest cumulative amount sold is $268.475 million.
These incremental amounts should not be added to the latest cumulative totals a second time. The current authoritative Form D amounts are $546.32 million and $268.475 million respectively.
BASEPOINT COMMERCIAL FUNDING TRUSTS ARE RELATED BUT SEPARATE
BasePoint also operates BP Commercial Funding Trust and BP Commercial Funding Trust II/III series. Those vehicles use the same BasePoint Capital operating infrastructure and appear in other specialty-finance lending agreements.
For example, BP Commercial Funding Trust Series SPL-V reported $248.71 million sold in July 2026, while separate BasePoint commercial-funding vehicles appear in revolving-credit and master-loan agreements.
These entities demonstrate the breadth of BasePoint's funding architecture, but they should not be combined mechanically with BP Funding Trust SPL-IV and SPL-V to produce one fundraising number. Each trust and each statutory series can have different borrowers, collateral pools, investor groups and priority rights.
BASEPOINT ADVISORS IS A SEPARATE REGULATED ADVISORY ENTITY
BasePoint's public corporate history says BasePoint Advisors became an SEC-registered investment adviser in 2021 and began providing advisory services in 2022.
That regulatory entity is separate from BasePoint Capital's lending company and from BP Funding Trust.
The distinction matters because an investor should not describe BP Funding Trust itself as an SEC-registered investment adviser. The trust is an issuer and lending vehicle. BasePoint Advisors is the registered advisory business within the wider BasePoint Group.
CREDIT QUALITY MATTERS MORE THAN THE $814.8M FUNDRAISING NUMBER
The combined Form D volume of SPL-IV and SPL-V is significant, but fundraising scale does not determine credit quality.
Investors should focus on: borrower concentration; collateral types; advance rates; loan-to-value or borrowing-base levels; delinquency; charge-offs; first-payment defaults; fraud rates; recoveries; excess spread; servicing quality; warehouse covenants; cross-defaults; duration; interest-rate structure; and lender priority.
A specialty-finance pool can deteriorate rapidly if underwriting loosens during growth periods or if unemployment, consumer stress or small-business defaults rise.
Origination volume is therefore less important than vintage-level loss performance.
CLASS B EXPOSURE REQUIRES SPECIAL ATTENTION
The CCF OpCo agreements make the seniority question especially important. BP Funding Trust Series SPL-V appears as a Class B lender behind Class A bank lenders, and the agreements contain explicit subordination language.
That does not prove every asset in SPL-V is subordinated.
But it proves that the series can hold subordinated credit exposure.
Investors should therefore obtain a portfolio schedule dividing assets into: first-lien senior loans; second-lien loans; Class B or junior participations; whole loans; warehouse participations; bridge loans; and any unsecured corporate exposure.
The expected return of the series cannot be understood without knowing that mix.
FINAL ASSESSMENT
BP Funding Trust has one of the strongest asset-level verification trails among the D-list issuers reviewed so far. The latest Form D filings establish substantial capital formation: $546.32 million in SPL-IV and $268.475 million in SPL-V. BasePoint's official materials independently confirm a large specialty-finance platform with approximately $16.1 billion funded since 2011. Most importantly, unrelated SEC-filed credit agreements show BP Funding Trust acting directly as lender and agent in real specialty-finance facilities, including transactions where SPL-V occupies a subordinated Class B position behind bank lenders.
The principal diligence issue is therefore not sponsor identity. It is credit architecture.
Investors need portfolio-level borrower data, collateral performance, borrowing-base tests, lender seniority, concentration, historical losses and recovery experience. BasePoint's long operating history and underwriting infrastructure are relevant strengths, but the economics of a loan-participation vehicle ultimately depend on how well the underlying specialty-finance receivables perform and where the trust sits in each transaction's capital structure.
KEY FINDINGS
BP Funding Trust is part of BasePoint's specialty-finance funding architecture.
Series SPL-IV latest Form D/A: Filed September 8, 2026. First sale April 9, 2021. Indefinite offering. $546,320,000 sold. 46 investors. $120,000 minimum. Rule 506(b). Security described as Loan Participation.
Series SPL-V latest Form D/A: Filed September 10, 2026. First sale August 30, 2021. Indefinite offering. $268,475,000 sold. 34 investors. $125,000 minimum. Rule 506(b).
Combined latest reported sold: $814,795,000.
The two amounts are separate series totals and are not BasePoint firmwide AUM.
