RESEARCH

1729 Capital SEC Review 2026: $60.1M Mauritius Hedge Fund, Sanjay Pandit and India-Focused Public Equity Holdings

1729 Capital SEC Review 2026: $60.1M Mauritius Hedge Fund, Sanjay Pandit and India-Focused Public Equity Holdings

INDEPENDENT VERDICT

1729 Capital is a Mauritius-domiciled hedge fund with a meaningful U.S. Regulation D and Indian public-market footprint. Its September 8, 2026 Form D/A reports an indefinite Rule 506(b) offering with $60,077,124 sold to 33 investors, a $100,000 minimum investment and reliance on Investment Company Act Section 3(c)(1). The fund is described in SEC filings as a public company limited by shares established in Mauritius, constituted as a collective investment scheme and authorized to operate as an expert fund under Mauritian law. Sanjay Pandit is identified as a director, while Apex Fund and Corporate Services (Mauritius) provides the fund's administrative address in Ebene. The strongest external strategy evidence comes from India: SEBI identifies 1729 Capital as a registered foreign portfolio investor, and Indian listed-company filings show the fund as a disclosed shareholder in multiple public companies. The primary caution is entity confusion — the Mauritius hedge fund should not automatically be merged with the separate India-based 1729 Growth Fund I website managed by Flumen Advisors LLP.

CAPITAL GREW FROM $16.7M TO $60.1M IN LESS THAN TWO YEARS

1729 Capital's U.S. Form D history shows rapid recent growth.

The December 3, 2024 filing reported $16,697,220 sold to 16 investors.

The September 12, 2025 amendment increased cumulative amount sold to $53,297,124. Investor count rose to 22 in one amendment record and 24 in another same-day filing.

The September 8, 2026 filing reports $60,077,124 sold to 33 investors.

The 2026 increase from the latest 2025 cumulative amount is therefore approximately $6.78 million.

The correct latest cumulative Form D amount is $60.077124 million.

The annual filings should not be added together as separate fundraising rounds.

THE FUND IS A MAURITIUS EXPERT FUND, NOT A U.S. DOMESTIC HEDGE FUND

The legal structure is unusually important here.

SEC Form D does not classify 1729 Capital as a Delaware LP or LLC. Instead, it explicitly describes the issuer as a Mauritius public company limited by shares, constituted as a collective investment scheme and authorized as an expert fund under Mauritian law.

That structure places the fund inside Mauritius's cross-border investment-fund ecosystem.

Mauritius has historically been used as an investment jurisdiction for allocating international capital into India and other emerging markets. The fund's Indian regulatory registration provides direct evidence that 1729 Capital is not merely domiciled offshore while investing somewhere unrelated.

SEBI's foreign-portfolio-investor register lists 1729 Capital under registration number INMUFP054918 at the same Apex Fund and Corporate Services address shown in SEC filings.

The FPI registration is currently shown as valid from August 16, 2018 through August 15, 2027.

That creates a direct regulatory bridge between the Mauritius fund and Indian securities markets.

INDIAN COMPANY FILINGS SHOW REAL PORTFOLIO EXPOSURE

Unlike many private funds whose Form D filings reveal no portfolio companies at all, 1729 Capital can be traced through public Indian shareholding disclosures.

A 2026 Edelweiss Financial Services shareholder record identified 1729 Capital holding more than 11 million shares, representing approximately 1.17% of the company as of June 30, 2026.

Other Indian issuer materials have similarly identified 1729 Capital as a foreign institutional or foreign portfolio shareholder.

Maithan Alloys' annual return, for example, listed 1729 Capital as a Mauritius foreign institutional investor and tied the shareholding record to the same Mauritius address.

These filings provide stronger strategy evidence than a generic "hedge fund" label.

They show that the fund owns listed Indian equities directly enough to appear in statutory shareholder disclosures.

The exact complete portfolio remains unknown, but the available evidence strongly supports India-focused or India-significant public-equity exposure.

1729 CAPITAL ALSO APPEARED IN A SURYODAY SMALL FINANCE BANK ACQUISITION DISCLOSURE

A 2025 stock-exchange filing involving Suryoday Small Finance Bank provides another useful glimpse into the fund's activity.

The disclosure listed 1729 Capital together with 1729 Advisors LLP, Pandit Pvt. Trust and other persons acting in concert in connection with an acquisition of shares in Suryoday Small Finance Bank.

That filing is important for two reasons.

First, it shows 1729 Capital acting as an identifiable institutional shareholder in an Indian listed financial company.

Second, it connects the name "Pandit" beyond the Form D director field into a broader investment context involving 1729-related parties.

However, the public filing should not be stretched beyond what it says. It does not establish that every 1729-related vehicle is legally part of the Mauritius hedge fund, and it does not establish the ownership structure among 1729 Capital, 1729 Advisors LLP and Pandit Pvt. Trust.

Those relationships require separate legal confirmation.

SANJAY PANDIT IS THE CENTRAL PUBLIC PERSON IN THE SEC RECORD

Sanjay Pandit is the most consistent individual associated with the fund.

SEC filings identify him as a director using a New York address at 322 West 57th Street.

Mauritius-based directors or administrative personnel appearing in the fund's records include Mahmade Rehza Hassen Auliar and Ahmad Tariq Hossanee.

The presence of New York and Mauritius directors is consistent with a cross-border fund structure where investment activity, investors and administration can span multiple jurisdictions.

What remains much less transparent is who actually serves as investment adviser or portfolio manager.

The Form D does not identify a U.S. investment adviser.

It also does not identify a separate investment-management company or disclose a regulatory registration for a dedicated adviser in the United States.

Investors should therefore request the current investment-management agreement and determine exactly which legal entity makes portfolio decisions.

APEX APPEARS TO PROVIDE FUND INFRASTRUCTURE, NOT INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT

The fund's SEC address is: c/o Apex Fund and Corporate Services (Mauritius) Ltd.

Apex is a global fund-services provider.

Its appearance in the fund address and among Mauritius corporate records is consistent with administration, corporate-services and fund-governance infrastructure.

It should not automatically be described as the portfolio manager.

This distinction is important.

Fund administrators commonly provide: NAV calculation; fund accounting; shareholder records; corporate secretarial services; regulatory reporting; and investor-services infrastructure.

They typically do not choose the securities in the portfolio unless separately engaged to do so.

FilingDossier therefore treats Apex as verified fund infrastructure, not as the confirmed investment manager.

THE $60M FORM D FIGURE IS NOT NECESSARILY CURRENT NAV

The latest Form D reports $60,077,124 of securities sold.

That is a capital-formation measure.

It is not necessarily the fund's current net asset value.

If the fund's Indian equity holdings appreciated materially, NAV could exceed cumulative subscriptions.

If investments declined or investors redeemed, current NAV could be lower.

Leverage, distributions, redemptions and currency effects can also produce differences.

Investors should therefore avoid treating $60.1 million as a current portfolio-value figure unless audited financial statements confirm it.

THE 33-INVESTOR BASE SUGGESTS A RELATIVELY CONCENTRATED FUND

The latest filing reports 33 investors.

A simple arithmetic average of $60.077 million divided by 33 is approximately $1.82 million per investor.

That is not an actual ownership figure because investor allocations may differ widely.

Still, the combination of a $100,000 minimum and an average subscription far above that floor suggests the vehicle may contain a number of significantly larger investors.

This makes LP concentration worth examining.

If one or two investors represent a large portion of NAV, redemption activity could affect portfolio management, particularly if the fund owns meaningful positions in smaller Indian listed companies.

PUBLIC INDIAN EQUITIES CREATE LIQUIDITY — BUT NOT UNLIMITED LIQUIDITY

Listed equities are typically more liquid than private-company interests, but liquidity depends heavily on market capitalization and trading volume.

A 1% or larger shareholder in a mid-cap or smaller Indian company may not be able to exit rapidly without influencing market price.

Foreign investor regulations, block trades, ownership limits and market volatility can further affect execution.

The relevant liquidity question is therefore not simply whether a security is publicly listed.

Investors need to know: average daily volume; position size as a percentage of volume; ownership percentage; free float; market capitalization; and the number of days required to liquidate without excessive market impact.

THE NAME COLLISION WITH INDIA'S 1729 GROWTH FUND I MUST BE HANDLED CAREFULLY

Search engines now prominently return a website branded "1729 Capital" at 1729capital.com.

That website markets 1729 Growth Fund I as a SEBI-registered Category II Alternative Investment Fund.

It states that 1729 Growth Fund I is a scheme of Flumen Investment Trust and that Flumen Advisors LLP serves as sponsor and investment manager.