Michael Petronio appears as an executive / authorized person linked to BasePoint. Jay Gracin signs the latest amendments as General Counsel. The trust uses Wilmington Savings Fund Society as its Delaware trust address. BasePoint Administrative LLC administers BP Funding Trust in public credit agreements. BasePoint Capital operates from 75 Rockefeller Plaza in New York. BasePoint publicly reports approximately $16.1 billion financed since 2011 as of March 31, 2026. BasePoint focuses on specialty finance, structured credit and asset-based financing. Series SPL-V has appeared publicly as a Class B lender and agent in revolving-credit facilities. Public agreements show Class B claims can be subordinated to Class A bank lenders. Related BP Commercial Funding Trust vehicles should be treated as the same BasePoint sponsor brand but not combined into one fund total.
SPL-IV FORM D HISTORY
2022: Incremental reported capital approximately $88.50M.
2023: Incremental approximately $3.99M.
2024: Incremental approximately $144.71M.
2025: No incremental increase reported.
2026: Incremental approximately $82.68M.
Latest cumulative amount sold: $546.32M.
SPL-V FORM D HISTORY
2022: Initial reported amount approximately $173.81M.
2023: Incremental approximately $12.98M.
2024: Incremental approximately $42.60M.
2025: No incremental increase reported.
2026: Incremental approximately $33.42M.
Latest cumulative amount sold: $268.475M.
Do not add annual amendment increments to the latest cumulative sold figure.
BASEPOINT PLATFORM
Official brand: BasePoint
Official domain: basepointgroup.com
Holding company: BasePoint Group Inc.
Operating entities include: BasePoint Capital LLC BasePoint Advisors LLC BasePoint Administrative LLC and related administrative entities
Headquarters: New York City
Platform formed: 2009
Specialty-finance strategy launched: 2011
Company-reported financing since 2011: Approximately $16.1B as of March 31, 2026
Core markets: Commercial finance Small-business finance Consumer finance Fintech Specialty originators Structured credit Asset-based lending
Company-reported borrower renewal / expansion rate: Approximately 90% for the defined Capital Solutions borrower population as of June 30, 2026.
Platform statistics are company-level measures and should not be treated as BP Funding Trust assets or investment performance.
PUBLIC CREDIT AGREEMENT EVIDENCE
BP Funding Trust Series SPL-V has appeared as: Class B Lender Class B Agent
Public facilities include CCF OpCo and related specialty-finance borrowers.
Other lenders appearing in those facilities include: Veritex Community Bank / successor institutions CrossFirst Bank / Busey Bank Oakwood Bank / b1BANK Sunflower Bank
Certain documents explicitly subordinate Class B notes to Class A lender rights.
This verifies real lender activity and junior-capital exposure but does not mean every BP Funding Trust asset carries identical seniority.
RELATED BASEPOINT TRUST FAMILIES
BP Funding Trust BP Commercial Funding Trust BP Commercial Funding Trust II BP Commercial Funding Trust III Additional SPL-numbered statutory series
These should all be de-duplicated at the BasePoint sponsor level for FilingDossier.
However, their offering amounts should not be mechanically combined because each statutory series can have separate investors, assets and liabilities.
WEBSITE / ENTITY PENETRATION
BP Funding Trust identity: Confirmed.
BasePoint Administrative relationship: Confirmed through public loan agreements.
BasePoint Capital relationship: Confirmed.
75 Rockefeller Plaza relationship: Confirmed.
Michael Petronio relationship: Confirmed.
Jay Gracin latest signer: Confirmed.
Wilmington Savings Fund Society trust address: Confirmed.
BasePoint specialty-finance strategy: Confirmed.
Commercial / consumer / fintech lending: Confirmed.
$16.1B platform financing history: Company-reported and confirmed on official site.
Exact SPL-IV borrower list: Not publicly disclosed in Form D.
Exact SPL-V borrower list: Not publicly disclosed in Form D.
Current portfolio principal balance: Not disclosed in Form D.
Weighted-average yield: Not disclosed.
Weighted-average seniority: Not disclosed.
Current delinquency: Not disclosed.
Charge-off rate: Not disclosed.
Loss reserve: Not disclosed.
Fund / series NAV: Not disclosed.
Investor return: Not disclosed.