It also publishes SEBI registration number IN/AIF2/25-26/1936 and describes a strategy involving pre-IPO companies, IPO anchor/QIB allocations and event-driven opportunities.

Those facts do not match the SEC issuer structure.

The SEC issuer: was created in Mauritius in 2018; is an expert fund; has CIK 0002043613; uses Apex Mauritius infrastructure; lists Sanjay Pandit as director; and is registered with SEBI as an FPI under INMUFP054918.

The India website: describes a newer Category II AIF; operates through Flumen Investment Trust; uses Flumen Advisors LLP as investment manager; and has a different SEBI registration.

Without documentary evidence connecting the two, they should be treated as separate legal investment products.

FilingDossier should therefore NOT list 1729capital.com as the verified website of the Mauritius SEC issuer.

THIS DISTINCTION IS ESPECIALLY IMPORTANT FOR SEO AND ENTITY ACCURACY

Because both organizations use "1729 Capital," search engines can easily merge them.

A page about the Mauritius fund that embeds the Indian AIF website as its official domain could cause several factual errors at once:

wrong investment manager; wrong regulator; wrong strategy; wrong minimum investment; wrong structure; and potentially wrong contact information.

For the Mauritius issuer, the strongest verified identifiers are: CIK 0002043613; Mauritius expert-fund status; Apex fund-services address; SEBI FPI registration INMUFP054918; Sanjay Pandit; and the fund's public Indian shareholding records.

Those identifiers should anchor the article.

FINAL ASSESSMENT

1729 Capital has a credible and increasingly visible cross-border regulatory footprint. The fund was established in Mauritius in 2018, operates as an expert fund, has an active SEBI foreign-portfolio-investor registration and reports $60.077 million cumulatively sold to 33 investors in its latest U.S. Form D. Indian corporate filings independently demonstrate real listed-equity ownership, including significant positions in companies such as Edelweiss Financial Services and other Indian issuers.

The largest diligence issue is not whether the vehicle exists. It is investment-manager transparency.

SEC Form D identifies directors and fund administration but does not clearly identify the legal investment adviser or disclose the fund's full portfolio, valuation history, leverage, performance or fees. Investors should obtain audited financial statements, the current private placement memorandum, portfolio reports and the investment-management agreement before relying on assumptions about strategy.

The separate 1729 Growth Fund I website managed by Flumen Advisors should remain excluded from the Mauritius issuer's verified identity unless a direct legal link is documented.

KEY FINDINGS

1729 Capital was formed in Mauritius on March 21, 2018.

CIK: 0002043613.

Legal structure: Mauritius public company limited by shares.

Fund structure: Collective investment scheme / expert fund.

First sale: March 21, 2018.

Latest Form D: September 8, 2026.

Latest cumulative amount sold: $60,077,124.

Latest investor count: 33.

Minimum investment: $100,000.

Offering: Indefinite.

Exemption: Rule 506(b).

Investment Company Act exclusion: Section 3(c)(1).

SEC classification: Hedge Fund.

Sales commissions: $0.

Finder's fees: $0.

Director: Sanjay Pandit.

Other directors appearing in filing history: Mahmade Rehza Hassen Auliar. Ahmad Tariq Hossanee. Bibi Zahiira Elaheebocus Chady.

Administrative address: Apex Fund and Corporate Services (Mauritius) Ltd.

SEBI status: Registered Foreign Portfolio Investor.

SEBI FPI number: INMUFP054918.

Current published FPI validity: August 16, 2018 through August 15, 2027.

LEI: 254900YQ9VL7VOWQFA97.

Indian company filings confirm listed-equity holdings by 1729 Capital.

The Mauritius SEC issuer should not automatically be connected to 1729 Growth Fund I managed by Flumen Advisors LLP.

FORM D CAPITAL HISTORY

December 3, 2024

Cumulative amount sold: $16,697,220.

Investors: 16.

September 12, 2025

Cumulative amount sold: $53,297,124.

Investors: 22 / 24 across same-day amendment records.

Increase from 2024: $36,599,904.

September 8, 2026

Cumulative amount sold: $60,077,124.

Investors: 33.

Increase from 2025: $6,780,000.

Correct latest cumulative amount: $60,077,124.

Do not add historical cumulative Form D totals together.

MAURITIUS STRUCTURE

Legal jurisdiction: Mauritius.

Entity created: March 21, 2018.

SEC description: Public company limited by shares.

Fund classification: Collective investment scheme.

Mauritius authorization: Expert fund.

Administrative / corporate services provider: Apex Fund and Corporate Services (Mauritius) Ltd.

SEC filing address: Lot 15 A3, First Floor, Cybercity / Ebene, Mauritius.

Legal Entity Identifier: 254900YQ9VL7VOWQFA97.

Public LEI records also identify Mauritius registration authority entity ID C154666.

INDIA REGULATORY PENETRATION

SEBI registration category: Foreign Portfolio Investor.

Name: 1729 Capital.

Registration number: INMUFP054918.

Address: c/o Apex Fund and Corporate Services (Mauritius) Ltd.

Validity: August 16, 2018 to August 15, 2027.

The matching name and Mauritius Apex address provide a strong identity connection between the SEC issuer and the SEBI-registered FPI.

PUBLIC INDIA PORTFOLIO EVIDENCE

Edelweiss Financial Services

As of June 30, 2026: 1729 Capital publicly reported with approximately 11.08 million shares.

Approximate reported ownership: 1.17%.

Other disclosure periods show similar material ownership.

Maithan Alloys

Annual-return filings identify: 1729 Capital.

Country: Mauritius.

Address: Same Apex Mauritius address.

Shareholding: Publicly disclosed as a foreign institutional investor.

Suryoday Small Finance Bank

2025 acquisition disclosure identified: 1729 Capital; 1729 Advisors LLP; Pandit Pvt. Trust; and additional persons acting in concert.

The filing provides evidence of 1729-related Indian investment activity but does not establish that all listed parties are owned or controlled by the Mauritius fund.

STRATEGY EVIDENCE

Strongly evidenced: Indian listed equities.

Strongly evidenced: Foreign portfolio investment into India.

Possible: Concentrated public equity.

Possible: Value / special-situation orientation.

Not sufficiently established publicly: Long/short mechanics.

Not established: Derivatives usage.

Not established: Short exposure.

Not established: Leverage.

Not established: Private equity allocation.

Not established: Exact geographic allocation outside India.

Do not overstate strategy beyond available evidence.

NAME-COLLISION WARNING

MAURITIUS SEC ISSUER

Name: 1729 Capital.

CIK: 0002043613.

Created: 2018.

Jurisdiction: Mauritius.

Fund type: Expert fund / hedge fund.

SEBI status: Foreign Portfolio Investor.

SEBI registration: INMUFP054918.

Director: Sanjay Pandit.

Administration: Apex Mauritius.

INDIA AIF WEBSITE

Brand: 1729 Capital / 1729 Growth Fund I.

Website: 1729capital.com.

Structure: Scheme of Flumen Investment Trust.

Investment manager: Flumen Advisors LLP.

SEBI structure: Category II AIF.

SEBI number: IN/AIF2/25-26/1936.

Strategy: Pre-IPO; IPO anchor / QIB; event-driven listed and unlisted equities.

Minimum investment publicly stated: INR 1 crore.

These should not be merged without documentary evidence.

WEBSITE / ENTITY PENETRATION

Mauritius 1729 Capital legal identity: Confirmed.

CIK: Confirmed.

Mauritius formation: Confirmed.

Expert fund description: Confirmed directly by SEC filing.

Apex Mauritius relationship: Confirmed.

Sanjay Pandit relationship: Confirmed.

SEBI FPI registration: Confirmed.

FPI address match: Confirmed.

India listed-equity ownership: Confirmed through issuer filings.

Edelweiss ownership: Confirmed through public shareholding data.

Suryoday investment activity: Confirmed through stock-exchange disclosure.

Official Mauritius fund website: Not independently established.

1729capital.com relationship to Mauritius issuer: Not established.

Flumen Advisors relationship to Mauritius issuer: Not established.

Complete portfolio: Not disclosed.

Current NAV: Not disclosed.

Audited returns: Not publicly established.

Management fee: Not disclosed in Form D.

Performance fee: Not disclosed in Form D.

Investment adviser: Not clearly identified in Form D.

Prime broker: Not established.

Custodian: Not established from Form D.

Auditor: Not established from Form D.