CORE INVESTOR QUESTIONS
Which borrowers are currently held by SPL-IV Which borrowers are currently held by SPL-V How many lending facilities does each series own What is the largest borrower exposure What percentage is consumer finance What percentage is small-business finance What percentage is fintech What percentage is commercial specialty finance What collateral backs each facility What advance rates apply What borrowing-base tests apply What overcollateralization exists What percentage of exposure is first lien What percentage is Class B or subordinated What percentage is unsecured What is weighted-average loan yield What is weighted-average financing cost What is excess spread What is current delinquency What are historical net charge-offs What were worst vintage losses What is average recovery after default How are fraud losses allocated Who services underlying receivables Can BasePoint replace a failed originator or servicer What concentration limits apply What triggers early amortization What triggers cash trapping What lender covenants protect the trust What leverage exists at the series level Do series borrow externally Can one BP series transact with another Are liabilities legally segregated among statutory series What happens if BasePoint Administrative is replaced What are redemption or transfer rights for Form D investors How are loan participations valued Are financial statements independently audited
CORE RISKS
Consumer-credit deterioration Small-business default risk Originator insolvency Fintech platform failure Asset-backed collateral deterioration Fraud Servicing disruption Borrower concentration Junior / subordinated lender risk Warehouse leverage Interest-rate risk Duration mismatch Liquidity risk Valuation risk Legal enforceability risk Bankruptcy and true-sale risk Cross-default risk Economic downturn Unemployment sensitivity Rapid deterioration in newer loan vintages Private-security illiquidity Risk of confusing platform financing volume with investor assets
SEC SNAPSHOT — SPL-IV
Issuer: BP Funding Trust, Series SPL-IV
CIK: 0001943723
Latest Form: D/A
Filed: September 8, 2026
First Sale: April 9, 2021
Jurisdiction: Delaware
Entity: Business Trust / Statutory Series
Trust Address: c/o Wilmington Savings Fund Society, FSB 500 Delaware Avenue, 11th Floor Wilmington, DE 19801
Industry: Other Banking & Financial Services
Exemption: Rule 506(b)
Security: Loan Participation
Offering: Indefinite
Amount Sold: $546,320,000
Investors: 46
Minimum Investment: $120,000
Sales Commissions: $0
Finder's Fees: $0
Related-person proceeds: $0
Related Executive: Michael Petronio
Latest Signer: Jay Gracin
Title: General Counsel
SEC SNAPSHOT — SPL-V
Issuer: BP Funding Trust, Series SPL-V
CIK: 0001923036
Latest Form: D/A
Filed: September 10, 2026
First Sale: August 30, 2021
Jurisdiction: Delaware
Entity: Business Trust / Statutory Series
Trust Address: c/o Wilmington Savings Fund Society, FSB 500 Delaware Avenue, 11th Floor Wilmington, DE 19801
Industry: Other Banking & Financial Services
Exemption: Rule 506(b)
Offering: Indefinite
Amount Sold: $268,475,000
Investors: 34
Minimum Investment: $125,000
Sales Commissions: $0
Finder's Fees: $0
Related-person proceeds: $0
Related Executive: Michael Petronio
Latest Signer: Jay Gracin
Title: General Counsel
PRIMARY EVIDENCE REVIEWED
SEC Form D/A — BP Funding Trust Series SPL-IV, September 8, 2026 SEC Form D/A — BP Funding Trust Series SPL-V, September 10, 2026 SEC-filed revolving-credit agreements showing BP Funding Trust SPL-V as Class B lender / agent SEC-filed specialty-finance credit amendments involving CCF OpCo SEC filings for related BP Commercial Funding Trust series BasePoint — official Who We Are materials BasePoint — official Originator Solutions materials BasePoint — official Investment Philosophy materials Public insolvency records reviewed to understand specialty-finance counterparty risk
IMPORTANT FORM D NOTICE
Form D is a notice of an exempt securities offering. Filing with the SEC does not mean the SEC has approved, endorsed, rated, audited or verified BP Funding Trust, BasePoint, BasePoint Capital, BasePoint Administrative, any borrower, any loan participation, collateral pool or expected investor return.
The $546.32 million and $268.475 million figures are amounts sold reported by two separate statutory series. They are not BasePoint AUM, current portfolio NAV or the same thing as BasePoint's approximately $16.1 billion of cumulative financing activity.
Investors should independently review borrower schedules, collateral reports, advance rates, delinquency and loss data, seniority, subordination terms, leverage, servicing agreements, audited financial statements and statutory-series segregation before investing.