CORE INVESTOR QUESTIONS

Who is the legal investment manager of 1729 Capital

What entity employs Sanjay Pandit as portfolio manager or director

Is there a separate Mauritius investment manager

Is there an Indian adviser

What relationship exists, if any, with 1729 Advisors LLP

What relationship exists with Pandit Pvt. Trust

What is the complete Indian equity portfolio

What percentage of NAV is invested in India

What percentage is invested outside India

What is the largest portfolio position

What percentage of NAV does Edelweiss Financial Services represent

Does the fund own more than 5% of any issuer

How liquid are the largest holdings

What is weighted-average daily trading volume

How many days would liquidation require

Does the fund use leverage

Does the fund short securities

Does it trade derivatives

Does it use currency hedges

What is INR exposure

What is USD exposure

What are audited 2024, 2025 and 2026 returns

What is maximum drawdown

What is net exposure

What is gross exposure

What management fee applies

What incentive fee applies

Is there a high-water mark

Who is the auditor

Who is the custodian

Who calculates NAV

What redemption notice applies

Are gates permitted

What percentage of capital is represented by the largest five investors

What is the precise legal relationship, if any, between Mauritius 1729 Capital and the newer India-based 1729 Growth Fund I

CORE RISKS

India equity-market risk Emerging-market risk INR currency risk Small-/mid-cap liquidity risk Concentrated equity positions Foreign portfolio investor regulatory risk Mauritius cross-border structuring risk Tax treaty and withholding risk Corporate-governance risk Key-person risk Investor concentration Private-fund liquidity Limited public performance disclosure Limited public manager transparency Potential leverage or derivatives risk if permitted Risk of confusing two unrelated or legally distinct 1729-branded investment businesses

SEC SNAPSHOT

Issuer: 1729 Capital.

CIK: 0002043613.

Latest Form: D/A.

Filed: September 8, 2026.

First Sale: March 21, 2018.

Jurisdiction: Mauritius.

Legal Type: Public company limited by shares / collective investment scheme.

Fund status: Mauritius expert fund.

Address: c/o Apex Fund and Corporate Services (Mauritius) Ltd. Lot 15 A3, First Floor Ebene, Mauritius 72201.

Phone: +230 404 3900.

Industry: Pooled Investment Fund / Hedge Fund.

Security: Pooled Investment Fund Interests.

Exemption: Rule 506(b).

Investment Company Act exclusion: Section 3(c)(1).

Offering: Indefinite.

Amount Sold: $60,077,124.

Investors: 33.

Minimum: $100,000.

Sales Commissions: $0.

Finder's Fees: $0.

Director: Sanjay Pandit.

Other Directors: Mahmade Rehza Hassen Auliar. Ahmad Tariq Hossanee.

Latest Signer: Tariq Hosanee.

Title: Director.

PRIMARY EVIDENCE REVIEWED

SEC Form D — 1729 Capital, December 3, 2024. SEC Form D/A — 1729 Capital, September 12, 2025. SEC Form D/A — 1729 Capital, September 8, 2026. SEBI — Foreign Portfolio Investor registry. Global LEI records — 1729 Capital. Indian listed-company shareholder filings. Edelweiss Financial Services shareholding disclosures. Suryoday Small Finance Bank acquisition disclosure. Maithan Alloys annual return. 1729 Growth Fund I / Flumen Advisors website reviewed solely for entity disambiguation.

IMPORTANT FORM D NOTICE

Form D is a notice of an exempt securities offering. Filing with the SEC does not mean the SEC has approved, endorsed, audited or verified 1729 Capital, Sanjay Pandit, Apex Fund and Corporate Services, any Indian portfolio company, any investment strategy, past performance or expected return.

The latest $60.077124 million Form D amount represents cumulative securities sold and should not automatically be treated as current NAV.

The Mauritius SEC issuer should not be identified with 1729 Growth Fund I, Flumen Advisors LLP or the website 1729capital.com unless direct legal documentation establishes that relationship.

Investors should independently verify the current investment manager, audited financial statements, portfolio holdings, fees, leverage, custody, valuation procedures, India regulatory status and redemption terms before investing.

Important Form D notice: A Form D filing is a notice filing for an exempt securities offering. It does not mean that the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission has approved, licensed, endorsed, or verified the issuer or the offering. Readers should verify information through official SEC sources and conduct their own due diligence.
Verification note: SEC.gov and the relevant regulator's official records remain authoritative. This site's research is independent editorial content.